Customer Reviews for

The Miracle at Speedy Motors (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You really should not miss this book or any of the others in the series.

    This book was another of the series that I find to be relaxing and enjoyable. Great series to read when you are wanting to read just for the joy of reading. This book (The Miracle at Speedy Motors) is imaginative and full of humor. I am so glad the author continues to be able to find these quality stories to write about very simple people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    A lovely read.

    This author does a wonderful job of pulling a multilayered plot and several characters together without giving in to a syrupy ending or making it all fairy tale. McCall Smith just has that wonderful touch to a story that nudges you gently along. He takes you in one direction and "poof", a surprise here, a wake-up call there. But nothing is overboard or in your face. He has a way of making me love Mma Ramotswe more and more and embrace her staff and family. I treasure every read and savour my time with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A series that continues to provide wisdom and insight

    Reading book 9 of Alexander McCall Smith's Number one Ladies' Detective Agency is every bit as enjoyable as you'd expect after reading 1 to 8. I know I'm behind. I know real addicts are already on book 11, but I'm catching up. Botswana continues to enthrall the reader with its beauty, the gentle pace of its culture, the quiet way it reflects a different version of ourselves in might-have-beens. Precious Ramotswe continues to seek and learn, from quiet mountain-side splendor that calms, to flustered concerns of secrets only half-uncovered. Mma Makutsi continues to grow into her role, slowly learning that secrets are better when set free and shared. And the promised miracle that threads throughout the tale? Well, you'll have to read to find out, but the author assuredly doesn't cheat to pull it out of the bag. Even the obdurate apprentices are growing older in this series, where everything changes with time but stays just as sane, just as wise and real and interesting as it was in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Fun as always

    This is not great literature, but so heart warming and pleasant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Another McCall Smith Hit

    Once again the author scores a hit with the continuing story of the goings on at the Speedy Motors location. Mma Ramotswe has another puzzle to solve and Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni gets involved with helping their daughter become cured of her medical problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Always Good Reads.

    I always look forward to the release of the next book in this series and the continued "unfolding" of these characters. Precious' appreciation for the simple honesty of life and her wisdom give pause for thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    a bit missleading

    Another sincere accounting of what life was like in Gabarone and how is is constantly changing but slower than the rest of the world. It's about people and the simple life but not overlooking some sordid characters who insist on making others take note.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Like putting on a pair of cozy slippers.

    The entire series is wonderful, and this is a great addition. I did nottry this searies for years and when I picked it up and began reading, I could have kicked myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    An original plot which does not rely on blood, murder, intrigue, or suspense to hold the reader's attention.

    The series is written about a central character, Precious Ramotswe, who comes from simple, honorable beginnings and chooses an unusual profession for a lady, especially one who is a native of Botswana.

    From a basic "How To" book, she feels she can be a detective and by combining book knowledge with her own common sense and honorable ideas of what makes a good society, she succeeds in resolving the cases which come to her. It's a very simple, yet very enjoyable plot. It's one I will probably read again for the sheer joy of finishing a book without the usual themes intended to grab my attention and my spare cash. This is an unusual series and the author appears to have a serious place in his heart for the Botswana people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2