Customer Reviews for

Minutes to Midnight

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Deffinite Difference

    This album in my eyes is not as good as the others but the messages in some of their new songs like WHAT IVE DONE and THE LITTLE THINGS GIVE YOU AWAY have a really meaning full messages in there.I believe these songs are their views on what is going on today in the world.NO MORE SORROW and BLEED IT OUT are some more awesome songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They are still great!

    Each song has its own quality. Take time to listen to each songs. It's good to know that they are keeping their style, yet, as artists, willing to grow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Linkin Park Fans!

    Don't judge this cd mearly on the samples and the first single "What I've Done". Once you actually buy the cd you start to realize that it's actually really good. I have to admit that the slow songs were the best but there is still more than enough songs to get your heart pumping and your head banging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I liked it

    This is the first Linkin Park cd that I've bought and I have no complaint's. I really like it and I can listen to it over & over. So I'm not comparing it to their old stuff because I never listened to their old stuff. So if your a true fan you should respect their work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    they grew up but i miss the old sound

    I like the new sound because its great to see guys growing up. Everyone hates change and the mentality if it itsnt broke dont fix it but the problem with that is staying the same creates a box for yourself and never allows you to grow. Its great to hear their against the war because it shows they care about what's going on with the fans getting killed for a unjust war. I love hearing chester singing hes got a great sound. The only problem with this cd is i wish it was half and half i really miss the old sound though the stuff that made them great. but all and all still good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Quite good, but fans may be disappointed.

    I was, at first, disappointed that this CD needed a parental advisory, because their lyrics were great without using fould language. However, once I started listening to the CD, I changed my mind. "Given Up" and "Bleed It Out" used the cursing to their advantage, accenting the songs rather than detracting from them. I was a little disappointed that not many of the songs were real head-bangers, but most have more of the Meteora feel than that of Hybrid Theory. Fans, including myself, definitely notice the change in style. I, however, believe it is a good CD regardless. My favorite of the slower ones is "Valentine's Day", and it reminds me a little of "My December". If you are a LP fan, there are still a few tracks that will catch your interest. If you are not a LP fan, this CD gives you a different feel and may make you feel differently about them. And, if you dislike the foul language, buy the clean version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not sure if it was worth the wait, but still good

    Linkin Park is one of my favorite bands, but I would say that this album is my second favorte of theirs behind Hybrid Theory. I really do like this album. Meteora wasn't bad but it was TOO similar to Hybrid Theory. Meteora had some great "mosh" songs on their with chester squeeling and screaming, but it just seemed like a "b" side of Hybrid. This on the other hand is something pretty different. I think Mike got worn out with Fort Minor with all the frantic hiphop, and the band figured it showed diversify itself. If you think about it, these songs strung inbetween their previous works at a live concert makes for a much more balanced performance. The songs themselves do grow on you, particularly the second half of the album. Of course I wish linkin park could have witten these tracks in a shorter period of time, but I guess thats just something we're all going to have to listen to. 1- intro track 2- good song with a very punk sound and pace (8/10) 3- likely to be their next single (7/10) 4- a fun track, but it gets old really fast and the chorus is kind of dumb (6/10) 5- probably my least favorite, slow and kind of stagnent (4/10) 6- their first single, very similar to numb but more repetitve but with better vocals (7/10) 7- i like this track even though i don't agree with the political message (8/10) 8- Hardest sound of the album on this track (8/10) 9- my second favorite track, really grows on you (10/10) 10- Shinoda singing?!?!? sure why not. not much range or vocal strength, so this song suits him. a simple but important track for this album. (9/10) 11- chester sings about being divorced, but he doesn't sing with any more conviction than on the other tracks. ok but is a good setup for the last song (7/10) 12- Wow....Wow.....thats all I can say. Already the longest song they've ever made, I can only wish that this song never ended 10/10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    New Sound

    I happen to love their "new" sound. It's actually more like their early stuff, and I love it. There is still some rap, but mostly it's chester's great voice. He really shows it off on this album. I am a fan of LP and I love this new CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Progressive Step In A New Direction

    When you have a debut record that sells almost 20 million copies worldwide and a follow-up that is equally as good, what do you do next? Start back at square one. Linkin Park’s newest effort, "Minutes to Midnight", signals a rebirth, a desire to start over again and embrace a new identity. "Minutes to Midnight" isn’t a lesson in how to make another marketable rap-rock/nu-metal record, but instead, it shows a band willing to take big risks regardless of whether its fans like the end result. Along with this risk is having Rick Rubin (known for his work with the Beastie Boys and Red Hot Chili Peppers among others) at the helm as producer rather Don Gilmore, who helped make "Hybrid Theory" and "Meteora" such big hits. As the band had set out to do before making the album, "Minutes to Midnight" follows in the footsteps of “Breaking the Habit” from "Meteora", a song that showed Linkin Park creating sonic landscapes and textures with keyboards, minimalist guitar, and various electronic elements while showing poignancy in the lyrics and Chester’s softer singing style. Gone are the massive walls of distortion and the rap/singing style that Linkin Park has been known for and what many have grown accustomed to. There are some exceptions to this such as “Given Up” and “No More Sorrow”, the two heaviest songs on the record. The former is an upbeat, punk-esque song that represents one of the more energetic moments on the record while the latter lambastes the Bush administration for the Iraq War against a backdrop of chugging guitars and a unique eBow riff. Although Mike Shinoda does not have as much of a vocal presence on this record, his rapping on “Bleed It Out” and “Hands Held High” show that he still has that fast-paced style and swagger that keeps listeners wanting more, especially in “Hands Held High”, where he blasts the government on the Iraq War, but in a much more complex and insightful way than on “No More Sorrow”, focusing on the social ills that come with war. He even does lead vocals on “In Between”, showing his singing ability, which is indeed quite proficient, giving the listener a taste of his milder side. The best example of the transition from Linkin Park’s old sound to its new sound is “What I’ve Done”. It retains some of the trademark Linkin Park style with the extra electronic touches from Mr. Hahn in addition to big sounding drums and guitars, but at the same time, it shows Linkin Park moving forward as Chester sings with more poignant melody and a subtle epic quality. “Shadow Of The Day” and “Leave Out All The Rest” represent some of the softer and emotionally uplifting moments of the record. “Shadow Of The Day” could almost be a 21st century version of U2’s “With or Without You” with its simple, yet beautifully sung lyrics against the backdrop of Brad Delson’s atmospheric sounding landscape á la The Edge while “Leave Out All The Rest” is a catchy ballad that is sure to be a hit on pop radio. Overall, Linkin Park has gone for a mostly softer and rawer sound without losing the energy or emotion that has made the band a worldwide phenomenon. While "Minutes to Midnight" still deals with a lot of introspective themes that were prevalent throughout their previous albums, there is a definite political emphasis this time around. The lyrical quality isn’t necessarily any better or worse than before, but it is apparent that Linkin Park is, to mildly put it, displeased with the present state of political affairs and the Bush administration. Not only is this present on “Hands Held High” and “No More Sorrow”, but in the epic closer, “The Little Things Give You Away”. Arguably the largest depart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ok album, but the producer could have done better!!!

    the album was ok but like i said the producer could have done better. Don't get me wrong i still like Linkin Park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1