Customer Reviews for

Misery

Average Rating 4.5
( 473 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another Epic Story

I can't type fast enough to explain why people should read this book. I made this account just to comment on Misery. First off, Annie is one crazy psycho chick..and Stehpen makes her seem so...real. I got chills reading about how she tormented Paul because it seemed lik...
I can't type fast enough to explain why people should read this book. I made this account just to comment on Misery. First off, Annie is one crazy psycho chick..and Stehpen makes her seem so...real. I got chills reading about how she tormented Paul because it seemed like Annie was right there with me with a sledgehammer in her hands or something. For those who would rather watch the movie first, it wouldn't affect their decision because they are both epicly rad...excuse my language. Misery is just...I can't eplain it. You'll just have to read it for yourself and decide if you want it or not because you've got the reciept; if you don't like it, take it back and don't waste your time writing a bad review about this faultless book...or Annie will find you.

posted by MyReviewsMatter on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pissed off

It really frosts my cupcake when the sample is comprised entirely of credits, acknowledgements and other data and has absolutely no story at all. I don't care when it was published and I can state with all sincerity that a rockin' dedication has never influenced my choi...
It really frosts my cupcake when the sample is comprised entirely of credits, acknowledgements and other data and has absolutely no story at all. I don't care when it was published and I can state with all sincerity that a rockin' dedication has never influenced my choice of reading material.

posted by Nonnietoo on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 1999

    CRAZED FAN KIDNAPS AUTHOR!!!

    The subject of the book Misery, is that if you write a book that every woman likes then they will become your fans and might even become obsessed with you and your work. That is what Misery is about, obsession. The author of this magnificent piece of work is none other than Stephen King, the publisher of this novel is , Viking Penguin Inc.. The appropiate age level for this book is at least 14 years of age. The reading level would be at least 9th grade students. The genre of the book, or what reading catogoryit would be in, is a horror novel. Stephen King used plot to connect events by using a substantial amount of suspense. To explain what I mean about this I will give you, the reader, a recited part of the book. A part of the book that had suspensein it was when Paul Sheldon finally found a way out of the room that he was trapped in, it was full of suspense because you didn't know if he was going to get out of the house until you turned the page and found out. The setting of this story was described in great detail from the clocks to the floor panels. The characters were not described as well as the setting was, but I eventualy got a mental picture of the characters by the way they act. The characters were real to the point that I could actualy go to New York and talk to Paul Sheldon, but that is of course my opinion others will have different fealings on that. I would rather like to meet Paul than meet Annie Wilkes, because she was a crazed lunatic. The first person would not describe the point of viewthat this story is trying to put accross; the third person narrative would be the best way to show the books point of view. I think that it was the best way to tell the story because it tells you what everybody else is doing instead of what just one person is doing, it lets you know that there are other characters in the story and you know what they are doing. If you are using first person then you are oblvious to what other characters are doing and you get only one persons point of view. I think that it would be interesting to see how it would turn out if it were told in a different point of view, lets say, in second person or maybe in third person omniciant. The theme of this story would most likely be 'BEWARE OF FANS THAT ARE BESET WITH YOUR ABILITY TO WRITE OR PLAY A SPORT.' I learned something that I hoped was not true, but it turned out to be true and it was 'If you are left alone for too long with noway of communicating to any one then you WILL become insane.' If it had any irony it was situational irony, because out of his bad experience, Paul ended up making a lot of money, because she made him write the book Misery's Return. In a way she made him a millionare. Another novel that would compare to this would be any other novel that Stephen King has written. The way he makes you turn the pages to see what happens next.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    Good book, needs proof reading in the eBook edition

    This is the first book I've read by Stephen King, and I loved it. I enjoyed the story so thoroughly I pressed on through the ridiculous amount of typographical errors I found in the eBook version I downloaded from B&N. I think this was likely due to the process of converting the book to an electronic edition, as most of the errors could be attributed to OCR inaccuracies, punctuation and numbers thrown in at random where scanning software mistook imperfections in the printed page for relevant data.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    WoW... Simply, WoW

    The story did seem to drag on in a couple of spots but it was not enough to turn me off. At one point of the story, I was physically gagging from King's description of Annie forcing Paul to take his pain killers with the bucket of dirty water. Nothing else in the book grossed me out as much as that one scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Never uninteresting.

    And so you have, Mr. King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    My review on the book

    Stephen King is one bizarre dude for writing this, but it was very good. Really intense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    This one is eerie! I kept wanting to scream at the man to fight

    This one is eerie! I kept wanting to scream at the man to fight back more and you should do this to get out. King sure does know how to keep you in suspense and really get you frustrated with the characters. Such a captivating read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Awesome!

