Customer Reviews for

Misery Bay (Alex McKnight Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The latest Alex McKnight Michigan investigative thriller is a great tale

Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan Police Chief Roy Maven visits retired Detroit cop Alex McKnight at the Glasgow Inn. Maven bites his tongue as he asks private investigator McKnight to help a friend, U.S. Marshal Charles "Raz" Razniewski. Raz is the father of a "suicide" vic...
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan Police Chief Roy Maven visits retired Detroit cop Alex McKnight at the Glasgow Inn. Maven bites his tongue as he asks private investigator McKnight to help a friend, U.S. Marshal Charles "Raz" Razniewski. Raz is the father of a "suicide" victim who took his life two months ago at Misery Bay overlooking Lake Superior. Apparently two other college students killed themselves at that same location too.

McKnight agrees to investigate although he does not hide his feelings that the dad sadly seeking a different closure explanation cannot accept his son hung himself. He changes his mind when Raz is murdered and soon afterward so are the fathers of the other "suicides". McKnight and Maven team up on the inquiry accompanied by FBI field agent Janet Long.

The latest Alex McKnight Michigan investigative thriller (see A Stolen Season) is a great tale with the twist from previous cases being the professional rivals forge a strong cooperative team. With a ruthless killer on the loose reminding McKnight of the bullet lodged near his heart in a frozen pristine Paradise, fans will relish the M&M (and Long) whodunit.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

$25.00 for a ebook what are they think?

Get the book at a discounter for a cheaper price. There is just no reason for this ebook to have such a high price, except greed.

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    $25.00 for a ebook what are they think?

    Get the book at a discounter for a cheaper price. There is just no reason for this ebook to have such a high price, except greed.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Alex McKnight Michigan investigative thriller is a great tale

    Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan Police Chief Roy Maven visits retired Detroit cop Alex McKnight at the Glasgow Inn. Maven bites his tongue as he asks private investigator McKnight to help a friend, U.S. Marshal Charles "Raz" Razniewski. Raz is the father of a "suicide" victim who took his life two months ago at Misery Bay overlooking Lake Superior. Apparently two other college students killed themselves at that same location too.

    McKnight agrees to investigate although he does not hide his feelings that the dad sadly seeking a different closure explanation cannot accept his son hung himself. He changes his mind when Raz is murdered and soon afterward so are the fathers of the other "suicides". McKnight and Maven team up on the inquiry accompanied by FBI field agent Janet Long.

    The latest Alex McKnight Michigan investigative thriller (see A Stolen Season) is a great tale with the twist from previous cases being the professional rivals forge a strong cooperative team. With a ruthless killer on the loose reminding McKnight of the bullet lodged near his heart in a frozen pristine Paradise, fans will relish the M&M (and Long) whodunit.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Ella

    Watched and cried

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    I am a shell

    This is a way to vent my misery. My story starts in kindergarten.
    Everyone had a DS. I wanted one too. I asked my parents and they said no. Me being the young boy I was cried a little and complained a little but then bottled it up. This was to be my downfall. For many years I have asked for things electronic. For many years I recieved a stern NO for every request. For years I grew a mask. For years I hid my true self. For years I grew weaker and weaker against this strange power. Now I am so fragile every time I hear the word No come from my parents mouth my heart breaks a little. All I ever wanted to do was to fit in. To be normal. Now I can be better. I can no longer be in this vicious cycle I must end it now. Soon I will not have to deal with my failures and my parents scolding, my sister's teasing and my heart aching. I will end it all now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great, as usual!

    I love the Alex McKnight series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    I love the Alex McKnight series. I picked up Misery Bay by acci

    I love the Alex McKnight series. I picked up Misery Bay by accident at the book store and I could not put it down. I have now read all the McKnight books and can't wait to read the next. Steve Hamilton is my new favorite author and I hope he continues this series. Alex mcKnight is a character worth getting to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    Good reading

    I only recently discovered this author, and I very much enjoy his works. I especially like the Alex McKnight series. I like the way we are in Alex' head during the entire story and can "see" everything as it happens. This story is fast moving and interesting, and as usual I was rooting for Alex to save the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Misery Bay

    The first page of the newest book by Steve Hamilton, which brings the welcome return of Alex McKnight, describes a scene wherein the body of a young man is found hanging from a tree branch at the edge of a bay in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. For those new to the series, McKnight is a former Detroit cop and current holder of a p.i. license, although he protests that he ‘doesn’t do that anymore’: He owns and rents out cabins to ‘the snowmobile people’ in season.

    Three months after that first-page event takes place, McKnight is approached by Roy Maven, Chief of Police in “the Soo” [Sault St. Marie], who asks for his help. This from a man whose relationship with McKnight could at best be described as ‘fraught’ – as the Chief says, ‘just call it a persistent lack of liking each other.” The dead boy’s father had been Maven’s partner on the police force, and Maven wants McKnight to investigate the circumstances that could have led to what appears to have been a suicide. Having suffered horrendous personal losses himself – his partner on the Detroit police force, the woman he loved – there is no way this particular man could refuse. In what is perhaps the unlikeliest of alliances, McKnight agrees.

    The place where the body was found is the eponymous Misery Bay, a fitting enough name for the site itself and for what happened there, and a five-hour drive away from McKnight’s home on Lake Superior, in a town called Paradise. McKnight once again periodically turns to his friend Leon Prudell, the once and perhaps future p.i., for his unerring ability to point him in the right direction. The investigation takes some unpredictable turns, as more lives are lost and more still endangered.

    The writing is wonderful – no surprise here. The long, long winter of Paradise is once again made palpable by the author: “The sun went down. The wind picked up and started howling and I knew the wind chill would be something like thirty below. Another beautiful April night in Paradise. . . [where] springtime felt like a fairy tale.” [And I loved that the author tips his hat to fellow mystery writers, both from NYC: Reed Coleman and Jim Fusilli, both police sergeants in this incarnation.]

    As dark as the story line is, there is just enough humor injected into the writing and, as usual for this author, it is a sheer pleasure to read, and highly recommended. [It should perhaps be noted that the next book in the series, “Die a Stranger,” will be published by Minotaur in July 2012.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    If you are from Michigan, this is the book to get!

    I first read an article in the newspaper reviewing this book. It intrigued me. I liked the fact that the towns, roads, lakes, etc. were actually the "real" thing. Knowing Michigan as I do I could relate to streets, cities & expressways and actually follow a "visual" path of where the characters were driving. VERY good story with an unexpected twist in the end. Well worth the reading! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Another good story!

    Really enjoy all the books about Alex and the UP of Michigan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Another top-notch

    The old adage "Do what you do best" applies here. Hamilton stays in the UP and presents another excellent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Love it

    I have loved this whole series and I truely hope it continues.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    A very good read

    Well written and a good story. Definitely recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Return to Paradise

    Steve Hamilton has returned to his Alex McKnight series after several years. The novel shifts the characters by teaming Alex with his nemesis Chief Roy Maven in a search for a killer of law enforcement officers. When we last saw McKnight (A Stolen Season) he had sunk deep in despair and tragedy. This novel begins his return to a life where hope is possible. The story is more thriller than mystery and the ending a bit out there but Hamilton keeps you interested in his protagonist, a man scarred by violence and tragedy.Few writers are better at writing terse prose that reminds you of Chandler, Hammett,and that other Michigan PI writer, Loren D. Estleman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2