Customer Reviews for

The Premature Baby Book: Everything You Need to Know About Your Premature Baby from Birth to Age One

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What do you do when you're feeling low?

    What do you do when you're feeling low? Read one of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency books! Learn a little about Botswana. Enjoy the company of a woman of traditional build who treats others with respect and gentility. No foul language. No sex. No graphic description of gruesome crime scenes. Just pleasant reading that always helps me feel better about the world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A TREAT FOR THE HEART!

    I have become a huge fan of McCall Smith's work. This is an amusing, touching, and gentle look at ordinary people who search out a meaningful connection with others and a purpose to their existence.
    Mma Ramotswe and Mma Makutsi are back, solving new problems for their clients, but the investigations don't go quite as well as planned. There are small glitches along the way that add philosophical light to what the right thing to do could possibly be.
    The simple and charming events that happen in this book make it a true pleasure to read. Smith's gentle, realistic mystery books are a relaxant to the busy, worrisome world we live in and are full of values that encourage "good" in people. This is one of the best "pick-me-up" books, or any of Smith's books, that you can read. GENTLE. HEARTFELT. HUMOROUS. COZY. WARM. A TREAT FOR THE HEART!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Meaningful Miracles

    This book like the previous 8 books in this series places Mr. Smith's characters in situations in which miracles are the experiences in life that can often be taken for granted. These miracles are not preached to the reader but enjoyed with the main character as she copes, appreciates and values her life in an African village and country which are her roots. Whether enjoying the peacefulness of an early morning cup of tea, the bonding of a friendship, her love of family or confronting worrisome problems, mysterious cases to be solved, she shows an awareness of these quiet often unspoken miracles. She is a true heroine with a sensitivity to her world which reflects our world. There's much to relate to in these very charming books which above all are very very entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You really should not miss this book or any of the others in the series.

    This book was another of the series that I find to be relaxing and enjoyable. Great series to read when you are wanting to read just for the joy of reading. This book (The Miracle at Speedy Motors) is imaginative and full of humor. I am so glad the author continues to be able to find these quality stories to write about very simple people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    A lovely read.

    This author does a wonderful job of pulling a multilayered plot and several characters together without giving in to a syrupy ending or making it all fairy tale. McCall Smith just has that wonderful touch to a story that nudges you gently along. He takes you in one direction and "poof", a surprise here, a wake-up call there. But nothing is overboard or in your face. He has a way of making me love Mma Ramotswe more and more and embrace her staff and family. I treasure every read and savour my time with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    I was so enthralled after reading the first three books in the series that I had to purchase all of them. I thoroughly enjoyed the entire series. The series would make good discussion books for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A series that continues to provide wisdom and insight

    Reading book 9 of Alexander McCall Smith's Number one Ladies' Detective Agency is every bit as enjoyable as you'd expect after reading 1 to 8. I know I'm behind. I know real addicts are already on book 11, but I'm catching up. Botswana continues to enthrall the reader with its beauty, the gentle pace of its culture, the quiet way it reflects a different version of ourselves in might-have-beens. Precious Ramotswe continues to seek and learn, from quiet mountain-side splendor that calms, to flustered concerns of secrets only half-uncovered. Mma Makutsi continues to grow into her role, slowly learning that secrets are better when set free and shared. And the promised miracle that threads throughout the tale? Well, you'll have to read to find out, but the author assuredly doesn't cheat to pull it out of the bag. Even the obdurate apprentices are growing older in this series, where everything changes with time but stays just as sane, just as wise and real and interesting as it was in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Alexander McCall Smith for President

    In his classic witty, thoughtful, caring, creative, heartwarming style, A. M. Smith has created another delightful read. It's just too easy to become one with Mma. Ramotzwe as she tactfully ponders how best to handle the mysteries that come her way from clients as well as her husband, their adopted children and their employees. Ranging from hilarious to serious, clear-thinking to confused, the people she meets in her daily life are all given careful consideration and handled with genteel thoughtfulness. It was good to see more of the children's characters developed in this book and great to know there's a wedding in the future. Wonder if the bride will wear blue shoes? Ha! Happy endings abound in this series and no one should want it any other way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    The Miracle at Speedy Motors

    I have read the entire series: No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency and found the books to be an easy read and could picture the characters nicely in my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fan of #1 Ladies Detective Agency

    I've loved every book I've read in this series-looking forward to diving into book #10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    Another Great Book in the series

    Alexander McCall Smith has written another book that captures the reader. Although the story takes place in Botswana, it could be a story that takes place any where. The characters, the situations, the descriptions captivate the reader. I hope the Great Mma Lady Detective appears again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Fun as always

    This is not great literature, but so heart warming and pleasant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Another McCall Smith Hit

    Once again the author scores a hit with the continuing story of the goings on at the Speedy Motors location. Mma Ramotswe has another puzzle to solve and Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni gets involved with helping their daughter become cured of her medical problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    great

    I love all his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    As good as I expected it to be!

    I love the entire series and this held up to the standards of the previous books in the No. 1 Ladies Dectective series. An easy read, not complicated. Precious makes life seem easy to figure out. And she makes it seem very easy to do the right thing. I always anticipate the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Always Good Reads.

    I always look forward to the release of the next book in this series and the continued "unfolding" of these characters. Precious' appreciation for the simple honesty of life and her wisdom give pause for thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    a bit missleading

    Another sincere accounting of what life was like in Gabarone and how is is constantly changing but slower than the rest of the world. It's about people and the simple life but not overlooking some sordid characters who insist on making others take note.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Like putting on a pair of cozy slippers.

    The entire series is wonderful, and this is a great addition. I did nottry this searies for years and when I picked it up and began reading, I could have kicked myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    An original plot which does not rely on blood, murder, intrigue, or suspense to hold the reader's attention.

    The series is written about a central character, Precious Ramotswe, who comes from simple, honorable beginnings and chooses an unusual profession for a lady, especially one who is a native of Botswana.

    From a basic "How To" book, she feels she can be a detective and by combining book knowledge with her own common sense and honorable ideas of what makes a good society, she succeeds in resolving the cases which come to her. It's a very simple, yet very enjoyable plot. It's one I will probably read again for the sheer joy of finishing a book without the usual themes intended to grab my attention and my spare cash. This is an unusual series and the author appears to have a serious place in his heart for the Botswana people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Mystery book like no other

    To be honest, I don't like mysteries, and I loved this book. Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors is the locale for this odd tale of intrigue and miracles. There's good doses of humor, especially needed because Mma Ramotswe's husband has come under the spell of a sleazy doctor who has promised to cure his daughter's medical problems. This is one of those books that not will you enjoy, but it will make you look at your life and take stock. As with the other detective series, Mma Ramotswe is busy doing what she does--solve crimes. There's plenty here to love, regardless of the cultural differences you might expect, and if you're not familiar with Alexand McCall Smith, this is a good place to start

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4