Customer Reviews for

Mirage (Oregon Files Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!!!

Oregon Files get better each time!

posted by Lori89 on November 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

After reading all nine

I was very excited to read this 9th installment of the Oregon series. While not disappointed it is not the best of the series. I was expecting the same highly planned military type operations and they were just not there. Happy I read it and am still a fan

posted by 17389487 on November 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Fantastic!!!

    Oregon Files get better each time!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Another exciting and hard to put down book about the crew of the

    Another exciting and hard to put down book about the crew of the Oregon. Close calls for the Chairman himself, and some of his crew. The ship itsself almost lost. A real page turner except for one chapter where the author pulled somewhat of a diversion and lost some of the momentum, but recovered a chapter later. Very well done, once again.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    EXCELLENT

    So very glad to be able to read another exciting Oregon Files book. Juan Cabrillo and his crew are like comfortable old friends. Was sorry when the book ended.

    More PLEASE Cussler & Du Brul. The Oregon Files series is the BEST!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great fast reading, typical Juan Cabrillo adventure

    I awaited the release of this new novel patiently, and it was worth the wait. However, as much as I tried to savor the adventure by reading it at an easy going pace, it was such fast reading that I finished it much too soon. As always the adventure of the crew and ship are as expected, it was a joy to read. Highly recommend it to any Oregon fans, Cabrillo is as expected, no disappointment. Read it, just be warned it is fast reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Love it, love it !!! The Oregon Files are my favorite Cussler bo

    Love it, love it !!! The Oregon Files are my favorite Cussler books. This is another really great one. Keep them coming. Thanks, Clive!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Again

    Clive Cussler again and again delivers. This is another outstanding book. BRAVO!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    This is a piece of writing that sets the pace of story telling t

    This is a piece of writing that sets the pace of story telling that not many books have achieved. Ir set my pulse racing as I anticipated what the next line, paragraph or chapters would reveal.Why a cool ride,coming with a marvelous plot, rich characters and a brilliant setting.It is tightly written, a style that brings to mind another the story of Gavin in Triple Agent Double Cross. I think this is a well researched novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Excellent adventure

    A great read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    After reading all nine

    I was very excited to read this 9th installment of the Oregon series. While not disappointed it is not the best of the series. I was expecting the same highly planned military type operations and they were just not there. Happy I read it and am still a fan

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Excellent

    Excellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Another amazing Cussler!

    A master of keeping you on the edge of your seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Good fead

    I

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Its ok, action gets you pulled in, find the characters lacking

    Its ok, action gets you pulled in, find the characters lacking

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Mirage is good but could do without the filler side story.

    Clive Cussler's books are always packed with great adventure stories while also dabbling in historical events and figures. MIRAGE is one of these efforts playing on the enigmatic figure Tesla and his early 20 th century endeavors with electricity and magnetism. The story moves along well until it abruptly stops 3/4 of the way through and begins a new short tale about a missing shipping container of cash. Interrupting the narrative with this short adventure makes no sense unless Cussler and Du Brul ran out of steam with the main story and used this side tale as filler. I usually enjoy Cussler's work, but was thrown off by the story side trip.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Another "GREAT ADVENTURE"

    Words cannot describe this booki. Clive Cussler did another great job putting together this story and book. Mirage is the type of book that I love to read and I could hardly put it down once I started it.

    This book is A+ for sure. "A" for awesome.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Great

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Recommended

    I love the Oregon series.
    But not his best on this book, also too short.
    Still a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Okay Story But Not as Good as Past Ones

    I have been a fan of Clive Cussler since the 1970s and I generally enjoy the books he writes or collaborates on. Mirage is the latest story involving the Oregon and its Captain Juan Cabrillo. The plot revolves around a rogue Russian Admiral who gets his hands on cloaking technology somehow related to Tesla and the Oregon's attempts to stop him and prevent a war between China and Japan.

    The story was relatively decent, but was not as good as some of the past books of this particular series. The story seemed to lurch around at times and included a subplot which had no relation to the main plot. The story seemed to race to a somewhat anti-climatic end which was not very satisfying. Overall I would give it a C+.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Another great read

    Mirage is your typical Cussler mystery. In typical fashion it blends historical events with the modern world.

    It's easy to read and keeps you interested. My problem - I find it hard to put down. I hated to see it end.

    Enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    great

    love all his books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4