BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mirror

Average Rating 5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very well done

    I have the original book and have read it so many times it is about to fall apart. The author clearly illustrates the problems of a modern woman learning to exist in an earlier time. She makes the past come alive. Then, the author skillfully places a woman from the past in modern times and addresses the question we have all had... I wonder what our grandparents would think if they could see things as they are now.
    I highly recommend it.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the timeline reads, reincarnation and time travel.

    Love the timeline reads, reincarnation and time travel.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Good past & present read

    I read this book about 30 years ago and just remembered it and just had to read it again. It is so good and gives such insight to past generations. Who hasn't wondered what it was like back in our grandparents days, I personally would love to visit back in time and with this book you do. Might be hard for some to keep up with the switching back and forth but it is worth the time to read it. I just ordered a copy of the book to keep so I can read when ever I want, except the print is small and very light. They need to make a dark large print so that I will be able to read it 20 years from now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    You won't put it down

    I read this book almost 32 years ago. It was a pick from my book club. I loved it so much I named my next daughter "Shay".

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Favorite Fictional Story of a Voracious Reader

    The Mirror has been at the top of my list since the first reading in 1978. I have lost count of how many times I have read it since. I never tire of the story of these two remarkable women. I have bought it as gifts and will recommend it to my grandaughters when they are old enough to read it. I only wish there were more stories in this vein, as well written and hard to put down. I LOVE IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    All time favorite

    This book has been my all time favorite for many years. I first read it in the early 70's and have re-read it many times since. It's a book that is very difficult to put down and I wish there had been a series of books referencing the mirror.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Campfire Story

    A few months ago I went camping with my wife and kids. As we sat around the campfire...my daughter asked for a story. My daugher is nine and my son is 7. I really couldn't think of any stories I really wanted to tell. I don't know what made me think of it...but...I thought of The Mirror. I read the book as a young teenager over 25 years ago. My mother and sisters had read it so eventually it made its way to me. My kids were absolutely mesmerized by the story. Each night after that they asked for more details. My memory isn't the greatest and many of the particulars of the story escaped me until I started telling it. It's amazing how much of the story I actually remembered. More recently my daughter has asked if I could find her the book and I'm very happy to see it's available online. I think I know what she's getting for Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Changing Places

    The Mirror is a clever story about two women- Shay and her grandmother Brandy- not only exchanging bodies thanks to an evil heirloom mirror- but time periods too. Shay finds herself in her grandmother's body in 1900, and Brandy in Shay's body in the future. How both women cope with their predicament is what makes the story interesting, as is the interspersed story of Rachel, Shay's mother and Brandy's daughter. The characters seem real, and the story moves forward in a logical fashion without confusing the reader. I would have given the novel five stars instead of four if the ending had been a little stronger and more definitive. Also try An Audience for Einstein, another very clever novel about personality transfer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2000

    Outstanding!!

    I first read this book in 1979 and absolutely loved it. Since then, I've picked it up several times, and have become totally engrossed in it all over again. You can't put it down. It makes you realize just how dramatic the changes have been in 100 years. I almost wish the book had continued on with the mirror's journey...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Back in the 1980's I checked this book out from the local librar

    Back in the 1980's I checked this book out from the local library and it made such an impression on me that I took my oldest daughter, then a teenager, back to get the book again and I couldn't believe my luck! Looking in a shelf of books for sale was the book! I snapped up the hardbook & paid my quarter! My daughter loved it too and I still reread it to this day, 30 + years later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    The best time twist novel ever.

    The cross of granddaugther to mother was fabulous. So many twists to the plot and the items of interest were wonderful.

    A must read. It has been one of my favorite books since the day I first read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Perfect for a Book Club. Entertaining and thought provoking.

    This book has been my favorite since I first read it in July of 1979. I still have my original copy, but I buy extras every chance I get so that I can loan them out without fear of losing them. The 20 year old grand-daughter trades places in time with her 20 year old grandmother. There are a few switch backs, but the majority of the time they live the other life before one climacteric event occurs. For the grandmother, a virginal and prim young lady, to live out the end of the 20th Century as a young woman; the expectations are shocking, frightening and extremely surprising. For the grand-daughter to survive in the early 1900's without the simplest niceties, like running water, electricity and birth control, there are life lessons none of us today will ever comprehend. Imagine meeting your ancestors long before they matured into the responsible adults you knew as a child. Thought provoking, while at the same time, just a real nice leisurly read. I highly recommend it to a group of girlfriends born in the 1950's or 1960's. Then imagine yourselves trading places with your grandmothers when you were both 20 years old. The conversation after reading this book is extraordinary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    great time travel story

    This is a really good time travel book. I like how it gives two different perspectives. That of the grandmother and the granddaughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    VERY WELL DONE

    This is a very interesting read involving a magical mirror that possess the power to not only allow the viewer to exchance himself with another, but the exchange is both person and place. The characters are well developed and real. I enjoyed the story and it's orignality. Really well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A terrific read

    I don't want to give away the book, but it involves a very mysterious mirror with the power to exchange people from one time to another. I read this years and years ago, lost my copy and searched like mad to find another. It's one of those you go back to from time to time. I love the way this woman writes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    An alltime favorite

    This is a book that grabs hold of you, you smile, you cry and you don't want the story to end. I borrowed this book from my mother in law and it took me 10 years to give it back! ( I finally bought my own copy )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    The Mystery of Time

    One of my all-time favorite time-travel books! Instead of getting bogged down in the technical, it makes you think about the aftermath of really moving through time. Great characterization!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Best READ ....Ever

    I first read The Miror many years ago and have always loved it. Now I want to buy it for my daughter, Julie since I would never lend it out not even to her..LOL!! She has read it and loves it. I'm getting it for her as one of her Christmas presents ..she loves to read and that makes me very happy. My sister read it but she had to get it at the library. I said ..sorry I don't lend it out. She also loved it. I have always wished it was made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    Loving it again and again

    This is a book read when I was younger and upon picking it up to read again found it to be just as good (if not better) than it was the first time. I just couldn't put it down and as a librarian I recommend it to other people who become fans as well. Thanks Marlys Millhiser!! Wish there was more like this one out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Incredible

    I read this book as a teenager and have never forgotten it. Finally found it again! I will never loan it out, it is a keeper!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3