Customer Reviews for

Minutes to Midnight

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A welcome change

    Earlier albums of Linkin Park such as Hybrid Theory and Meteora focused on intense "Nu-Metal" songs which is a fancy genre for Punk/ Alternative Rock. <BR/><BR/>Minutes to Midnight retains some of these qualities but focuses more on a different side of the band. Soft ballads, more meaningful songs and an overall different experience is presented, but I must say I enjoyed it just as much as past albums. <BR/><BR/>I am looking forward to a mix of this type of Linkin Park and the Old Linkin Park on their Newer albums.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    this cd is perfect for any book lover

    i bought this cd knowing that linkin park tryed new things and yes i listened to this cd all the way thru linkin park blows pink out of the water all pink does is whine and cry and her new album funhouse is a disgrace pink herself is a disgrace if you look what i reccomanded youll see why i hate pink but linkin park rocks and they make better songs than pink but linkin park is just amazing songs like shadow of the day bleed it out what ive done even songs like inbetween put a smile on my face linkin park is awesome everybody should buy this cd with the parental advisory label

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic!!!!

    Who cares if this isn't the old Linkin Park. Yes the songs might be slow, like "Hands Held High", but the best songs are alot of the slow songs. You just need to listen and get the message they are sending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    This definately wasn't what I expected for Linkin Park... It was much better. There wasn't one song that I didn't like, and the music was awsome! Way to go you guys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    music that would make a music hater love it

    awsome and i've heard alot of music and rock on linken park

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's good to try new things

    If you are exclusively a metal-head, you can skip this one. If you want something that sounds like "Hybrid Theory," just listen to "Hybrid Theory" again. For the rest of us, this is a very nice album with some beautiful raps and a good variety of sounds. There are one or two places where it sounds like LP might be listening to a little too much U2, but overall it's still very good. "Hands Held High" is a major departure from what LP has done in the past, but it's a very elegant song. "Bleed It Out" is just plain awesome, no two ways about it. "What I've Done" is classic LP and a great song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Not exactly the same as their other albums. It's a nice mix of some harder stuff with more introspective songs. Every song on this album is good some are amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Linkin Park roXX my soXX ! :D

    Linkin Park is one of the best bands of all time! Their music is just great&i love it so much! Some of the best songs on the album are What I've Done, Given Up, & No More Sorrow. Even if you don't like rock music, just give this album a try&you might start to like rock :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ANOTHER SOLID ALBUM!!

    First, for everyone complaining about the "vulgar language" that LP had "stooped" to, either go buy the edited Wal-Mart edition or just don’t listen. Sometimes there is no better way to say what's on your mind. This is a great album that shows the versatility that a lot of bands lack in today's cookie-cutter, bubble gum world of music. It's refreshing when a band puts the music that it wants to play out there and says, "Here it is. If you like it, great. If not, oh well." LP continues to release solid albums, from Hybrid Theory to Meteora to Live in Texas. Even the album with Jay-Z was great. I agree with the earlier review I read, stop judging based on the past, judge it for what it is, a great album from a solid band.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    Same great sound, with mature new tracks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great new sound

    I love the new sound. It shows that the band has grown. If they keep making music that sound the same it will show no growth. For all of the people complaining that the cd sucks stop whining and listen to something else like beyonce's crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Come on guys...this was great!

    Guys, honestly, if you don't like this...any person would like this cd whether you were into heavy metal or not into heavy metal. They mix both genres within the songs which appealed to me the most. I loved Hybrid Theory, but it always seemed a bit to hardcore and heavy for a person such as myself. This CD appeals to a lot of people and throws in some real life issues as well. I believe that this is probably their best CD yet even over Hybrid Theory. Their not losing the edge or reputation they've held, they are just trying new things. Give it a chance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is a new sound, definitely not the unique defining sound that we're used to with Linkin Park. Is that a bad thing? No. Judge this album based on this album, and you've got a great album. Art, music these things aren't created in a linear fashion to link all artistic works together, they're created to convey a message the one that the artist wants to put out there at that point in time. If you can all stop judging this by Hybrid Theory and Meteora, you can enjoy the album. This album isn't automatically good because Hybrid Theory and Meteora are great, so why is it instantly a bust because Hybrid Theory and Meteora were good? It makes no sense, judge this album based on this album and it's a good album. I bought the special edition. I suggest this to anyone smart enough to judge music based on the music and not the history of the artist. Just a note to people complainin that LP "suddenly turned emo", you haven't listened to Hybrid Theory or Meteora. Just about every song they do is emo in lyrics, from In the End to Numb, pain, dealing with pain, suffering and sadness. This band has always been emo to some extent this album just has less high powered rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Judge By the Past

    I think everyone is too obsessed with their old stuff to accept their new stuff. Ya'll need to get out of the past and live in the present. Remember and appriciate the past, yes, but stay here in the present. This is an awesome CD. Sure it's a different sound, but that doesn't mean it's bad! To me, it sounded like they had alot of fun makin' this album. Clearly evident on Bleed it Out. They also dig into deeper emotional aspects of music like in Valentine's Day. You may not like it, but I love this CD. People fear what they don't understand. I guess people just don't understand why tehy didn't keep they're old sound, n' that's why they're angry and disappointed 'bout the new album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!

    i loved it! i'm a little upset that mike left but linkin park is still good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They Warned You And You Never Listened

    People, Chester gave EVERYONE a heads up about getting rid of the Nu-Metal sound. And yet, no one listens. If you're a real fan you'd know the song 'Nobody's Listen'. And in the chorus theres the quote 'Try to give you warning, but NOBODY'S listening'. And listen to the whole cd in order and actually think about the lyrics. These lyrics you can actually relate to about you're self or about what's going on in the world. So just knock it off and give this cd a chance. And trust me, it was very much worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3