Customer Reviews for

The Miracle Girls (Miracle Girls Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

Was it just bad luck for Ana Dominguez to call out the most popular girl in school, Riley, for cheating on a quiz in front of her crush, resulting in both of them getting detention? Or was it fate?

Ana just came to Half Moon Bay from San Jose, and starting a n...
Was it just bad luck for Ana Dominguez to call out the most popular girl in school, Riley, for cheating on a quiz in front of her crush, resulting in both of them getting detention? Or was it fate?

Ana just came to Half Moon Bay from San Jose, and starting a new school definitely isn't easy, especially since she doesn't know anyone there and still hasn't made any friends.

Her first time in detention (ever), Ana is a little relieved that her favorite teacher is the one overlooking the class. That is until she gives the students an assignment which involves getting into groups of four, writing an essay, and sharing it with the group. What makes the situation even worse is that Riley is in her group.

Each girl begins to read her story on the one moment that changed her life forever. Turns out all four had survived accidents that could have cost them their lives. Automatically, Ana and Zoey see something special between them and they know it wasn't just a coincidence that the four girls were grouped together. Starting a new friendship will be easy - getting the other two to join them is the hard part.

Four completely opposite girls will journey into a friendship that may just last forever. From faith to family to guys and school, each will battle them all, but they have each other to help them get through it.

A promising beginning to a new series, THE MIRACLE GIRLS will entice all readers who enjoy a well-written and thoughtful novel. The characters are well-developed, each girls' story is extremely heartbreaking, and their blossoming friendship is just heartwarming.

Dayton and Vanderbilt have outdone themselves this time, and the best part is, there will be more books being released.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

!

Nothing but plot spoilers. Another possible book ruined. Thanks rude ppl.

posted by 8888649 on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    Was it just bad luck for Ana Dominguez to call out the most popular girl in school, Riley, for cheating on a quiz in front of her crush, resulting in both of them getting detention? Or was it fate? <BR/><BR/>Ana just came to Half Moon Bay from San Jose, and starting a new school definitely isn't easy, especially since she doesn't know anyone there and still hasn't made any friends. <BR/><BR/>Her first time in detention (ever), Ana is a little relieved that her favorite teacher is the one overlooking the class. That is until she gives the students an assignment which involves getting into groups of four, writing an essay, and sharing it with the group. What makes the situation even worse is that Riley is in her group. <BR/><BR/>Each girl begins to read her story on the one moment that changed her life forever. Turns out all four had survived accidents that could have cost them their lives. Automatically, Ana and Zoey see something special between them and they know it wasn't just a coincidence that the four girls were grouped together. Starting a new friendship will be easy - getting the other two to join them is the hard part. <BR/><BR/>Four completely opposite girls will journey into a friendship that may just last forever. From faith to family to guys and school, each will battle them all, but they have each other to help them get through it. <BR/><BR/>A promising beginning to a new series, THE MIRACLE GIRLS will entice all readers who enjoy a well-written and thoughtful novel. The characters are well-developed, each girls' story is extremely heartbreaking, and their blossoming friendship is just heartwarming. <BR/><BR/>Dayton and Vanderbilt have outdone themselves this time, and the best part is, there will be more books being released.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    !

    Nothing but plot spoilers. Another possible book ruined. Thanks rude ppl.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Better than I was thinking, with a good message

    I actually picked this book up because I thought it might be something good for my youth group to read for a book project, and I decided to review it on here. The Miracle Girls are a group of girls who by random chance, meet at detention their freshman year in school. They find out that they all have been saved from death by miracles, and they feel called to come together as a group. To complicate things for Ana, the voice of the book, she is locked in academic battle with Riley, who is one of the miracle girls, but she refuses to acknowledge the group.
    The setting is good for freshman to sophomores in high school because it deals with the drama and the troubles of these girls who are new to the high school scene and the struggle to make a place for themselves. Personally I thought some of the scenes were not all true for my experience in school, but still the message was good.
    I would say that if you are wanting a book to share with a youth group, or maybe have a group of friends that you know are struggling with things, this might be a good book to share.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    The Miracle Girls By: Anne Dayton and May Vanderbilt

    The Miracle Girls is one of my favorite books, full of drama friendship and conflicts. I recomend this book to all girls who are going into a new school or town. This book made me realize that going into a new school and meeting new people isnt so bad and even though it might be hard at first everything will work out. I hope you guys enjoy this book like i did =).

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Awsome

    Anazing fantastic book !!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Ironic Mistake in Title

    All i read was the description and found a large mistake. The book is called miracle girls when in fact it is ana who meets 2 girls and one boy.(zoe,christine,and riley) That was kinda ironic to me.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    Very good!!

