Customer Reviews for

Mirror, Mirror

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good

Like all of them but the second story. Great read.

posted by 2396964 on September 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed JD Robb¿s version of Hansel and Gretel.  I can¿

I really enjoyed JD Robb’s version of Hansel and Gretel.  I can’t say the same for the rest of the stories. 

posted by SJMusk on September 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Good

    Like all of them but the second story. Great read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mirror, Mirror is a fun, fairy tale based anthology with a moder

    Mirror, Mirror is a fun, fairy tale based anthology with a modern twist. Each of the authors have a unique writing style, and put together, these five tales will enchant you!

    Recommended for romance readers who like a little magic in their tales!!


    Taken in Death by J. D. Robb
    In Taken in Death by JD Robb, Henry and Gala are kipnapped but the evil witch...but Henry has a plan to have the good witch save them...if she can find them in time. The good witch is Eve, who will have to use all her resources as they race against time to find Henry and Gala before it's too late.
    I loved J.C. Robb's take on the fairy tale Hansel and Gretel! JD Robb mixes fairy tale with Eve and Roarke's modern life and really brings it alive. Taken in Death is a fast paced fairy tale novella that will draw you in, hoping Henry and Gala can be saved from the evil witch. As always I loved Eve, she is so strong and independent with that underlying sensitivity that she tries to hide even from herself. I felt like the length of the novella was perfect for this tale, Eve and Roarke were just as strong as ever.

    If Wishes Were Horses by Mary Blayney
    In If Wishes were Horses by Mary Blayney, Martha has golden locks, a magic coin, and is trying every bed in the castle...not looking for perfection, but for the one that's just right for her. She never expected to be caught or misunderstood, just as she never expected to fall for Jack. Will Martha keep her sense of adventure after all is done and ride off with Jack to lands unknown?
    Mary gives us a fun historical novella with tones of Goldilocks with If Wishes Were Horses, with the lesson to be careful what you wish for! Well written and easy to stay interested in, making for a fun fairy tale!

    Beauty, Sleeping by Elaine Fox
    Beauty, Sleeping by Elaine Fox give us an intriguing modern day take on Sleeping Beauty when Michael Prince is cursed at birth and later on by an evil 'fairie' who sends him to an in between world...not dead, not alive, and no body. When Cassandra buys his old house and moves in, he knows she is important to him. But how? And what will it take to let him live again?
    Elaine Fox give us quite a twist on the traditional Sleeping Beauty tale. A little confusing at times, I felt that this novella could be very well written and read as a longer novel...there was so much more that could have been done with the story line. But Elaine manages to keep you reading and wondering how or even if things will ever work out for Cassandra and Michael.

    The Christmas Comet by Mary Kay McComas
    Is a sweet story about Natalie, who gives so much to everyone else there's nothing left for herself. She just might need saving herself, and her 'friend' Officer Miles might just be the one to do it, if Natalie and Miles can be honest about the attraction simmering between them. With wishes, hope, belief, and love Natalie might just have her own magical Christmas.
    I'm not familiar with what fairy tale this is based on, but it's a fun, sweet modern day fairy tale with a selfless heroine. I loved the combination of magic and (sometimes harsh) reality Mary Kay gives us in The Christmas Comet.

    Stroke of Midnight by R. C. Ryan
    R.C. Ryan's modern day Cinderella tale was my favorite!! Sydney has been belittled and demoralized by her evil stepmother for years...since her father died. Even though Sidney is living the life that makes her happy, her stepmother still manages to get under her skin. When the opportunity, thanks to her late father, presents itself for Sidney to take the trip to her father's homeland of Ireland they were always gonig to take together, she jumps at the chance. From Cullen, who she meets on the plane and is headed to the same place she is, to the comforting town and visions of castles, to the unique glass slipper, there is lots of romance and fairy tale in Stroke of Midnight. I really love how RC Ryan pulled this fairy tale together, made it modern but kept it so enchanting!
    Beside the magic and the new found love, R.C. Ryan's descriptives of Ireland will take you there and you will see the castles in your head!




     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    In Death fan

    Loved the jd robb book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Mirror Mirroe

    Enjoyed all the stories in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I liked it.

    My favorite one is J. D. Robb's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Not bad, but not what I expected

    Reading the description, I expected a full book, not a series of short stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1