Customer Reviews for

Misery

Average Rating 4.5
( 483 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(327)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another Epic Story

I can't type fast enough to explain why people should read this book. I made this account just to comment on Misery. First off, Annie is one crazy psycho chick..and Stehpen makes her seem so...real. I got chills reading about how she tormented Paul because it seemed lik...
I can't type fast enough to explain why people should read this book. I made this account just to comment on Misery. First off, Annie is one crazy psycho chick..and Stehpen makes her seem so...real. I got chills reading about how she tormented Paul because it seemed like Annie was right there with me with a sledgehammer in her hands or something. For those who would rather watch the movie first, it wouldn't affect their decision because they are both epicly rad...excuse my language. Misery is just...I can't eplain it. You'll just have to read it for yourself and decide if you want it or not because you've got the reciept; if you don't like it, take it back and don't waste your time writing a bad review about this faultless book...or Annie will find you.

posted by MyReviewsMatter on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Pissed off

It really frosts my cupcake when the sample is comprised entirely of credits, acknowledgements and other data and has absolutely no story at all. I don't care when it was published and I can state with all sincerity that a rockin' dedication has never influenced my choi...
It really frosts my cupcake when the sample is comprised entirely of credits, acknowledgements and other data and has absolutely no story at all. I don't care when it was published and I can state with all sincerity that a rockin' dedication has never influenced my choice of reading material.

posted by Nonnietoo on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 327 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Misery

    Great read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    For number 4 For # 4

    If you like this try the shining or IT.those ar my faves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    love it

    it's stephen king. it's awesome... the lady is CRAZY well written... so the movie not too long ago. after i read the book. even though the movie was good, it never compares to the book..... Misery is a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Forever creepy.....

    Stephen King is amazing....the only author, and i mean ONLY, to scare the socks right off me. When i read any of his works, i am constantly looking over my shoulder, and running back to bed when i get up during the night (with my nightlight on). :) Misery is another masterpiece, especially considering there are evil people in the world just like Annie Wilkes. And that just makes the fear more real.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    A book you will not want to put down You dont want to put it down

    A thrill from the very begining, King delivers. This was my first King novel. I just hope his other ones are this spectacular. This is a book you will not want to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    One of my favorites

    An intense situation with a crazy nurse. King develops it well and puts the wrath of Annie into you. A chiling climax and exciting book. Also on of the few King books that is not super natural

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Annie is such a great character...so well developed! Can't go wr

    Annie is such a great character...so well developed! Can't go wrong with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    <3

    I love stephen king. Hes a true artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the bit where Annie rescued Sheldon from his wrecked truck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Eva

    The s l u tty teenage she told her to come back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Amazing

    The movie was great! And the book was better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Great book!

    I read this a while back and would I read it again? Heck yes! It is amazing how King draws you in with the suspense of thr situation and what will happen next. Definitely pick it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    If you have seen the movie, still read the book. The book is muc

    If you have seen the movie, still read the book. The book is much more graphic than the movie, which I really enjoyed. A great tale of a insane fan, and a crippled author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    This book is one of my all-time favorites! I loved everything ab

    This book is one of my all-time favorites! I loved everything about the story. It is unique yet gripping. The characters are amazing and they fit so well into the storyline. If you love horror and suspense, this is a great read to immerse yourself into. I found it to be very different from the Stephen King books that I have read up until this point and I loved the simplicity of the plot and the fact that everything that happens to Paul and everything about the frightening Annie Wilkes are things that could happen in reality (although you would hope that they wouldn't happen!). It is incredibly well-written and it had me on the edge of my seat. I wanted to get to the end to find out what happens but at the same time I dreaded the thought of the story being over! Amazing book. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Perfect tragic novel

    This is a scary suspense novel that is about a writters time with a LUNITIC! This writting takes you into Paul Sheldon's "vivid"mind.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely terrifying

    Excellent book and an excellent movie too. This book is very scary and just reading it make the hairs on your back stand up. It's highly recommend if you're a Stephen King fan and a horror fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Awesome book by Stephen King!

    This being my fist Stephen King book I found it very appealing. In the first couple chapters it starts off great. Paul a man who is kept hostage in his favorite fans house. What he does for a living is write popular books called the 'Misery' series. Annie his favorite fan, finds him after he is in a car crash and nurses him back to health. After a couple days she reveals that he will never leave! And from that it takes off as a great story. The ending is really clever and spooky. Being me I think it is one of the best Stephen King books out there. Between time to time you'll get a jump from this. I totally would recommend this to people who love horror. This is such a thriller and this is a five-star book. Really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    H

    HORRIBLE! TERIFYING! And in other words, AWSOME!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Xjdj

    Stephen king at his best!! This was the first book i read by stephen king and it is pure perfection. The character paul sheldon could not fit this story line any better! Also annie's psychotic ways just make the story more terrifying. There is no part in this book that is unrealistic, just a pure horror story. This is agreat book that will keep you awake at night and give you nightmares if you read before sleep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 327 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 17