Customer Reviews for

Miracle's Boys

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Miracle's Boys - A beautiful story of grief and family

    Miracle¿s Boys is the powerful story of three brothers attempting to deal with the death of their parents. The story begins after the middle brother, Charlie, has returned from Rahway, a juvenile detention center. He has changed so much in the time he was there, that his younger brother, Lafayette, refers to him as Newcharlie. The oldest brother, Ty¿ree, struggles to take the place of both parents and provide for his family. As the story unfolds, we discover that Lafayette was the first to find his mother on the morning she passed away and blames himself for her death, because he froze and could only scream. We also discover that Ty¿ree blames himself for their father¿s death, because he told his dad to save the woman and her dog. Newcharlie has difficulty dealing with their mother¿s death, simply because he was not there when she died and attempts to comfort himself by believing that he could have saved her had he been there. As the story progresses, we watch the brothers grow closer together and begin to deal with their grief in their own separate ways, Ty¿ree and Lafayette holding to the hope that one day Newcharlie will become Charlie once more. This story is very well written and draws the reader in so that we feel the emotions of the readers as if they were our own. The author expertly uses flashbacks to help the reader ¿get to know¿ the characters and understand them on a personal level. This novel grabs the reader and draws them and we find ourselves living the struggles these boys face along with them ¿ their hopes, their dreams, and their pain. As the book closes, we realize that only two days have passed, but we feel as if we have known the boys for a lifetime. This book deals with the pain of loss, raw grief, and some teenage violence each of these issues adds to the power of the book and the relationships described. I would definitely recommend this book, though not to someone who¿s grief is new.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Karina

    I love Yamil and his big butt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Bob

    Bob

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Freddy

    I like this book so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Bfhf

    Ffffj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Eh

    This book was kind of cheesy... There were moments that were supposed to be sad but just felt cheesy...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    LOVELY

    TIS BOOK IS GREAT AND WHOEVER DO NOT LIKE IT IS A STUPID HOE BECAUSE THIS BOOK TELLS HOW THREE BROTHERS HAVE TO HAVE EACHOTHER BACK CAUSE THEIR PARENTS DIED VUT THE CAN NOT GET ALONG BUT LEARN HOW TO LOVE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Miracles boys

    This is a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Dominican

    Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    It Didnt Really Catch My Attention

    3Boys That Mother And Father Died so They Are Left With Each Other But Just Cant Seem To Get Along With Each Other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Interesting Read

    The book Miracle's Boys is written by Jacqueline Woodson the story is about three brothers that lost their parents. The story begins when the middle brother named Charlie comes back from Rahway a juvenile detention center. He has changed show much when he was there, that his younger brother Lafayette calls him Newcharlie. The oldest brother Ty;ree struggles to take the place of both parents and provide for his family. This story is very well written and draws the reader in so that we feel the emotions that they feel. This book deals with pain and loss, raw grief and some teenage violence each of these issues adds to the power of the book and the relationships described.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    One of my FAVORITE books!

    This book is excellent amd the author does a great job of connecting the reader into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    Mrs. Hill Period 2

    I recommend this book to people who enjoy books about a book of brothers who lost their mother. This book was very interesting yet sad at the same time. Because of the two boys who lost their mother, they went through a lot of hardships and they still survive. The characters are very close to each other and it truly shows how much family means to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Miracles Boys Review

    This book will grab you just like it did me. The characters are so real. Some people can even relate to this story. Jaquline Woodson has a way to write things where you understand the emotion that that person is feeling. The book will make you never want to put it down. So i hope you want to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Miracle Boys- dealing with grief and the importance of family

    Jacqueline Woodson, in her novel Miracle Boys has written a story that pulls at the heart strings as she vividly describes the pain, emotions, and the healing process that three underage brothers face as the result of loosing their father and mother. There are moments in the book that can only be best described as real. This is a novel that takes hold of the reader and takes them into the psyche of three brothers dealing with difficult emotions such as fear, guilt, emptiness, wonderings of why. The oldest brother must also deal with a new degree of level of responsibility that is well beyond other young adults his age. This novel is very well written. A death of a parent(s) is an issue that some young readers face. Perhaps reading such a novel will give young readers a glimpse into the life of young people who lose parents early in life. The novel reinforces the importance of family and not giving up on those we love. There is an emphasis on dialog, revealing the truth, and not closing oneself off to those who love you the most. This book is deserving of the Coretta Scott King Award and the Los Angeles Times Book prize. This author has also written the National Book Award finalist Hush for teenage readers and has been recognized for her contributions for writing numerous books for teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Great book

    this book is great it's related to a lot of teenage lives all around the world and it's very touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A Miracle of a Story

