Customer Reviews for

Mira's Diary: Lost in Paris

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love it

This was one of my fav books ever in the book mire meets a boy and you can feel the spark between them and it makes you happy this book is so amazing I could not put it dfown buy the book you will not regret it

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back in my middle school days, I went through a historical ficti

Back in my middle school days, I went through a historical fiction phase. The vast majority of them were set in the medieval period, but history has always fascinated me. Especially when it involves time travel. I'm pretty sure that I would freak out if I were really to...
Back in my middle school days, I went through a historical fiction phase. The vast majority of them were set in the medieval period, but history has always fascinated me. Especially when it involves time travel. I'm pretty sure that I would freak out if I were really to find myself in a foreign place and time. I wouldn't know the first thing to do to trick everyone into thinking that I belong in their time period. Still, I can't help but wonder how awesome it'd be to time travel, and Mira gets to do just that.

Mira's Diary: Lost in Paris is the delightful middle-grade story about a young teenage girl who discovers that she has inherited her mother's time-traveling abilities when her family goes to Paris in search of her missing mother. Alone in a foreign time and place, Mira must figure out why she's being taken back to the past at the same time that she unravels her mother's purpose, and her own purpose, for being in the past.

This book is obviously meant for younger readers. While Mira meets many equally delightful characters, the story doesn't go into much detail into their lives, personalities, and interests. This didn't take away from my enjoyment of the novel as long as I read it as a middle-grade book, but I really wanted to know more about them and see more of Mira's adventures in late-nineteenth century Paris and the reactions of her friends after her long periods of absence (the result of forced time travel by touchstones, objects that take her to different time periods).

Yeah, time travel obviously sucks when you don't know what you're doing and especially when you can't control when and where you go. Mira can't even confide into her friends because that would be breaking one of the sacred rules of time travel, so her explanations for being gone sound pretty fake even to herself.

It seemed that I had just started this book when it ended. Sadly to say, I'm going to have to wait to see how Mira makes up to her good friend and first (I think?) love Claude and just what is so important that her mother is doing in the past. Mira's story is a fun, sweet read that I would recommend to young girls.

posted by ImaginaryReads on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Love it

    This was one of my fav books ever in the book mire meets a boy and you can feel the spark between them and it makes you happy this book is so amazing I could not put it dfown buy the book you will not regret it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Back in my middle school days, I went through a historical ficti

    Back in my middle school days, I went through a historical fiction phase. The vast majority of them were set in the medieval period, but history has always fascinated me. Especially when it involves time travel. I'm pretty sure that I would freak out if I were really to find myself in a foreign place and time. I wouldn't know the first thing to do to trick everyone into thinking that I belong in their time period. Still, I can't help but wonder how awesome it'd be to time travel, and Mira gets to do just that.

    Mira's Diary: Lost in Paris is the delightful middle-grade story about a young teenage girl who discovers that she has inherited her mother's time-traveling abilities when her family goes to Paris in search of her missing mother. Alone in a foreign time and place, Mira must figure out why she's being taken back to the past at the same time that she unravels her mother's purpose, and her own purpose, for being in the past.

    This book is obviously meant for younger readers. While Mira meets many equally delightful characters, the story doesn't go into much detail into their lives, personalities, and interests. This didn't take away from my enjoyment of the novel as long as I read it as a middle-grade book, but I really wanted to know more about them and see more of Mira's adventures in late-nineteenth century Paris and the reactions of her friends after her long periods of absence (the result of forced time travel by touchstones, objects that take her to different time periods).

    Yeah, time travel obviously sucks when you don't know what you're doing and especially when you can't control when and where you go. Mira can't even confide into her friends because that would be breaking one of the sacred rules of time travel, so her explanations for being gone sound pretty fake even to herself.

