Customer Reviews for

The Miracle of St. Anthony: A Season with Coach Bob Hurley and Basketball's Most Improbable Dynasty

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    READ THIS BOOK

    A remarkable testament to personal struggle, human fortitude and unconditional love. Bob Hurley and the good people at St Anthonys walk the line!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    It was and awesome book and made even better because it is a true story. I will recommend this to anyone who likes sports..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    The Inspiration

    There is rarely a story that is told that reaches the inspirational heights of this book. Coach Bob Hurley shows young men from the projects of Jersey City, New Jersey what it is to be men and how they can get out of their terrible lives. They must let basketball be their path out, and their tough coach shows them how. The major theme in this book is devotion. This is shown by all of the players and mostly demonstrated by the Coach. He shows the players that there is only one thing that they can do and that is to be devoted to getting out of their terrible lives. I liked every single part of the book, but the parts that really stuck out for me was how much respect the kids all had for their Coach. They know that as soon as they stepped on the floor they are to show the most respect possible for their leader. I really have zero bad things to say about this book. Someone who should read this book is a young man who is really looking to hear a great underdog story of men who fought to show they belonged. I would rate this book a 9.5 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    miracle at st anthony

    This is the story of how Coach Bob Hurley takes a inner city high school and makes them a dynasty nationally. He is an old school coach that teaches fundamentals and discipline to the troubled teens he coaches. It is a great story and one that i would recommend to all ages. It is not only about basketball its about life and how to succeed. Bob Hurley's goal is to teach these kids about life through the game of basketball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    An inspiring, attention grabbing story...

    I came across this book in a random book store a few years back, and finished it feeling like I needed to visit the school and somehow help out immediately afterwards. You become greatly connected with the characters, and find yourself checking up on them years after anyway you possibly can. Bob Hurley is an inspiration - and a hero. One of the greatest sports stories of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Miracle of St. Anthony

    This is the true story of the struggle to achieve a better life by dedicating oneself to something and staying off the streets. The author follows Bob Hurley, the coach of a dysfunctional basketball team as he leads his team and tries to show them a better life. At the start of the season many of the players on his team skip class or get themselves into trouble with the law or school. The players don¿t really seem to care about anything or take anything seriously. Coach Hurley pushes his players in an incredible way. Forcing them to do well in school and pushing them hard on the basketball court. He eventually helps the team come together as one unit. Every player is affected in a life changing way. Many players earn scholarships to college which help lead them on to a better life and out of the streets. However, since the story is non fiction it doesn¿t end perfect for everyone. One theme of this book is the hard work it takes to achieve a better life. The players all must learn to stay in class and do their homework. While basketball is fun, school comes first. Many players find it very hard to stay out of trouble and give it their all. However, before each game the players all yell ¿hard work!¿ together. I really liked this book. It inspired me to want to work harder in school and do well in college. The fact that I am a basketball player also comes into play. The book inspired me to work even harder on the basketball court and put in more time trying to get better at the thing I love to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Save your money

    Folks this is no Hoosiers. The story of Coach Hurley is a good one. Too bad it is written with such mediorcity. I had high hopes in reading this book, only to be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Miracle of St. Anthony: A Season with Coach Bob Hurley and Basketball's Most Improbable Dynasty

    This book crosses over beyond sports to tell a far deeper story about sports and society, as well as our inner-cities. I read it it one sitting. Miracle of St. Anthony, the nuns, and Bob Hurley will stay with you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Miracle of St. Anthony: A Season with Coach Bob Hurley and Basketball's Most Improbable Dynasty

    After reading this book, I would think it is just a matter of time until Hollywood makes a motion picture from the story. It is amazing and well-told. Great sports literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    Save your money!