    The Miracle Girls was one of the best series I have read yet. A very good friend of mine recommended this book to me. I think that anyone could read this book but, the type of person who would like this book best, would be girls. The reason I say that is because this book would be considered a really feminine book. I say it's feminine because in the book there's love, it's all about the lives of the friends and how they became miracles but also the point of view is a woman's. The age of people who might like to read this would probably 7-18. This book had adventures, real life problems and the complications of high school life. After I was done reading The Miracle Girls I had to read the rest of the series as soon as possible. When you read this book it has a good ending but you want to know what happens to the other main characters in the book. The book is voiced by one of the main characters Ana. I can vouch for the fact that the narrative voice is very authentic. It is sarcastic, intelligent, and distinctly teenaged. Reading the book feels like eavesdropping on a teenage girl's conversation with her best friend. Ana was the one who mostly got the girls together and thought the idea was great. Ana is really smart but scared to do anything dangerous, mostly because of her parents and her grades. I thought the best main character out of all of them was Christine. She was my favorite because she was really creative but really quiet. When people read a book they usually like the characters that are completely opposite of them or really close to the same attitude of themselves. Another character in the book was Zoë; she was an emotional, determined and earthy child. The last main character was Christina; she was the most popular person in the whole school so she was hard to get into the group of friends. Christina was wild, adventurous but also nice and caring to some people. The idea that Zoe had was to get all the girls together because she knew it was their destiny that god gave them to make them come together. This book showed that miracles can happen to anyone and how it brings people together and how they become some of the best people you've ever met. There are parts in the book where I can relate to like when Ana had to move away from her home and go to some totally different place and not know anyone there. It can be difficult to meet knew people but also trying to stay connected to the friends you left behind in your old home town. In Ana's situation when she got to the new school she already made a new enemy but tried hard to make the best of her new life. Whoever that reads this book will have an awesome adventure.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ana's personality captured my heart

    Ana Dominguez is miserable in her new life in Half Moon Bay. She didn't want to move in the first place, hasn't found any friends, and has managed to upset Riley, the most popular girl in school. A huge mistake lands her in detention where she discovers that she and Riley, along with two other girls, have a unique, life-changing event in common. This realization gets Ana two new friends, but despite all their attempts, Riley is not interested in becoming a Miracle Girl. Will Riley ever forgive Ana for her original blunder?

    I winced all through chapter one. I couldn't believe Ana! I can't imagine anyone doing something as bold as she did, let alone not having any proof. Talk about a great way to never make friends.

    As I read on, however, Ana's personality captured my heart. I loved her struggles to obey her near-tyrant parents and her confusion over which boy she likes. The scenes where she volunteered with the Alzheimer's patients were my favorite. I just hope Mrs. Slater doesn't develop that picture of Ana and Dave, or Ana's papa will kill her for sure! Highly recommended.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!

    I just finished reading this book 2day and can't wait 2 buy the next 1.
    It's an overall AWESOME book. This book is about a girl named Anita, but most call her Ana. She just moved from San Jose to Half Moon Bay, California, and things have NOT been going good. She has no friends and her parents won't allow her any freedom! Literally. One day she gets detention from accusing the Freshman Queen Bee, Riley, of cheating on a test and gets detention. There is where she meets girls, who just like her, are so called miracles. Parents won't need to worry with this book.
    But I think many kids would like a little more edginess in a book. There is ABSOLUTELY no profanity or bad things in this book, the only thing someone might call "bad" or "disrespectfull" is when Ana challenges her parents, but she does it for good reasons. DON'T GET THIS BOOK FROM THE LIBRARY! BUY IT!!!!! Au Revoir!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Good girl lit for the YA set

    I have always enjoyed Anne and May's books. They write for the the Christian girls that do enjoy living in a secular world. They know that there are Christian girls who like designer shoes, dating guys and going out for a night in the city. Their books are like a fresh breath of air to those who are tired of reading cookie cutter characters. This book tells what it's really like in high school. There's the over-achieving of trying to get into a top college, cliques, feeling out of place, trying not to stand out too of the crowd, it's all there in this book. I actually did appreciate how even fellow Christian girls are still capable of being snobs no matter how strong their faith is. This happened to me in high school and I felt a kinship with the girls who experienced Riley's attitude towards them. Off topic, I loved the name Riley for a female character. There is some label name dropping in the book but it's just enough to make the reader feel that the authors know their audience. It's certainly not the overload you get from mainstream series. The girls in this book do NOT live over-extravagant lifestyles and do not have phony teen slang so they seem more real than their other counterparts. Teens will really related to these characters. This is another great alternative to the mainstream teen lit that is out there today. It's a cleaner story but still edgy enough that teen girls will enjoy it. Also while it is targeted at teens, it's a book that any chick lit fan will enjoy. I'll be looking forward to the next book in the series!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Great book!

    I read this book in two days. It was very intriging, and had a great message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Great book

    This book is really good. In the end your like is there more! Great read for like teenagers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    It has very good text

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    To ironic mistake in title

    This book is awesome and riley is a girl. Theres no boy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    The nike

    I havent heard what the story is about but it sounds like a great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Great series! LOVED it

    I loved this whole series of book. When i was reading them i got so interested that i got excited reading and finding out what would happen. there were even parts that i would read over again. It was a really good book, and well written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2