Customer Reviews for

Miracle in the Andes: 72 Days on the Mountain and My Long Trek Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book. You will not be able to put it down. I only gave it 4 stars because the Nook version does not include any of the photos that are in the printed version. Nor does it include the artwork for the front cover. I had to search online to find photos of this amazing story. Shame on BN for cheaping out and selling a substandard Nook version. Better to buy the real book and get rid of your Nook.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    A must read

    I have read this book so many times (not on nook) and every time I just can't believe these guys made it. Not only is it the most spellbinding book I have ever read, somehow I seem to get a lesson for my own life each time I read it. I wonder if mr. Parrado knew that his story would touch people in the way it does, or if he just thought some people might find it interesting. It is so much more than just an interesting book. I have found myself quoting him when I am having a rough time. And really, I am reluctant to call any day "rough" after hearing his story! I also love mr. Parrado humble attitude. Though he was one of the two who hiked across the Andes to find help, he gives everyone on the plane credit for his survival. He is also considerate in clearing up misconceptions of some of his fellow survivors who, in the book Alive, weren't presented in such a good light. If you have read or seen Alive, do not be fooled into thinking you know the story of these guys. This book is where you will hear, in Paul harvey's words, the rest of the story. If only some of the other survivors would write their version of what happened up there...

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Wow

    This book is so emitionally changing, as well as the movie. The people were so curageous and i was so amazed they kept their will to live for 72 days. Definitely buy this!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Excellent, Riveting account by a Survivor

    Parrado brings you to the frigid horror of the wreckage of the Fairchild in the Andes and relives the 72 days of terror, determination, and hope. Not merely a grisly retelling; this book is in the end uplifting, no matter your circumstances.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    incredible

    this is one of the most incredible stories i have ever read. it is truly amazing to see what the human mind and body can edure. hats off to parrado for surviving this ordeal and sharing it with us.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    fantastic book

    I could not put this book down. Very sad story on what these boys had to go through to survive my heart and prayers go out to them. The movie ALIVE left outso much truth about these boys. Very good book I strongly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    God holds hands

    He held the hands of each one of these young men. If you know god you know of what i speak. HE LISTENS HE HEARS AND WE HAVE THE FAITH HE DOES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Time to remember

    "Miracle in the Andes" is a must read for those who appreciate a real life survival tragedy. I bought it as a gift for someone who love the book as well as the move. I was told that the story holds the readers attention from the start of page 1 to the finale pages of the book. When quick glancing at it I noticed a small section of pictures covering the incident.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Sad and harrowing tale!

    I finished reading this and could not decide if it was a good tale or just a very sad account of a horrible accident. Being an ex flight attendant I could imagine this accident but not what did and finally had to occur. If you do decide to read it be ready for some very difficult chapters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    life changing book, it will affect you

    Thank goodness one of my employees suggested this book after he heard the spell binding presentation by Nando Parrado. Get out of your normal fiction mode and read something that will keep you thinking about your own strenth,and life choices.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring true story of survival

    In 1972, on Friday the 13th of October, a Uruguayan plane crashed in the mountains. If that wasn't bad luck enough for the 29 who initially survived, the last message the pilot radioed was his false belief that they had passed Curicó, Argentina. Now the radio didn't work, authorities had no idea where they went down, and the plane's white roof blended in with the snow. At 12,000 feet altitude, sparse oxygen, sub-zero temperatures and a complete lack of animal or plant life compounded their problems. For the first three days, a head injury kept the author of this book, Nando Parrado, in a coma that convinced his friends he wouldn't live. But two months later, he got his friends rescued by making a 10-day trek out of the mountains with fellow survivor Roberto Canessa. Those who lived only hung on through a reluctant decision to eat the dead after they ran out of anything else even resembling food. Survival stories are so powerful, and the question of cannibalism adds even more drama to this one. Parrado says in the book, "We all have our own personal Andes." Reading how he conquered his mountains helps give you strength to face yours -- and inspires you to savor every moment of life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly Amazing - Hard to put down

