Customer Reviews for

The Miracle of Freedom: Seven Tipping Points That Saved the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Concise and interesting summary of pivotal events

This is a very concise and cogent presentation of 7 pivotal events in world history. The authors utilize a clever approach by mixing fictionalized first-person accounts with standard historical narrative. (They utilize different typefaces to highlight the changes to you...
This is a very concise and cogent presentation of 7 pivotal events in world history. The authors utilize a clever approach by mixing fictionalized first-person accounts with standard historical narrative. (They utilize different typefaces to highlight the changes to younger or more casual readers). Each of these events has been the subject of exhaustive historical analyses in their own right. This book is a perfect launching point to introduce the significance of each of these events and place them in a framework that provides the reader with an understanding and appreciation that may fuel additional, in-depth study of one or more of these critical junctures in history. Highly recommended for the serious middle- or high-school student that thinks history is "boring". This book shows how history can come alive and how the world we live in today is a function of many (sometimes random) events that have taken place across time.

posted by Jefjiljuljenjon on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Why isn't this a Nook book?

Odd, you can get this on the kindle, but not on the nook. Anyone know why?

posted by ts5641 on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Concise and interesting summary of pivotal events

    This is a very concise and cogent presentation of 7 pivotal events in world history. The authors utilize a clever approach by mixing fictionalized first-person accounts with standard historical narrative. (They utilize different typefaces to highlight the changes to younger or more casual readers). Each of these events has been the subject of exhaustive historical analyses in their own right. This book is a perfect launching point to introduce the significance of each of these events and place them in a framework that provides the reader with an understanding and appreciation that may fuel additional, in-depth study of one or more of these critical junctures in history. Highly recommended for the serious middle- or high-school student that thinks history is "boring". This book shows how history can come alive and how the world we live in today is a function of many (sometimes random) events that have taken place across time.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Why isn't this a Nook book?

    Odd, you can get this on the kindle, but not on the nook. Anyone know why?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and able to keep my attention

    Sometimes books like this lose my attention quickly. This book was able to blend a fictional story throughout each event that helped explain the world at that time. There is alot of information in this book and pages of footnotes, however it is not dry. The subject is very meaty so it could easily be a very boring book. I was afraid that it might end up being like a textbook but it was not. I would consider this a "living book" that is educational and at the same time easy to read. Definitely would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys history or is just looking for a book to read that has some substance.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Why isn't this a book nook??

    Why isn't this a book nook!!! Makes me want to buy a kindel.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    A revisionist Christian right version of events, for those of yo

    A revisionist Christian right version of events, for those of you who are real students of history I would recommend you pass on this book. Interesting theory but lacks a serious counter argument about Christianity, a religion that did not always embrace freedom, individual thought, science and philosophy, and often supported despotic and cruel princes throughout its history. While everyone knows that Christianity played a significant role in the development of the West, I would give Greek society and the early Roman Empire a lot of credit for the development of democracy, rule of law and freedoms we have today, all embraced during the Renaissance and continued into the Enlightment period despite the resistance of the Church. The slavery theme developed in the book is pure fiction to me, unfortunately Christianity did not prevent the bondage of millions of people and many manipulated their Christian faith to support it. The argument that Christianity paved the way for Capitalism is simplistic and does not account for many other factors which produced that economic philosophy. Full disclosure I am a moderate Catholic, so while I do believe that Jesus' teachings did help support an argument for democracy and freedom. The author's argument that Christian "reason and logic" was directly influenced by the Greeks and many Romans, and way not on display during the Inquistion, persecutions, crusades, and did not prevent slavery in the West. I would say there is a reason why Glenn Beck and Ann Coulter are recommended reads for people who like this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Well wwritten

    This book contains some interesting historical facts and puts together a wel documented case for the miracle we take for granted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Excellant book. Anyone with any interest in history should read it

    Well written, concise and to the point. History could have been very different had these tipping points had different results. Much much worse from the standpoint of freedom.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    This book should be taught in our schools.

    This book should be taught in our schools.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Allow me to strongly recommend against reading this book, 7 Tipp

    Allow me to strongly recommend against reading this book, 7 Tipping Points that Saved the World. I received it as a Christmas present. It's supposedly about seven great moments in history that led to some of the political freedoms enjoyed today. One of the seven "tipping points" is the discovery of the New World. Why? Because it started a huge infusion of gold, silver, cash crops (sugar, tobacco, etc.) and food crops that helped Old World monarchies defeat the Ottoman Empire. There's literally NOT A SINGLE WORD about the many millions of indigenous Americans who were killed, enslaved, or died of disease due to the European conquest of the Americas. The deaths of 50 million people (to use a conservative estimate) are apparently not even worth mentioning, as the only noteworthy aspect is the wealth that revitalized European monarchies, allowing them to oppress their own populations and kills lots of Muslims. This is what qualifies as one of the great moments in the history of freedom?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    I am looking forward to see this book in the nook

    let us know when this book will be in the nook

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1