    This is this first novel i have read by stephen king. Really great! You will stay on the edge of your seat to see what crazy Annie will do next to poor Paul Sheldon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Meh

    Slow to start but the ending is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Your Biggest Fan

    This book is probably better known as a movie but the cinema does not compare with the suspense filled writings of Stephen King.
    In this book Paul Sheldon, author of a series of bestselling novels has finally completed work that was past due. He jumps in car and head to the hills in a celebratory fashion.
    Unfortunately fate steps in and with an untimely set of circumstances he ends up in the hands of his ¿number one fan¿ an ex-nurse Annie Wilkes.
    She is willing to nurse him back to health but with one catch¿ that he changes the outcome of his latest work.
    So begins this give and take that ends up in a series of testing of the wills where Annie keeps him hostage until he finishes his work.
    A rather disturbing portrayal of what lengths a fan will go to in an attempt to get the right ending.
    Check out how Sheldon with a typewriter and a ream of paper rediscovers his inner voice and attempts to break from Annie and his own inner demons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Secretary of the Society of Insane Villains

    You can read and enjoy Misery for many reasons but among the most rewarding is the deliciously evil Annie Wilkes. King delineates her character so we feel she is as real any great member of the Society of Insane Villains: Fred Clegg (The Collector); Norman Bates (Psycho); Hannibal Lector (the series); Jack Torrance (another King nut, The Shining); and others. King hit upon two masterstrokes that make Annie fearsome and unforgettable. First is her wildly unstable personality; she can switch from nice to hellion in the space of an ill-considered intonation. Second is her special vocabulary of dirty birds, cockadoodies, and the like. Of course, she possesses most of the other endearing traits of a sociopath, paranoid, and schizophrenic, endearing from a purely literary sense. Among Steven King's best creations. If you like raving mad characters, also try I, KILLER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Good book not usually a fan but this was a great book

    Not usually a big stephen king fan but this book was great from start to finish movie was better though the book you can esally imagine sombody going nuts and doing that paul sheldon was the best character

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    this book was awsome

    i havnt seen the movie and wasnt planning on doin so... but after following the twist and turns that steven king wrote for me....im in love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbingly entertaining

    This book is not Stephen King's best body of work. That being said, don't get your hopes up for a mind-blowing adventure. If you watched the movie, the book has a few similarities. About 3/4 of the way through the book, it picks up and gets very suspenseful. All in all, this is an entertaining adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    This...

    ..was so much better than the movie. If you haven't seen the movie I recommend reading the book before watching the movie so you can use your imagination more. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Virgin until Now

    This was my first Stephen King. I thought this book was very captivating and drew you into the characters, made you care about each of them even aanie in a wierd way. Paul was one of the most 'real' characters I have witnessed in reading. Overall this book is very well and interestingly written, and smart. One complaint may be that the overly obvious attempts at DEEP PSYCHOLOGY. King made it believable but it was a little overdone about 75% through the book. VERY well done. worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Feeling of reality, Full of suspense

    When Paul Sheldon, a popular writer, gets in a car crash and ends up in obsessive Annie Wilkes' home, things go from bad to worse. Not only is Annie obsessive over 'taking care' of her newfound friend, she just doesn't want him to leave!! This book is 80% suspenseful, and 20% gory. A must have for a King Fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    Very good but not great...

    'Misery' is one of King's scarier novels, but I felt it never reached the completenes reached by 'The Shining,' or some of his other books. The story was themeless, and it comprises of only a plot and how it's carried out. It's definitely fun to read, but the ending left things to be desired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2004

    To live or to die?

    This is truly an amazing story that shook me to the core. King masterfully brings the readers to a new level of horrific experience with this story of a man imprisoned as a result of his own fame. I recommend this book to all fans of the psychological horror. Another book that comes close to such a horror is perhaps Simon Cleveland's 'Basenji Revelation'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    Another great novel by Stephen King

    Misery is a great read and comes highly recommended. It is also one of Mr. King's shorter works so it is easy to knock out in a week or two. The problems with this book a few but sometimes major. The psychoanalysis of Paul and Annie can be boring and the first 100 pages of psychobabble are hard to follow. The large sections taken out of 'Misery's Return' are also somewhat boring and hard to read with occasional missing letters/longhand. Other than those two things this is a great book for a fan of King or great way to introduce yourself to a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    The Most Psychotic Villian King Has Ever Created!

    Misery is the tale of author Paul Sheldon and his encounter with his self-proclaimed 'biggest fan', Annie Wilkes. One of the darkest and most unsettling stories King has ever written, it is a mostly tragic tale with a glimmer of hope at the end. The infamous 'hobbling' scene was toned down for theaters; the description in the novel will definitely shock you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6