Customer Reviews for

The Miracle Life of Edgar Mint: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A pleasant surprise!

'A patient of mine recommended this book. It sat on my shelf for about 2 years as it is not the normal type of book I read. I picked it up 3 days ago and I wish I had picked it up sooner. What a pleasant surprise. The story will take you through a gamet of emotions: sad...
'A patient of mine recommended this book. It sat on my shelf for about 2 years as it is not the normal type of book I read. I picked it up 3 days ago and I wish I had picked it up sooner. What a pleasant surprise. The story will take you through a gamet of emotions: sadness, anger, frustration, and joy. At times I laughed out loud and at other times my eyes welled up with tears. The story of Edgar makes us appreciate what we all have. The author did a good job of portraying the strength of the human spirit. I don't read a lot of John Irving but other reviews I've read have compared Udall's writing to Irving. If you're a fan of Irving you might want to give Udall a try.'

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

I read The Lonely Polygamist by Udall and really liked it, so I was excited to read this novel. It was a good read, could be funny at times, but did seem to drag on a little. Not my favorite, but pretty good over all.

posted by EPO on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A pleasant surprise!

    'A patient of mine recommended this book. It sat on my shelf for about 2 years as it is not the normal type of book I read. I picked it up 3 days ago and I wish I had picked it up sooner. What a pleasant surprise. The story will take you through a gamet of emotions: sadness, anger, frustration, and joy. At times I laughed out loud and at other times my eyes welled up with tears. The story of Edgar makes us appreciate what we all have. The author did a good job of portraying the strength of the human spirit. I don't read a lot of John Irving but other reviews I've read have compared Udall's writing to Irving. If you're a fan of Irving you might want to give Udall a try.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    This book is why people read in the first place- to feel good!!

    This was a fabulous book that I could just not put down! It gives a fabulous escape into the world of this poor, spunky, adolescent. Edgar's life is so tragic, yet Udall puts it in a way that is humorous and admirable. Udall proves he truly is a genius with this work. I fell in love with Edgar and looked forward to seeing where is miracle life would take him. It was a joy to turn every page- I last read it over a year ago, and I am still raving to everyone about it. In short, it is just a feel-good novel. It makes you happier when you close the pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2003

    Edgar, Meet Lily

    I read this awesome book right after finishing 'The Secret Life of Bees,' and I would love to write a story wherein Lily and Edgar meet one day and compare notes. The two novels, at first read, seem at opposite ends of the literary spectrum. Yet when I finished 'Edgar,' I was struck by the parallel themes of young lives frought with trial and tribulation, yet imbued with inner cores of strength, determination, hope, wisdom, and humor! Neither Edgar nor Lily give up their quest to get back 'home,' even if home is someplace they don't yet know, and that has been there all along. Absolutely fantastic!! I'm a bookseller at a B&N store and put it on my 'Staff Recommends' shelf. It sold out very quickly!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    An exceptionally enjoyable story!

    I definately recommend this book! It is a bittersweet journey of a boy to manhood and although there are many sad parts throughout the story, the ending makes it well worth the time you spend reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Pretty Good

    I read The Lonely Polygamist by Udall and really liked it, so I was excited to read this novel. It was a good read, could be funny at times, but did seem to drag on a little. Not my favorite, but pretty good over all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    My Favorite Book of All Time

    I'm puzzled by some of the negative reviews stating that all Edgar does is get abused, not really, but the abuse is seen through the eyes of Edgar, whose innate goodness sees things in such touching and hysterical ways. A great story by a world class storyteller. Cant recommend this book any higher 4000 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    Different

    Edgar Mint was a half- Indian boy growing up during the 1960s and 1970s. As a young child, his head had been run over by a mail truck but he miraculously survived and still had a fully functioning brain. Edgar's childhood and adolescence following this incident are what make the story so original. How he goes from attending a rough boarding school to living with a Mormon family is truly one of a kind. Not to mention that there is a shocker at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Grabs You from the Beginning

    This book is one of the most interesting and entertaining I've read in a long, long time. Sometimes it made me laugh out loud. Other times it made me squirm. The experiences Edgar goes through during his life and the way he handles them will keep you riveted from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    I loved this book

    This was a beautifully written story. I laughed and cried through his adventures. It was definitely a page turner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    This is funny?!

    All I can say is I'm glad I didn't actually buy this book. Yes, there were a few funny parts but for the most part, it was a terrible, depressing story of abuse to a young man not able to defend himself well. The real problem I have with this book is that it went on and on, chapter after chapter describing the abuse poor Edgar had to endure. Mr. Udall, I think we could've gotten the idea after one chapter. This is where I chucked the book. I know, I know, it may have had a very happy ending but I wasn't willing to go through torture myself to get to it. At least the book went into my recycle bin and will do the earth some good in some way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    I laughed out loud many many times

    It was fun meeting Edgar and spending time with him. I'll miss him. Not often is it that you find a character as comfortable with which to spend time...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    A great read

    This book is a wonderful read. The characters are beautifully drawn. The scenes are very well set. Edgar Mint is an unforgettable character. This book is by turns hilarious, sad, uplifting, tragic, and inspiring. Not since Dickens has there been such a wonderful orphan-hero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    too many other good books to spend time on this one

    story about a long-suffering boy is depressing and drags on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    A GOOD READ

    I really liked this one! The main character is so well-developed that you feel like you really know him. The plot was believable and the situations were humorous and tragic at the same time. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Soft heart for Edgar Mint...

    From the moment I met Edgar Mint my heart became as soft as 'poor little' Edgar's head after being run over by a Mail Jeep. I became overly critical of the trials and tribulations Udall foists upon Edgar during the Willie Sherman years, but in the end the miracle of Edgar wins. I believe that if Udall's Edgar Mint and Irving's Owen Meany ever met, they would look at each other and say, 'Brother!!' I have and will continue to recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    this book ran over my head

    A very quick, enjoyable read. Its quite easy to identify with Edgar and his squashed head, although most of us won't survive a head on encounter with a jeep. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    (Mostly) terrific!

    I read this after hearing the author on NPR and was mostly captivated by this book. It is one of those novels in which reality is somewhat suspended for the sake of creating interesting and odd characters... but still, Udall is a fabulous writer, Edgar a loveable character, his adventures mostly are interesting. For me, the Sherman school part went on too long, but the novel redeemed itself in the funny section re: the Mormon foster home. One thing I found VERY irritating was the way the author switched between the first and third tenses... but overall, a really original and enjoyable novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2002

    A story with humor, hope and lots and lots of heart!

    Brady Udall's coming-of-age story about a young half-Indian boy's struggle to survive, grow and emerge intact sucks you in and never lets you go. Edgar Presley Mint manages to maintain a sense of hope (and humor) throughout his sometimes pathetic, often painful, but ultimately successful childhood. Edgar's ability to understand and take with him the best of the life lessons imparted by his various 'saviors' could be his deliverance, but it is far more likely that it is his capacity to avoid bitterness and despair at these well-meaning, but imprudent, attempts to save his life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    excellent!

    the story pulls you in-- you really want to know what happens to this kid. if you like john irving, you'll like this too. i read it in one day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    Will make you laugh and cry.

    A great story that just keeps you hanging on for more. A one night read that makes you want even more in the end. Brady Udall has a wonderful follow up to his great short story book, Letting Loose the Hounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2