Customer Reviews for

Minion: The Dark Legends Begin (Vampire Huntress Legend Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The most amazing , had me on the edge of my seat , page turner !!!

L.A Banks is truly talented, after reading the Twilight series , I hungered for something to ease the sudden "Twilight withdrawal " a friend told me about L.A Banks and with a little apprehension I decided to check out her books , amazing is all I can say. If you love a...
L.A Banks is truly talented, after reading the Twilight series , I hungered for something to ease the sudden "Twilight withdrawal " a friend told me about L.A Banks and with a little apprehension I decided to check out her books , amazing is all I can say. If you love a good Vampire or Werewolf book you need to holla at L.A Banks, she is guaranteed to not disappoint.

posted by Nigjt on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not for me

I am into the paranormal books, and I really wanted to read this series but I had to force myself to just read to the thrid chapter, It was not a book for me, I was board by the middle of the prolouge.

posted by ahance on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not for me

    I am into the paranormal books, and I really wanted to read this series but I had to force myself to just read to the thrid chapter, It was not a book for me, I was board by the middle of the prolouge.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    Rip Off!!!

    I will not buy this book in the electronic version. I can pay $7.19 for it in paperback instead of the $7.99 it costs in ebook format. This is absolutely wrong! Why are you charging more for a book that doesn't need to be printed or stocked?

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Worst Vampire Book I've Ever Read

    I am an avid vampire fan and I could not stand this book. I could not connect with the character and the story line was aweful. I have yet to meet someone who liked this book and I have given it away and had it returned, TWICE. I have heard that if your are a Laurell K lover that you will LOVE this book and that is not true... I LOVE Laurell K and I will tell you it is nothing like her Anita Blake series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Complete waste

    If you like your books with lots of violence and profanity, and no plot development or character development, then this is the book for you. The characters are cariactures, and little background is given for this supernatural world. I found it impossible to connect with the characters on any level. And the cliff-hanger ending comes across as an attempt to sell more books instead of wrapping up this flimsy story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Had to FORCE myself to finish.

    I picked up this book because there were so many other books in the series, I thought it might be good. I was wrong. This book was atrocious. Even though it was a little different with it being an African American heroine the author couldn't get the dialogue right. It seemed like she was forcing the characters to speak slang. It didn't fit.

    If you want something along these lines, read "Once Bitten, Twice Shy," by Jennifer Rardin.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not even worthy of one star :(

    I love vampire books but this book will make your head hurt. It was so hard for me to read this book because it was so bad, but I made myself finish it. I was hoping that at any time it was going to get better but it never did. It actually got worse when the last couple of chapters had them going into the different levels of hell. A very dark book. I dont want to ever read another book that talks that much about hell. It was boring! And then the second book (I had bought the 1st two at once) went right into them being in hell again....ugh! I gave both books away to a coworker and I hope she can forgive me for it one day....haha. If you read this book make sure you have some pain meds near by.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Horrible

    I wish I could say that I liked this book but I have read a bunch of other authors who are far, far better than this one. There was no back story or history to the characters at all. I could barely understand any of the dialogue. The story overall left me wanting for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for me

    I am an avid Science Fiction/Supernatural Fiction reader and I did NOT enjoy this book. It seems that there is possibly a decent storyline within, however, it is hidden beneath shear Ebonics. I just could NOT finish this book. I actually had to stop and re-read a few times just to figure out what was trying to be said.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely not for me!!!

    Book had no flow to it...I was really disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    Worst. Book. Ever.

    This book was painful to read. I could normally complete a book of this size in a few hours. It took me three days to read this because it was so painful! The dialog is unrealistic and contrived. The author is trying very hard to be "urban" and misses the mark. It's like she is trying too hard to create characters with which she shares little similarity. My mother is an accountant who listens to Michael Bolton and wears holiday sweaters and SHE could have written more realistic dialog for these characters! The book started well but, as soon as she started with her present day characters, I had to force myself to continue reading. Not only will I not read another book by this author but, I am looking into having the experience of this one erased from my mind!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    Bad.

    This book was basically written in ebonics. The characters were all rap and hip hop types. I am sure that some people will enjoy this book but I like books that are written in English!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    Don't do it...

    I have tried reading this book at least four times now. I read at least 3 books in a week, so needless to say I love reading. This book however talked too much (if that makes sense). There was A LOT of extra writing that got me bored before I even cared what happened next. It seemed like it was going in circles and the writer just forgot where the circle began in order to close the loop of understanding! Definitely won't be trying to read this again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    What to say?

    It's a hard read. I got 90 pages in and couldn't go any further. I bought the first three in the series and there going to sit until I'm desperate enough to pick them back up and try again. But, I have my doubts about trying again. Writing Style sucked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    please dont waste your time

    I managed only about 60 pages before I had to quit reading it. when the primary woman spends most of her time cringing and being basicaly abused and then feels thankful when the pack leader has sex with her? The pack seems more like a cult. If you like books about whiney, powerless women who are thankful when a bully rapes them then maybe its the book for you. Otherwise don't waste your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Disappointing and Boring

    Like many others I bought this because there are so many books. Unfortunatley I was unable to finish reading this first book. As mentioned by others, I couldn't bring myself to care what was happening to the characters. The book jumps in with no backstory. That can be okay, if the author fills you in as you go, but several chapters in and there is still this disconnect. I do not suggest reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    Couldn't get past page 40

    Too contrived

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    ??????

    Im not saying I hated the book (lol) I just think it wasnt my cup of tea.
    But I will say this the next 2 books are really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2