Customer Reviews for

Miranda's Big Mistake

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(181)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Painful Read

After reading the reviews I was really looking forward to my first Mansell read. Boy, was I disappointed. Although I did laugh out loud on a few occasions, I found the writing rather amateurish. The storylines were quite disjointed and often times hard to follow. Th...
After reading the reviews I was really looking forward to my first Mansell read. Boy, was I disappointed. Although I did laugh out loud on a few occasions, I found the writing rather amateurish. The storylines were quite disjointed and often times hard to follow. There were way too many stories going on and not enough time to flesh many of them out properly. On the flip side, the writer often povided detailed explanation of things that should have been left to the readers' imagination/interpretation.

posted by 6070176 on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Add this one to your beach bag!

    Alright! The summer chick lit list just gets better and better. Make sure you add Miranda's Big Mistake!

    Miranda is a hair salon trainee. She's constantly late, funny, kind to everyone - even that homeless guy who turns out to not be homeless... But I digress. She has great friends and loves her life, but is missing one thing - someone to love. When she meets Greg, she believes she's found The One.

    Now Greg just happens to be the husband, yes husband, of Chloe. Chloe, who told Greg they were going to have a baby. Chloe, who Greg, upon hearing this wonderful news, promptly left.

    Greg hasn't bothered to mention this little fact to Miranda. What would happen if fate intervened and Miranda and Chloe's lives crossed paths??? And that's as much as I'm going to give you!

    Jill Mansell has penned yet another fresh, funny, warm story populated with people you really wish you had in your circle of friends. (Except for that Greg!) Miranda and Chloe are engaging protagonists, but the supporting characters are just as wonderful. I especially enjoyed Florence, the landlady who does her best to nudge things to go a certain way. Miranda's gorgeous boss Fenn, who surprises everyone, including himself. Danny the documentary maker, who captures Miranda on film in all her glory. Bev, her best friend constantly on the prowl for a husband.

    A story of love lost and found, lost again and found again. Of friendships and the warmth of those relationships. You'll get a warm feeling from Miranda's Big Mistake. (especially if you're reading on the beach.) But seriously, an absolute romp of a read! Definitely recommended for those who love this genre. Or anyone else looking for a really great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    interesting story

    If you like romance with substance, then you will love this book. You must pay attention to the story line because she introduces several characters with interconnecting storylines and each one is unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Good story

    Another good story. Enjoyed all the characters, liked how all their stories unfolded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Fun Chic Lit

    Fun chic lit. I liked enough to recommend giving it a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Love It!

    Absolutely entertaining and witty. A laugh out adventure that could only occur in Mansell's imagination. A joy while reading and a pleasure to have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Why do I keep reading Jill Mansell?

    I don't really like most of Jill Mansell's story lines but she keeps drawing me in. I finally figured it out. While her story lines aren't great her characters are. I find myself being drawn in because of the characters and then I can't put the silly books down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny

    Funny light read for summer. Wish it had some breaks to show change of character or scene, but after a while that didn't bother so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Really fun read!

    I enjoy British humor and this book was laugh out loud funny most of the time. I enjoyed the characters as well as the story. I don't think this book is supposed to be an in depth read. Its just a story about women and their lives and relationships. You'll enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Entertaining...great summer book to read while at the beach

    A fun and entertaining summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. I was turned on to this author from BNs Free Friday selection and I downloaded this one as soon as I finished reading the first. Chick Lit isn't usually my thing but I find Mansell's writing style highly addictive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    great & funny. Jill Mansell is a new fave of mine

    great, fun read. I love a book that makes me laugh out loud. There were some unexpected twists in this one that kept it going. The characters were great and outrageous! A good read while on vacation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fun

    i found this book on sale. never read her before but i figured why not? i found this author fun and enjoyable. i like her humor and the style of writing. i will wait patiently for more of her books to go on sale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    I Liked It

    Having read one other book by the this author I was anxious to try another. The first book drew me in right away but this one took a bit longer to pull me into the story but once I connected with the character I thoroughly enjoyed the book. The author weaves several stories at one time though there is a central story that they revolve around. Its all the twist and turns and the enjoyable supporting characters that make her books so interesting. I gave it low marks on gift giving because of language that I think would possibly be offensive though it is not used frequently. Still find the F word shocking and unnecessary in her stories. Its like its thrown in just for the heck of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Fun Read

    I don't normally ready anything romance, but thanks to free Friday I was introduced to this author. I really like her sense of humor, and this book was pretty entertaining. I do think it was dragged out a little towards the end, but it was nicely wrapped up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    Easy reading. lighthearted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    Great book, i couldnt put the book down, it made me laugh out loud and cry like a little child. i loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Love the Brits

    This was a fun read, love Mansell's writing. Light, irreverant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute book good for summer beach reading

    Great book for summer beach reading! It's thick but do not be intimidated as it is a quick read. It's chick lit for sure but a cute fairly different story line. Although I was able to predict the end of the book fairly quickly I in no way shape or form was able to predict how the main character would get there. Definitely a few twists and turns in this one. Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10