Customer Reviews for

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

Average Rating 4.5
( 694 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(564)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book!

I am a 5th grade teacher and this book was recommended to me by our librarian. I have two classes and this is my second year reading this book. (which means I have read it a total of 4 times). Each time I read it, I get more attached to the characters. The best part...
I am a 5th grade teacher and this book was recommended to me by our librarian. I have two classes and this is my second year reading this book. (which means I have read it a total of 4 times). Each time I read it, I get more attached to the characters. The best part about this book, my students both boys and girls LOVE it. I am already looking forward to being able to share this book with my son. It's such a great book!

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great book BUT slow pace.

Great it was sad, touching, some time a litle slow but great if you like these things in a book, this book is great for you. BUT!!! if youan't stay with a book because it is slow pace like me this is NOT!!! the book for you (,)__(,) ...
Great it was sad, touching, some time a litle slow but great if you like these things in a book, this book is great for you. BUT!!! if youan't stay with a book because it is slow pace like me this is NOT!!! the book for you (,)__(,) ( ' . ' ) bunny is so cute! (o o) O O

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 698 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Awesome book!

    I am a 5th grade teacher and this book was recommended to me by our librarian. I have two classes and this is my second year reading this book. (which means I have read it a total of 4 times). Each time I read it, I get more attached to the characters. The best part about this book, my students both boys and girls LOVE it. I am already looking forward to being able to share this book with my son. It's such a great book!

    79 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Wonderful story for everyone to read

    I bought this for my 8yo daughter to read during a transatlantic flight. I was shocked to wake up from my nap to find her crying. She is a prolific reader for her age and I have never seen a book touch her like this one did. I had to read it for myself and, of course- I cried too! It is a heartwarming book. Be warned though, it does deal with death and can be a little much for some young readers.

    52 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Not just for kids

    As I perused the bookshelves of Barnes & Noble one Saturday afternoon, the cover of this little book caught my eye. I started reading it and didn't stop until I was done pausing only briefly to purchase the book and drive home. I loved the story and the wonderful pictures at the beginning of each chapter. I read and reread the final chapter several times and each time it evoked the same swell of emotions. This book has a timeless quality and I envision reading and rereading it many times over.

    37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Awesome!

    I am an elementary teacher and this book was recommended by my school librarian so I bought it at the school book fair. I read it within two days on and off. There was moments where I laughed, others where I cried. My students would see me reading and were intrigued by the book so this coming school year we are going to read it as a class. I hope they feel the same way about the book as I did.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Amazed

    This book can break your heart and make you cry tears of sadness but it can also make you smile and surprisr and make you cry tears of joy. This book is a little bit of a love story in it but it als ha adventure and mystery and always makes you question whats going to hapen next. This is a good book to read a second or third time. Maybe even a fourth time. This is why i am giving this book give stars. It is also so well put together. I really do reccomend this to people age 8 and up

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Love Edward!

    This book inspired me to write my own stories. The love and passion put into this book has literally made me tear up every single time I have read this story. This is my most favorite fiction story I've ever read. I insist others to read and find out about Edward's journey!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Beautiful and touching...

    Such a sweet, moving story for children to discover on their own, to make adults think, or to share with your kids (or even your bookclub!) and discuss. Brilliant character development and lovely illustrations. It was refreshing to experience a well-written children's book containing strong characters that so aptly depicted the value of true friendship, acceptance and love. It is the perfect balance of emotion and restraint; the story moves along at a good pace, spending the right amount of time at each point in the plot. There are some 'heavier' scenes and elements, but they are handled well. This was my first Kate DiCamillo book and I am anxious to read more.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great book

    This is a sweet heart-touching book!!I think it is a great bed time story for all ages!!!But it is a little sad but still a GREAT book to read!!! :D

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    What you don't learn from your parents. . .

    You learn from your kids. And from an amazing rabbit and the people who love him! What a wonderful book. Keep writing, Ms DiCamillo! I adore your work!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Everyone who can should defenly readthis book!
    Read this book
    I tell you READ it, now
    This book is for all ages
    It is completey apropriote
    And its the best book ever

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Great book BUT slow pace.

    Great it was sad, touching, some time a litle slow but great if you like these things in a book, this book is great for you. BUT!!! if youan't stay with a book because it is slow pace like me this is NOT!!! the book for you (,)__(,) ( ' . ' ) bunny is so cute! (o o) O O

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    A Bittersweet, yet adorable story

    This story is about an incredibly vain china rabbit, Edward Tulane, who is very pleased with himself until one day he is thrown overboard a ship and is lost. Edward is taken on a miraculous journey and learns what it really feels like to love, especially to feel emotion for someone besides himself. Edward's story teaches a valuable lesson, after what seems like a loss equivalent to 'the end of the world', it is still possible to love again.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book! it's so great!

    I love this book! it's so great!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Edward

    This book is really good my school had to read it for March is reading month. I recomend it to any body!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Heartbreaking

    This story was heartbraking and loving and great i look for more books by this author!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great story

    I am in 6th grade and i read it in 4tj and i still give it 5
    Stars!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Person

    Awsome book lve it

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Awsome

    I love this book it is the best book i had read in my whole life

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Wow

    I read this book to my 6 yearold it is now my favorite book

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Depressing!

    I bought this book for my 10 year old. I am sorry. We read it togethor and she asked me at the end why did it have to be such a sad book. I think we forget that our kids are not ready to handle some of the emotions childrens books are selling. I think we are trusting others to decide what is a childs book for our kids. I have learned from this book, and a few other children's books clearly not meant for children, to read the book first before I give it to my child. I miss the days of well written fun books for kids. We seem to have alot of deep emotional books out for our 12 and under kids. Why? Isn't life emotional enough for our kids without having them get more of it when it is time to sit and enjoy a good book? The books message is a great one, for adults. I would save it to give as a gift for an adult friend.

    6 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 698 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35