Customer Reviews for

Miracle on the 17th Green

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best if you're a golfer!

A very nice story, well told. My only problem was the constant golf terminology. Not being a golfer, I found it difficult to fully understand all of what the author was trying to say at times. It was to be expected since the story is about a golfer. James Patterson ...
A very nice story, well told. My only problem was the constant golf terminology. Not being a golfer, I found it difficult to fully understand all of what the author was trying to say at times. It was to be expected since the story is about a golfer. James Patterson never tells a bad story! It was a nice change of pace from his typical crime or mystery type novels. Mr. Patterson & Mr. de Jonge made the transition beautifully!

posted by melicole on August 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

I have to say this is a farely good book. I found the part that just talk about golf kinda boring. I am not that much into to golf. However I loved the story line!

posted by TonyaL on May 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book

    I have to say this is a farely good book. I found the part that just talk about golf kinda boring. I am not that much into to golf. However I loved the story line!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Best if you're a golfer!

    A very nice story, well told. My only problem was the constant golf terminology. Not being a golfer, I found it difficult to fully understand all of what the author was trying to say at times. It was to be expected since the story is about a golfer. James Patterson never tells a bad story! It was a nice change of pace from his typical crime or mystery type novels. Mr. Patterson & Mr. de Jonge made the transition beautifully!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    sports are really not JUST sports

    In this book, the reader is treated to all the wonderful aspects of a sport 'in this case golf' with the added bonus of life lessons and concepts as well. This sort of book has become my passion of late. I just love the concept. And there are some really good ones out there right now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    A Different Style for Patterson

    More in keeping with his stand alone "romance" novels, this book was enjoyable with a nice ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I picked up the book and didn't put it down until I was finished. A real page turner. I love golf so this was a heartwarming book. You Rock James Patterson & Peter DeJonge. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Life affirming!

    Loved this book. So nice to read sbout good things happening to good people!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Wonderful

    I loved loved this book. I am not a golfer but hubby is and I found it heart warming. Great book but again would not expect anything less from Mr. Patterson. I love all of his books and the heart togging that he does so well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    Had to grab my golf clubs after I finished!

    This is the type of book where it is impossible to put it down. As someone who has competed in golf tournaments and knows the stress as competition, this was a gripping read. This is a story of going for your dreams and also reaffiriming what you have. The only negative of the book was having James Patterson's name plastered on the cover. Yet another book he's making money off of,for doing nothing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    It was okay

    I read this book because it was for my book club. It's not the best James Patterson but very readable. Frankly, I thought the guy in the book was a jerk! And I thought his family was very forgiving. I would recommend it to people who are golfers because most of the golf terminology meant nothing to me. I've always read and enjoyed James Patterson and will continue to do so. I like his style in other books I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    FEEL GOOD STORY

    LOVED THIS! AUDIO BOOK ON A SUNDAY AFTERNOON DRIVE TO VISIT FAMILY -

    TOTALLY A FEEL GOOD STORY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Miracle on the 17th green

    This book was originally published in 1996, so how can it be a new book published in May, 2010. I do not play golf, but it was a good read and can be read in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Quick Read

    This book was a very uncomplicated, quick, read. It had an interesting premise. The main character is mired in a mid-life muck and does not seem to realize it until his golf game comes together while his personal and professional life fall apart. This character is very likable and it is easy go along with this character on his adventures. While attracted to the idea of a quick read, I was disappointed when I finished the book as I wanted to spend some more time with this character and his adventure. Also, as a new golfer I loved the opportunity this book gave me to fantasize about my own game and say what if.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Great

    I liked it very much.
    I recomend to al the golf players

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    This book is no bogey!!!

    If you like golf, this is a must read book. This page turner is a 'miracle' of the writers. It makes you think not only about the game of golf, but life in and out of golf. It also makes you think that all things just may be possible. Read, enjoy, contemplate, and go play eighteen!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    Blah

    I read the book and forced myself to finish it because I don't like to start a book and and not finish. I guess I am so accustomed to his other novels that I found this book to be one that drags on. I like books with emotion and feeling, I loved Suzannes diary for Nicholas, but this book was my least favorite. Every author has his dull moment and this was his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    Perspective

    Golfers are accused often of being fanatical about the game, but Miracle on the 17th Green puts golf into perspective in relationship to real-life events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    Makes you look forward to tomorrow

    What a wonderful read. Enjoyable, emotional and heartwarming, it gives anyone with a dream hope. Thank goodness that it is short because anyone that starts it going to bed will be late for work. Must read for anyone boarding a plane for a golf trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    A 'must' quick read

    This book is just a great way to spend an hour or two, especially around the Holidays. The story is something we can all relate to, a man going thru his mid-life crisis, and it is written in 1st person which is a wonderful change from most books. There's humor, suspense, good character development, and the kind of ending I appreciate. Just a note - I don't golf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5