BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mirror Mirror

Average Rating 3.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

another outstanding unusual story

Mr. Maguire has done another outstanding job with an old classic. This is truly another way to look at fairy tales, and one that will make you think. Well done!!!!

posted by 1285095 on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

didn't like it, but I don't like Gregory McGuire, so...

I did not enjoy <i>Mirror, Mirror</i>, which was a book club suggestion rather than a personal choice. I had read <i>Wicked</i> and not liked it much- the writing style seemed oddly impersonal and the tone did not work for me. McGuire seemed to...
I did not enjoy <i>Mirror, Mirror</i>, which was a book club suggestion rather than a personal choice. I had read <i>Wicked</i> and not liked it much- the writing style seemed oddly impersonal and the tone did not work for me. McGuire seemed to be going for a balance between the cold pragmatism and cynicism of the Wicked Witch and the delightful, magical feel we associate with the Land of Oz. Despite liking the musical, the book left me cold. Because of that I was not looking forward to reading another book by the same author.

In a retelling of a well-known story the author must be extremely strong on points such characterization in order to compensate for the lack of surprises in the plot. In <i>Mirror, Mirror</i> McGuire tried to achieve this by mixing the Snow White story with the mythologized history of the Borgia family. An interesting concept, but ultimately too similar to <i>Wicked</i> in its faults. The characters seemed to be flimsy and one dimensional. Despite the apparent purposefulness of this choice with regard to the dwarfs, it felt like sloppy writing. The details of Lucrezia's possible incestuous relationship with her brother felt like salacious gossip rather than useful addition to the plot.

The ending was also disappointing. The worst part of Snow White is that she runs off with her prince despite hardly knowing him- and even worse, the reader doesn't know him either. <i>Mirror, Mirror</i> repeats this, despite having the opportunity to introduce a prince of an entirely different nature or a relationship that comes out differently from our princess and her prince in Disney and Grimm's.

Basically, if you liked <i>Wicked,</i> you might like this. I'd call it a toss up. If you love Snow White stories, go for it. If you didn't like <i>Wicked</i> or haven't read anything by McGuire, I wouldn't bother. You're not missing much.

posted by 735488 on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Good use of reading time allotted for fiction

    Enjoyable read. Nothing heavy, just a nice trip to take for a few days of relaxed reading. Have enjoyed several other of Maguire's books and would recommend them; his creativity brings the story alive. A little sorry when it ended, which is a sign of good storytelling. This kind of reading is reminiscent of the hours of fiction reading I enjoyed in my youth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    Book was strange

    If you want a twist of the story of snow white you shouldn't read this book. This book barely has any resemblance to snow white and some of the writing was weird. If you are expecting a book like wicked it is nothing like that. Most of the book was boring and didn't really start relating to snow white until the middle. The ending wasn't all that great either. You can buy this book if you want to but I wounldn't recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    :(

    i really tryed to read this. iv loved Wicked and Son Of A Witch, but i just couldn't get through this. i was awfull. very painfull.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought Mirror Mirror was good in some parts but then it was very slow in places. I wouldn't call it the best book there is. But it was okay. Thats all I have to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Poison apples, to go

    After a somewhat slow beginning, Maguire's retelling of the Snow White story takes off. The quest for Eve's apples gives the reader a rare taste of original sin, delivered in the disturbing form of a familiar fairy tale. This well-written novel reminds us of the pre-Germanic origins of the Grimms' tales, and despite its abrupt ending, worth every minute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Waiting for the climax

    The book is well-written, but leaves something to be desired. It's a fast read, but once you're done, you wonder if you could have spent your time better reading something else. It's just shy of having the spark that grabs you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Gorgeously written.

    Gregory Maguire is not limited to retelling fairy tales. He makes them his own, and if you're not a fan of serious literature, sometimes political, sometimes mystical, you'll find yourself a little lost. Mirror Mirror is so descriptive you can feel the Tuscan sun while reading this book. His characterization is flawless. The self-sufficient Borgias, the heartbreakingly real innocence of Bianca, the desperation of Vincente--this is not a fairy tale. This is art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    Beautifully written but...