    This book about a life changing event was absolutely wonderful. The depth of human love knows no bounds. This is a true tale behind the story you thought you knew. Nando Parrado takes you there. If you are looking for the "gory details" there are some here, but they pale in comparison to the lessons Nando learned up there and has graciously decided to share with us here. While I'm sure there are some, not many of us can even come close to imagining what it would be like to lose half our Families in an instant. That in it's self would be enough to end many of us, but Nando persevered for the Love of his Father. We think of him as this young brave boy with the courage of a lion, not realizing that he is completely terrified and acting only on instinct and pure Love. Through this book, Nando gave me a gift. He has taught me not to take one single breath for granted. What better gift than to be made to understand the true depth of life without having to live through something as horrific as he and the survivors did. Well done Mr. Parrado I read this as a NookBook, but I will be obtaining a hard copy ASAP. I loved it that much!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    An amazing story of Survival

    Miracle in the Andes By: Nando Parrado is a heart-wrenching story of a young boy and his rugby team's struggle to survive. Nando Parrado and his rugby team, crashed while flying over the Andes Mt. on their way to their match against the #1 Chilean Team. With originally 45 passengers on board their plane, the Fairchild, only eight survived in the end. "They scrambled back and forth on the surface of the snow, searching frantically for our buried friends, but despite their efforts they were not fast enough to save us all." Pg. 133. The 8 survivors survived the cold, rough mountain for 72 long days. That means that for 72 days they didn't have your average food to eat, they resulted in the most extreme tasks for survival.
    I think this was a really great book and I recommend it to anyone that is ready for a gory, emotional story.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Best true story of survival ever writen down

    I loved this book. It is an amazing story of survival and pushing yourself to the limits. If you're looking for a good, page turner, you should defently take a look at Miracle in the Andes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    How Strong is Your Will to Survive?

    Most of us will never have to ask ourselves such a question, but at only 23 years old, Nando Parrado had to. We have all heard the story of the Uruguayan rugby team travelling to Chile by plane that met with disaster. The plane, unable to maintain its height because of severe weather conditions, collides with one of the sharp mountainous peaks. The plane is cut in two, one half plummets from the sky only to crash among the towering peaks of the Andes, while the other half¿carrying survivors¿hits the incline of a snow-covered mountain and dives deep into a valley. Those who survived the crash, look to the skies above, hoping and praying for any sign of rescue. With limited food supplies and limited clothing to shield them from the cold, they are forced to come face to face with the knowledge that they must act or they will die. Three brave men begin a journey¿a gruelling trek that no one has ever attempted before, with only a glimmer of hope and no clear path to their destination, they set out to help their friends and save themselves. One of these men is Nando Parrado Miracle in the Andes is his personal story. The first few pages of the novel walks the reader through Parrado¿s first moments after the crash as he wakes up and realises his gruesome predicament. He describes the cold as it first hit him, ¿burning his skin like acid,¿ making it hard to breathe, hard to move, and as a consequence even harder to live. Those first moments are terrifying, and the reader is right there with him, experiencing every chilling second. As the book progresses, Parrado reflects on his life leading up to the crash. Unlike Nando, his father was a hardworking man who worked long hours to make sure that his family could live the life that he did not. His father¿s philosophy was that all the good things in life have to be earned. Parrado talks about how his father tried to teach him this lesson, but he did not listen as he was more interested in girls and rugby than having to grind out a living. Yet Parrado must have learnt this lesson how else could he have survived what he did? Written in the first person, Miracle in the Andes enables the reader to experience each long, excruciating step of Parrado¿s journey. It is an open and honest account of a tragedy and one man¿s struggle to survive. I would not recommend this book for in-flight reading! But I do highly recommend reading this book at some point in life. Miracle in the Andes is not just a story of survival it is a story of the lengths a person will go to save a friend. The boys who were travelling to Chile to play rugby became men through their experiences. They should be thought of as heroes, an example to us all - ¿that anything is possible as long as you are willing to suffer.¿ If this book has any lesson for us, it is perfectly expressed in the last line: ¿Do not waste a breath.¿

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Compelling

    You won't be able to put it down. This is an unbelievable story of courage and determination. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2006

    How Strong is Your Will to Survive?

