Customer Reviews for

Mirror Maze - Book III of the Janek Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Follow Up

Janek does it again. There is no mention in this book of his girlfriend from the previous book. So he starts over with a new friend. I did not like the ending of this book, but I guess it leaves an opening for another follow up.

posted by SpyderRyder on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

After being introduced to the Frank Janek character ...

After being drawn to & invested in the Frank Janek character by "Switch" & "Wallflower", I have to admit I was disappointed by "Mirror Maze". It seemed overly long & tedious in places, mainly because it indulged in psychotherapy that felt beyond even Janek's keen instin...
After being drawn to & invested in the Frank Janek character by "Switch" & "Wallflower", I have to admit I was disappointed by "Mirror Maze". It seemed overly long & tedious in places, mainly because it indulged in psychotherapy that felt beyond even Janek's keen instincts. Although I felt the same empathy for the Gelsey character that was felt by Janek, the bond they developed felt uncomfortably wierd & out of character for both of them.

I did especially like the ending. It ended the only way it could for poor tortured Gelsey. For Janek, the ending had a plot twist that (for me at least) seemed to invite a final case for Janek as he continues to use his intuitive detective talents as he works the streets again. I read for the 3rd time in the Q&A that there is little chance that will happen. but I'll keep hoping W.B. will somehow change his mind.

posted by 9798329 on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    After being introduced to the Frank Janek character ...

    After being drawn to & invested in the Frank Janek character by "Switch" & "Wallflower", I have to admit I was disappointed by "Mirror Maze". It seemed overly long & tedious in places, mainly because it indulged in psychotherapy that felt beyond even Janek's keen instincts. Although I felt the same empathy for the Gelsey character that was felt by Janek, the bond they developed felt uncomfortably wierd & out of character for both of them.

    I did especially like the ending. It ended the only way it could for poor tortured Gelsey. For Janek, the ending had a plot twist that (for me at least) seemed to invite a final case for Janek as he continues to use his intuitive detective talents as he works the streets again. I read for the 3rd time in the Q&A that there is little chance that will happen. but I'll keep hoping W.B. will somehow change his mind.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Olive

    *she sneaks up behind codys captur and pressure points him five ties. Then he lays unconsiouc on the ground. She picks up cody and carries him to spyland result 3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Jones

    Ridea back to hq

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    TO LATE HES IN THE JAIL RESULT 11

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Great Book

    This was a great book. I know I will read more from this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read - Will keep you guessing!

    Not a book to read if you are looking for a quick no brainer to just veg with but if you like an excellent story line in a "whodunit" that keeps you guessing and really engages your brain while also bringing emotions to the forefront, this is the book for you. First one of the Janek series I have read but won't be the last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Follow Up

    Janek does it again. There is no mention in this book of his girlfriend from the previous book. So he starts over with a new friend. I did not like the ending of this book, but I guess it leaves an opening for another follow up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Go for it.

    Fast paced, psychological, good for discussion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    I loved this one

    The intricate nature of a labyrinth has always fascinated me. Bayer can write stories that I will read anytime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Different but def worth reading!

    This author def has a very different way of writing detective stories which is refreshing. I thought this book was so interesting; it keeps you on the edge of your seat psychologically, which is so different than the action books that are more prevalent. I like that there are 2 very different parallel investigations going on at the same time. Its not a thriller like most detective fiction books but it still pulls you in & has you racing to the end to find out how it all comes together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Mirror maze

    Excellent read. Double mysteries to solve and kept the pages turning quickly. Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    A salute and a well done to the author...

    Excellent read. To my mind, the best of the Janek triology.

    J M Lydon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Holly

    Swoops over the wall and grabs her weapon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Sudenly a whiring soud it the dart winding up to shoot there poison

    Theres knifes to

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1