Customer Reviews for

Miranda's Big Mistake

Average Rating 4
( 457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(181)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Painful Read

After reading the reviews I was really looking forward to my first Mansell read. Boy, was I disappointed. Although I did laugh out loud on a few occasions, I found the writing rather amateurish. The storylines were quite disjointed and often times hard to follow. Th...
After reading the reviews I was really looking forward to my first Mansell read. Boy, was I disappointed. Although I did laugh out loud on a few occasions, I found the writing rather amateurish. The storylines were quite disjointed and often times hard to follow. There were way too many stories going on and not enough time to flesh many of them out properly. On the flip side, the writer often povided detailed explanation of things that should have been left to the readers' imagination/interpretation.

posted by 6070176 on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 457 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    Painful Read

    After reading the reviews I was really looking forward to my first Mansell read. Boy, was I disappointed. Although I did laugh out loud on a few occasions, I found the writing rather amateurish. The storylines were quite disjointed and often times hard to follow. There were way too many stories going on and not enough time to flesh many of them out properly. On the flip side, the writer often povided detailed explanation of things that should have been left to the readers' imagination/interpretation.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!!!

    This is the first book by Ms.Mansell that I picked up on my Nook and I was immediately drawn into the story. I usually only read horror or paranormal romance but the characters in this story have a way of grabbing you and not letting you go. I went through an emotional roller coaster ride from beginning to end. I laughed out loud, gasped with shock,cried and laughed again. I have to commend the writer on actually allowing the reader to be so drawn in that they experience the emotions along with the heroine. It was very nice to have an "average" leading lady instead of the super perfect heroines that grace most books these days. It has been a long time since I have read a book that actually kept me reading well into the night. Thank you!!! I hope to pick up more books by Ms. Mansell and I highly recommend this book for any avid reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    PG49er

    this book is a "Big Mistake" to read. Boring & stupid!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Disjointed

    Story+was+choppy+and+jumped+around.++I+only+read+the+sample+but+didn%27t+even+finish+that.++Not+even+worth+.99+cents

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Add this one to your beach bag!

    Alright! The summer chick lit list just gets better and better. Make sure you add Miranda's Big Mistake!

    Miranda is a hair salon trainee. She's constantly late, funny, kind to everyone - even that homeless guy who turns out to not be homeless... But I digress. She has great friends and loves her life, but is missing one thing - someone to love. When she meets Greg, she believes she's found The One.

    Now Greg just happens to be the husband, yes husband, of Chloe. Chloe, who told Greg they were going to have a baby. Chloe, who Greg, upon hearing this wonderful news, promptly left.

    Greg hasn't bothered to mention this little fact to Miranda. What would happen if fate intervened and Miranda and Chloe's lives crossed paths??? And that's as much as I'm going to give you!

    Jill Mansell has penned yet another fresh, funny, warm story populated with people you really wish you had in your circle of friends. (Except for that Greg!) Miranda and Chloe are engaging protagonists, but the supporting characters are just as wonderful. I especially enjoyed Florence, the landlady who does her best to nudge things to go a certain way. Miranda's gorgeous boss Fenn, who surprises everyone, including himself. Danny the documentary maker, who captures Miranda on film in all her glory. Bev, her best friend constantly on the prowl for a husband.

    A story of love lost and found, lost again and found again. Of friendships and the warmth of those relationships. You'll get a warm feeling from Miranda's Big Mistake. (especially if you're reading on the beach.) But seriously, an absolute romp of a read! Definitely recommended for those who love this genre. Or anyone else looking for a really great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Delightful

    From the first page to the last, simple delightful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Like most women in chick-lit books, Miranda has a horrible recor

    Like most women in chick-lit books, Miranda has a horrible record with men.  I mean she really has some bad luck.  Never one to give up, she hopes to find Mr. Right.  Clare finds out she is pregnant and her wonderful husband decides to leave her, citing the pregnancy as a deal breaker.  Left alone, pregnant, working for a horrible boss, and without a home Clare is fairly discouraged about her future.  Bev is the type of girl that every guy seems to avoid.  She has dreams of a husband and kids and she wants them now.  Unfortunately, everyone seems to sense this and run for the hills.  Can these three women find love?  Of course they can, this is chick-lit.




    I know it seems like I've been in a chick-lit kind of mood and I really can't explain it.  This story is a loveable story filled with quirky fun and a bit of humor.  It's fluff but it's fun. There are seriously moments where I'm sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for disaster or some confrontation to happen and it really kept me turning the page.  I will say that there seemed to be more emphasis on humor than really relationship/plot development.  I felt there could have been fewer skips in time and a little more development in the relationship the girls actually ended up in.  There were lots of failed relationships that were interesting and fun but when it came to the "good" guy, we jumped straight to the happily ever after with no real explanation.  This wasn't just insta-love, this one insta-marriage.  First date, then thinking of marriage?  Ummm..not sure about that.  How about NO date and planning a marriage.  I know it is chick-lit but hmmm...




    It was cute and quirky but I did find myself laughing at the oddity of the plot and not just humorous situations that the characters found themselves in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Not one of Jill's best

    I am a huge fan of Jill Mansell but this book has been my least favorite so far. The writing was not great. The story jumped all over the place, it was not cohesive. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Fun reading

    I enjoyed how the characters all intertwined. This is a good beach book. Although it was 494 pages, it was a quick read. Everyone has their own opinion of what constitutes a good book. Saying that i found it relaxing to read and a nice story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    The Book Was Not A Mistake!

    I loved it and it was the first book from this author. Cute, funny, playful and right down my alley. I believe there is a series and I will continue to read Mansell's books for it was a satisfying read with a series of twists and turns in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Had potential

    I really thought this book would be great but the main character managed to go through so many different men in a short period of time. It got out of control and I found myself rolling my eyes like a stuck up teenager. This was my first Mansell book but I'm willing to give her another shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    bi

    mistake

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Too many characters - hard to follow

    I was hoping Jill Mansell would be a new Author for me to check out but after reading Miranda's Big Mistake, I'm not sure if I will even bother reading her other books. This book was very hard to read because the characters' stories were ridiculous. You'll be making a "Big Mistake" if you buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    interesting story

    If you like romance with substance, then you will love this book. You must pay attention to the story line because she introduces several characters with interconnecting storylines and each one is unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Good read

    Book was vey good,kept you interested-wish it would have ended better though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Good but not great

    Although this book is light and fun while dealing with less than ideal real life situations, I felt that the main character is a little bit to fleeting in her her affections. That made me not like her as much as I would liked to have. She starts out thoughtful and unselfish and then takes a downward spiral of self pity in the midst of others suffering around her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    A must read

    Love it! Love it! Love it! A must read in my book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Good story

    Another good story. Enjoyed all the characters, liked how all their stories unfolded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    great read

    absolutely loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 457 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23