Customer Reviews for

Minion: The Dark Legends Begin (Vampire Huntress Legend Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The most amazing , had me on the edge of my seat , page turner !!!

L.A Banks is truly talented, after reading the Twilight series , I hungered for something to ease the sudden "Twilight withdrawal " a friend told me about L.A Banks and with a little apprehension I decided to check out her books , amazing is all I can say. If you love a...
L.A Banks is truly talented, after reading the Twilight series , I hungered for something to ease the sudden "Twilight withdrawal " a friend told me about L.A Banks and with a little apprehension I decided to check out her books , amazing is all I can say. If you love a good Vampire or Werewolf book you need to holla at L.A Banks, she is guaranteed to not disappoint.

posted by Nigjt on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not for me

I am into the paranormal books, and I really wanted to read this series but I had to force myself to just read to the thrid chapter, It was not a book for me, I was board by the middle of the prolouge.

posted by ahance on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Big Disappointment!

    I found this book just browsing around in the sci-fi section and I was really excited to find an african-american author in this particular genre. HOWEVER, I was so disappointed! The plot was lame, the characters were lame, the romance was extremely lacking to say the least, and I had to force myself to keep reading and not waste my money. I couldnt get to the middle of the book, it was just awful! I've read all the Jeaniene Frost books, Charlaine Harris, Laurel K Hamilton, JR Ward, Keri Arthur, and Karen Marie Monings's Fever series to name a few and this by far was the worst!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Slow

    This book starts off very slow. It took two days for me to get through the first chapter. And nothing happened! There is way too much build up, and it makes for a slow and boring start. I probably won't finish the book because it is too boring.I wish I had not paid for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Suffered by comparison

    (Originally written October 31, 2005)

    Whenever I read any book, I try to remain completely objective, to judge the novel by its own merits and not how it might, or might not, stand against other books. Unfortunately, with "Minion," I was not able to help myself.

    First off, I don't think I would have really liked this book, no matter what. I could not identify with most of the characters. I got tired of all the "fist-tapping" (that "cool" thing that "cool" guys do because they think hugging, or even shaking hands, might appear "gay"), tired of the main character's obsession with barbeque potato chips. The group of good guys are also musicians, but they held their music in such high regard, calling the main character a "spoken word artist," that I was never quite sure WHAT form of music they played. Given the clubs and record label names, I am assuming that it was either rap or hip-hop, but it's never spelled out for certain.

    Unfortunately, what made for a double whammy against this book was the fact that I had JUST finished "Pandora's Game" by Christopher Andrews. Believe me, if you are looking for a non traditional vampire/supernatural novel to read, THAT is the book to buy. It is one of my favorite recent books, and "Minion" suffered by comparison.

    I CAN say that the SUBPLOT of this book held my interest a lot more than the main plot and characters. In fact, it is the story of Carlos Rivera that prompted me to give this book the two stars instead of just one.

    BUT, this book ended with a cliffhanger, so I'm afraid that I will not find out what becomes of Carlos, because HIS story alone is not enough to interest me in buying the sequel. Too bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    I am a big fan of horror genre, and this was quite disappointing

    Perhaps you'd try another book. The story is lame, the visualizations well used and worn out by way too many authors. There is nothing here that isn't in so many tossable novels of people hunting the vampires/demons/werewolves, etc. There are so many of these books out there now, you may wish to try a horror classic, or something with a new twist. There are some that are better written, and some that are at times funny too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Hawks Talon

    I am into vampires but this and twilight was bad. I suggest the manga series Vampire Knight although u can't get it on nooks...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    I just could not get into it...

    Seems like someone should like this book, interesting premise, but I just could not get into it, didn't finish....you may like it though...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1