    Mirror Mirror is a dark retelling of Snow White. It is sophisticatedly written. The beginning is a treat, painting the simple life of young Bianca. The middle part dragged on, though, and the book ended in such an abrupt manner ¿ as if the author couldn¿t decide how to end it and simply finished it in haste. I expected to read about Bianca¿s life afterwards, even just a summary, given that the author put so much detail during her youth and during her times of tribulations. I recognize that this may really be the style of a bleak fairy tale but it leads one to anticipate a more satisfying ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Interesting but confusing at times...

    This book was very creative and it made me look at the whole story of Snow White in a different way. However, it was very confusing at times especially the parts about the dwarves and the poems randomly placed throughout the book. Although these were confusing, I think that that was sort of the point of this book in that one has to discover their own meaning to these vague references and imagery, which isn't bad because it really makes the reader think. Overall, this was a worthwhile read, at least for anyone with an imagination and a willingness to use their brain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    a great book to start the summer

    This book was a great book to start the summer with! I thought that the book was not so slow in the begining.This is one of Gregory Maguire's best book's he wrote. I definetly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    NICE

    I liked the book. But honestly, after reading Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister, I expected a bit more from this one. The beginning is slow, but after a while (when Vicente finally returns home) the story gets interesting. I think that the end is disappointing. I didn't expect Bianca to be rescued by a charming prince,...but not even by a hunter who initially wanted to kill her! Over all it's a good book to read. It's always fascinating to read an alternative version of a well-known fairytale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    It was very entertaining

    I really enjoyed this book after I found out where it was going. I had to laugh at some of the parts. That poor girl had a tough time of it but in the end......well you will just have to read it to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    OKAY

    GOOD BUT SOMETIMES CONFUSING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    Wonderful, but it could have been better

    Mirror Mirror is a very good book, but I agree that it seems that Maguire cut a lot more than he should have. It seems that sometimes he doesn't explain things as well as he should, or leaves them a mystery. But overall, I found Mirror Mirror to be a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    I liked it.

    True, it is not his best work (Wicked definitely is) but it was still a good book worthy of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    A most magical novel!

    Mirror Mirror is a novel to be taken into serious consideration. I have read the reviews here of readers from far and beyond our country, nonetheless, I decided to give Maguire a shot. At first the story is a little lacking of plot and of some residing action, but as the climax rises, and the conflicts begin to take place, this easily fascinates readers of any age. I became hooked on this novel and simply couldn't put it down, under an sircumstance. As a young child, the mysterious yet rather enchanting story of Snow White has always captivated me, and now to see how everything happens, and why it did fills me with joy. Maguire seems to tie the knots beautifully, and it all fits in to the classical tale of Snow White. Beautiful work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    He does it AGAIN

    This was an amazing depiction of the Snow White fairy-tale. He expresses himself in such a fanatical manor (as always)! Behind the story itself, the reader (if s/he wills) picks up on many insightful views and opinions on people¿s life challenges. How we choose to perceive the world around us, and how we choose to deal with them. Overall, this was a great read, and very easy to become part of Maguire¿s world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    Disappointing

    What's good: the idea, what's bad: The underdeveloped characters and weak plot. It reads as though Maguire cut out 200 pages of storyline. Loved Wicked and look forward to Confessions, but this novel is disappointing - had I read it first I would not read anymore of this author's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Good, but not great.

    After thoroughly enjoying both Wicked and Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister, I started this book with the highest expectations only to be somewhat dissapointed. It lacked the flow and prose of the other two books. Not all bad, though rather sluggish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    The New Snow White

    This book was enjoyable, but not the author's best. A beautifully written novel, weaving history, christian mythology, and a simple child's fairy tale together. Though, the supposed heroine was a little flaky, and Lady Borgia incredibly demented and twisted. All and all it was an interesting, albeit bewildering novel. This book is more like an acquired taste. Read it, maybe you'll like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8