    It seemed that I had just started this book when it ended. Sadly to say, I'm going to have to wait to see how Mira makes up to her good friend and first (I think?) love Claude and just what is so important that her mother is doing in the past. Mira's story is a fun, sweet read that I would recommend to young girls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    attractive e-book

    Got this for my daughter, who has enjoyed this author and likes the journal-style graphic design, which reproduces nicely on the HD+. I glanced at the first chapter, and it looks like an engaging mystery.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Blue Dog

    I realy like this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Wondering

    Friend has it. She says its great!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Review: 5 Stars The Kid: I really liked this one. It had a f

    My Review: 5 Stars
    The Kid: I really liked this one. It had a few pictures which helped tell the story. .................................................................................... The Mom: This was a very cute little book. We sat down and read it in two days. I love time travel so this one sat really well with me. It has pictures thought out the book which add to the story.
    "*I received a copy of this book for free to review, this in no way influenced my review, all opinions are 100% honest and my own."

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    :P

    Idk what this book is bout but i wanna read it... :p

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When Mira's mother disappears unexpectedly, her whole family was

    When Mira's mother disappears unexpectedly, her whole family was shocked. No one knows where she went, and no one knows whether she's been kidnapped or killed or just ran away with another man. Now Mira, her dorky brother Malcolm, and her dad (who gets to travel around the world for a year as a photographer to take pictures of the Wonders of the World) get a mysterious postcard, and it's from Mira's mother!! Mira and her family travel to Paris and Mira starts to search for her mother. Only to find out later that she has been searching in the wrong century. Mira is a time traveler, and with one accidental touch to a stone gargoyle, she is whisked away into the past to follow her mothers clues and find out what really happened to her mother.Mira is an awkward girl who is thrown into a unknown experience. Any girl who has experienced moving, going to a new school, or just even going to middle school will probably be able to relate to her. That was why I was also able to relate to  her. Lost in Paris is a historical fiction/fantasy book that was more interesting to me than most historical fiction books that I have read before.This book was completely enjoyable and I honestly couldn't find anything in Lost in Paris that might have bothered me, even the slightest bit. It was great through and through so I didn't find any part of it boring.The flow was clear and easy to understand and read. The writing was in first person, and that was able to show Mira's dorky side. I definitely loved this, so I can't wait to read more books by Marissa Moss, especially the sequel to this, Mira's Diary: Home Sweet Rome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "Entertaining and Educational For All Age

    booksbysteph says "Entertaining and Educational For All Ages"

    Mira's Mom has disappeared. No one has any idea why she is gone or where she is. Mira's Dad says Mom loves her and her brother and she will come back someday. After six months, Mira finds a Paris-themed postcard in the mail stating that she needed to figure things out. 

    On the same day, Mira's Dad finds out he received a grant to photograph the wonders of the world and he is taking the kids along for the ride. With the arrival of the postcard, first stop - Paris! Hoping they will find their Mom, they decide to start looking at the Notre Dame cathedral to see the gargoyle on the front of Mom's postcard. Mira touched the gargoyle and was instantly transported to April 2, 1881. Confused and alone, she starts walking down the street and spots her Mom sitting at a sidewalk cafe. When Mira called out to her Mom, her Mom jumped into a waiting carriage and left, leaving Mira even more confused. 

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 4 1/2 out of 5 stars

    Even though this book is intended for teenagers, I found it quite entertaining. The author used art to set the scene and where better to be around famous artists but Paris, France. Not only are you going to read an entertaining book, you will also get a lesson in art and history. Little sketches are included in the book to help with your visualization. However, it s the moral of the story that is the most important and what children need to take away from this book - it is okay to stand up for what you believe in, even is the whole country is against you. You have to stand up for yourself and your values and what is right and wrong. Do not let the pressure of others keep you silent. There is so much to learn in this book.

    The book ended very abruptly. For an author it was the perfect place to stop because when it ended, all I wanted was more!

    Until next time, live life one page at a time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Ummmm

    I used to read the amerlia diary series. Is this book at all like it?...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1