    Lafayette never knew his father because he died before he was even born. He¿s living everyday without ever meeting his father and then his mom dies he is distraught, having to live everyday without a father and having the pain of his mother dying in his mind every moment. Lafayette now lives with his two older brothers Ty¿ree and Charlie or as Lafayette would call him, Newcharlie. Lafayette and his brothers struggle everyday to keep their life going on the right road. With both of the boy¿s parents gone, Ty¿ree, who is the oldest son, has been granted Lafayette¿s and Charlie¿s guardian. Charlie has just returned home from a sentence at a juvenile facility. He is now back at home and has a completely different attitude towards Lafayette for reasons relating to his mother¿s death and refuses to speak to him, this is why Lafayette calls him Newcharlie. If the police he and Lafayette will be sent to their Aunt Cecile catches Charlie¿s down South. I liked in the book how the plot can relate to many people in actual life and how it is so realistic . Overall I would recommend this book for someone to read. I would recommend it to someone ages 14 and up. I think that it well written and that it is a very fast read. The book is a little bit mature for anyone under 14 in the way that it has some violence, gang life, and struggling through deaths which may be a little too much under that age to handle. I think that this book can relate very much to the book The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. If you want a book that has a sensitive caring kid with a rough life and an environment where in gangs, violence and staying by your family this book is perfect for you. After reading this book you will truly realize the importance of family and life itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    Brothers with Problems

    Miracle's Boys By Jaqueline Woodson Lafayette is the youngest of the three. He cares About Newcharlie and wants him back the way he was that¿s why they call him NEWcharlie.Newcharlie is the middle brother and went to a place called Rahway and now he does not care about anybody but himself and hates Lafayette. Ty¿ree is the oldest and takes care of the two younger brothers because their mom and dad are dead he does not get a lot of money to support his family. So their mom and dad are dead Ty¿ree has to support his brothers and they do not have much money. Newcharlie does not listen to Ty¿ree and does whatever he wants to do. Newcharlie always picks on Lafayette and says he killed their mom. It¿s pretty much a story about a family with many problems. The story takes place in the brothers¿ house and around their neighborhood. The time is probably in the recent past. The theme of the story has to do with families and the problems families have and how they solve the problems. I liked the story because it shows how some families really are today. I related to the story because it is about brothers and I have two brothers. The brothers in the story sometimes acted like my brothers and me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Miracle's Boys

    Have you ever thought about living on your own with no boost or support from your parents? Can you even imagine how that would make you feel? Well in Miracle's Boys by Jacqueline Woodson three brother's Lafayette, Tyree, and Charlie are suffering from the death of both of their parents. They are tying to live with the fact that they are no longer with them, but Lafayette the youngest brother wants to know every little detail about how their mother and father died. Charlie the middle brother just came back from Rahway's home for boys. Charlie treats Lafayette bad because he thinks Lafayette caused their mother to die. Tyree the oldest brother is taking care of Charlie and Lafayette on his own, without a mother or father Tyree can't go to college because he has to work full-time at his job to make more money for the family. I rate this book a 4 and I would recommend this book to everyone. It is a great book and will make you have more respect for your parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    Miracle's Boys

    Imagine loosing both of your parents. How would you feel? Well this is what this story is about. The book Miracle Boys, by Jacqueline Woodson, is about three brothers named Lafayette, Tyree, and Charlie Bailey, who have lost both of their parents. They are trying to deal with it the fact that they are gone, but it¿s hard when their brother Lafayette keeps asking questions about what happened. Now their brother Charlie just got back from Rahway¿s home for boys and he¿s changed in so many ways that Lafayette doesn¿t think that he¿s his brother anymore. I would recommend this teen drama to anyone who has problems dealing with the lost of a family member or friend, this might help you over come your problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3