    Most of us will never have to ask ourselves such a question, but at only 23 years old, Nando Parrado had to. We have all heard the story of the Uruguayan rugby team travelling to Chile by plane that met with disaster. The plane, unable to maintain its height because of severe weather conditions, collides with one of the sharp mountainous peaks. The plane is cut in two, one half plummets from the sky only to crash among the towering peaks of the Andes, while the other half¿carrying survivors¿hits the incline of a snow-covered mountain and dives deep into a valley. Those who survived the crash, look to the skies above, hoping and praying for any sign of rescue. With limited food supplies and limited clothing to shield them from the cold, they are forced to come face to face with the knowledge that they must act or they will die. Three brave men begin a journey¿a gruelling trek that no one has ever attempted before, with only a glimmer of hope and no clear path to their destination, they set out to help their friends and save themselves. One of these men is Nando Parrado Miracle in the Andes is his personal story. The first few pages of the novel walks the reader through Parrado¿s first moments after the crash as he wakes up and realises his gruesome predicament. He describes the cold as it first hit him, ¿burning his skin like acid,¿ making it hard to breathe, hard to move, and as a consequence even harder to live. Those first moments are terrifying, and the reader is right there with him, experiencing every chilling second. As the book progresses, Parrado reflects on his life leading up to the crash. Unlike Nando, his father was a hardworking man who worked long hours to make sure that his family could live the life that he did not. His father¿s philosophy was that all the good things in life have to be earned. Parrado talks about how his father tried to teach him this lesson, but he did not listen as he was more interested in girls and rugby than having to grind out a living. Yet Parrado must have learnt this lesson how else could he have survived what he did? Written in the first person, Miracle in the Andes enables the reader to experience each long, excruciating step of Parrado¿s journey. It is an open and honest account of a tragedy and one man¿s struggle to survive. I would not recommend this book for in-flight reading! But I do highly recommend reading this book at some point in life. Miracle in the Andes is not just a story of survival it is a story of the lengths a person will go to save a friend. The boys who were travelling to Chile to play rugby became men through their experiences. They should be thought of as heroes, an example to us all - ¿that anything is possible as long as you are willing to suffer.¿ If this book has any lesson for us, it is perfectly expressed in the last line: ¿Do not waste a breath.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    This is a life-changing book

    This is a book like no other. I have never before been so absorbed in a real-life account of survival. Hour by hour, day by day, as Nando brings us into those months on the mountain, I came to know those men. I wondered, as I read, how would I have survived those days, what would I have decided when they had to make their decisions? This book has become a part of me. I knew as I finished it that I would remember this story always, especially if I ever had to endure. I lived every minute of the last ten days with Nando and Roberto. They are my brothers, sons, and cousins. There was a time, toward the end of book, when I cried and shouted. I have only to think about it now and tears come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    One of the best survival stories you can read!

    This is one of my all-time favorite reads. To hear this story from Nando's emotions is a lesson in survival: without those emotions, none of us would survive even our daily lives. I could not put this book down, and read it in less than 24 hours. If you enjoy stories of human survival, do not miss this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    A story of courage under the most difficult of circumstances

    Though I had seen the movie 'Alive,' reading this book from Nando's personal perspective added a new dimension to the story. His courage, strength, and determination are remarkable. His account of his experience in the Andes is something you won't be able to forget when you read this book. I believe you will walk away from this book with a valuable teaching 'never give up, even when the odds are against you.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4