    There's only room enough for one ego at St Anthony's, and that belongs to coach Bob Hurley. The man is one of the most egotistical selfish men in the business. He puts many NBA crybabies to shame. The book is little more that a publishing of how great he thinks he is. The picture painted in this book is one totally different from reality. To get the real picture of the man, talk to some of his many ex-players. They will paint a far clearer picture. He paints himself as a victim who struggled and worked his way up as the underdog. What he fails to mention is that his team is sponsored by a MAJOR sneaker co and he recruits from all over North America (and possibly overseas). There's no reason why he should lose any games! Anyone with marginal basketball knowledge could accomplish this same feat! B&N has MANY great basketball books. Get another.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Excellent Haven't Put It Down

    This book is excellent and has a very good indepth of who the players and coaches are as a person. The writing makes you feel as if your living the story within the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Excellent Book

    One of the best books I have read. Not too much fanfare surrounding the book, but heard about it in a magazine. I knew of the Hurley family, but never realized Bob was such a great coach. more than being a coach, he is a human being who cares about his kids. First and foremost he cares about his kids as individuals, students and then basketball players. There should be 10,000 more Bob Hurleys in the world and in HS athletics. Hope to God he is able to keep St. Anthony alive and thriving. Kudos to those two amazing nuns who help the school keep the doors open. Certainly a feel good story about an amazing coach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    AMAZING!

    This was the best book ive ever read. Its moving and as a basketball player ive found a great appreciation for coaches and Bob Hurley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Jersey City Kids Make Good!

    Adrian Wojnarowski makes you care about Bob Hurley and his rag-tag band of basketball players long after the last page is turned. You will find yourself performing a search in 'google' to find out what became of them all. You will care that much. And he makes you want to subscribe to the Jersey Journal to keep tabs on the comings and goings of everybody connected with St. Anthony's. Shoot, I used to be an English teacher and I had all I could do not to go online and apply for a job there! Passion like Bob Hurley's is rare in any school, but the story of the St. Anthony Friars will warm your heart. It's comforting to know that people like Bob Hurley, Sister Alan and Sister Felicia are out there making a difference. I grew up in Jersey City and went to St. Mary's High School, which was the arch-rival of St. Anthony's in the late 1960s. Adrian's book brought back a flood of memories for me. Whether you are a basketball player, a fan or just someone who cares about kids, you will be touched by this moving story of a bunch of teenager basketball players who could have gone either way and their coach who wouldn't give up on them no matter what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    One of the best!!

    This is one of the best sports book I've ever read. The story of Coach Hurley and St. Anthony's ia an inspirational one. The team accomplishes so much overcoming many obstacles along the way. I wasn't able to put this book down. It is a book everyone would enjoy. All young athletes would also learn life lessons from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    A Classic

    The Miracle of St. Anthony is quite simply one of the best few sports books ever written. But that's selling it short. This is more than a sports book. You will not put this thing down once you start it. It is moving from the start to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    The Bobby Knight of High School basketball

    I'm a father of a 8th grade basketball player heading into high school and I always love watching Hurley's teams play ever since I drove down to Rutgers from my college dorm at Montclair State in 1989 to catch his son Bobby and Jerry Walker lead their team to a TOC championship & National Championship. I was curious like others to see how this team who didn't look intimdating could just frustrate a team with their tenacious defense and pose their will on them. After reading 'The Miracle of St. Anthony' I know understand. We need more Bob Hurleys in this world. His dedication to winning not only on the court but in the game of life is unmatched. I would love for my son to be coached by him because you know what your getting from Hurley and you know he is going to care for your son like he was his own. That is the type of passion and love Hurley shows in this book. Great job to the author. I bought 2 copies. One for me and one for my son. He loved the book so much he finished before I did. A must read for ALL high school athletes and HIGHLY recommend for middle school & High School basketball players.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    A great book, for sports fans and fans of the human spirit

    This is a wonderful book. I warn you though, once you start you won't put it down. In the end, you root for the coach, the school and most of all, the students and athletes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2005

    The Miracle is Real.

    I have read the excerpt from the book and feel that it is trully exceptional. I have witnessed the 'miracle' first hand as a dedicated fan of the St.Anthony program.I have travelled coast to coast as a St.Anthony fan.I am very proud to see these young boys overcome great obstacles and become contributing members of the community. I anxiously await the release of the book. Lets GO Friars Let the Miracle live on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2