Customer Reviews for

Misery Loves Company

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

     was also wary going in because it sounded like it was going to

     was also wary going in because it sounded like it was going to be along the lines of The Shack, and while I liked that particular book (REVIEW HERE) Christian suspense has never been my favorite genre.....so I went in this book planning on having to force myself to read it.....

    Ahem, but let me raise the right hand of wrongness and say that I could barely put it down! Christian fiction and suspense can be married into a gripping, yet not to gory book that doesn't feel contrived or forced! It wasn't preachy and it kept me guessing, which were a few of my beefs with previous Christian suspense books I'd read.

    All of the jumping around was a little hard to follow and the very beginning creeped me out and confused me a bit*, but other then that I thoroughly enjoyed the story and would recommend it to anyone enjoys suspense/mystery stories!

    *Spoilers............
    The beginning was explained further on in the book and cleared up my nagging questions and clarified A LOT the why of what was going on!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    Misery Loves Company was a well-crafted book! I loved the twists

    Misery Loves Company was a well-crafted book! I loved the twists and turns and surprises in the plot. I wasn’t sure for awhile what the book was even going to be about, but it ended up being a story of healing and friendship. This is a fun book for reading at the beach this summer! I highly recommend it! I may try reading some of the author’s other books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book in one afternoon. It was a great Christian susp

    I read this book in one afternoon. It was a great Christian suspense/mystery book. The characters and plot are interesting and unique. It is well written and held my attention from the beginning. Jules is a widow whose husband was a cop and died on a call. She lives mostly on the Internet through her blog. One day she goes to the grocery store and sees her favorite author. She wakes up at his remote mountain house. What follows next is not what you expect. There are several twists and turns. It is not scary though. Her favorite author discovered information about her husband's death she never suspected. Also present is her husband's old partner in the force Chris who feels responsible for her. He won't give up with trying to figure out what happened to her once her father who is a drunk convinced him she was missing. The conclusion is satisfying and breath taking. Recommended.


    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    Like Jules, the heroine of the story, I was totally bewildered b

    Like Jules, the heroine of the story, I was totally bewildered by what was happening to her and why. Like she wrote in her blog, she wasn’t being told to be terrified, she was terrified. I wondered whether this would end up as some sort of G-rated version of MISERY. The interplay between author and fan was interesting to see develop, and Chris was a great hero figure. The novel is packed with suspense, intrigue and a look at how our motivations and hang-ups can create their own misery for us. As dangerous secrets are revealed, the pace of the novel rushes to a satisfying end. The need for God’s mercy and peace is clearly presented. I recommend it for mystery fans who want a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    Rene Gutteridge's newest book, "Misery Loves Company",

    Rene Gutteridge's newest book, "Misery Loves Company", is a combination of possible murder, mystery, some humor, and most definitely love.




    Widow Juliet "Jules" Belleno is a writer whose primary contact with the outside world is through her blog. Since her police officer husband Jason's untimely death, she rarely leaves her home.  On a rare trip out to the grocery store, she unexpectedly sees her favorite author (who lives locally) - and her entire life takes a very unexpected turn.  We are not sure if the turn will eventually be a good one, or something that Jules and those who love her will regret deeply.




    Jason's partner, Chris Downey, was supposed to look after Jules.  In her grief, she pushed him away....but he has thought about her regularly.  Her disappearance sends him on a mission to find out not only her whereabouts but ultimately leads him to the truth about Jason's death, and it will be life changing.




    I truly enjoy Rene Gutteridge's style of writing.  She always mixes humor and unexpected situations in with her mystery, and will keep her readers guessing details even up until the end.  She provides a great ending for my personal tastes :) and I appreciate the conflict she created within Jules and author Patrick Reagan.  It is easy to recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Rene Gutteridge in her new book, ¿Misery Loves Company¿ publishe

    Rene Gutteridge in her new book, “Misery Loves Company” published by Tyndale House Publishers introduces us to Jules Belleno.




    From the Back Cover: Don’t tell me it’s terrifying. Terrify me.




    Filled with grief, Jules Belleno rarely leaves the house since her husband’s death while on duty as a police officer. Other than the reviews Jules writes on her blog, she has little contact with the outside world.




    But one day when she ventures out to the local grocery store, Jules bumps into a fellow customer . . . and recognizes him as her favorite author, Patrick Reagan. Jules gushes and thoroughly embarrasses herself before Regan graciously talks with her.




    And that’s the last thing she remembers—until she wakes up in a strange room with a splitting headache. She’s been kidnapped. And what she discovers will change everything she believed about her husband’s death . . . her career . . . and her faith.




    If someone were to kick you exceptionally hard in your shin then you might have a bone bruise. The bone doesn’t break or fracture but it does bruise. Now here is the interesting part, the outside skin will heal within two weeks, bone bruises take much much longer. My point is that the outside is healed but not the inside. That is the way with trauma. After a while we heal visually to others but on the inside we are walking wounded. That’s the way it is with both Jules and Patrick. Jules suffered trauma from the death of her husband and Patrick has his own traumas. Jules shrinks from the outside world while Patrick resorts to kidnapping. Jules really didn’t care much about life after the death of her husband but when her own life is at stake then she pushes aside her pain and feels the need to survive and live. “Misery Loves Company” is how you define exciting! “Misery Loves Company” is a thriller with all kinds of excitement and danger. Rene Gutteridge knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I enjoyed reading this book.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Packed with suspense, the story kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Packed with suspense, the story kept me on the edge of my seat. I couldn't put it down. I hope to visit the mountains of Maine and New Hampshire and to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Although some of the things that happened were a little unbeliev

    Although some of the things that happened were a little unbelievable, I found Misery Loves Company to be a fascinating book. Rene Gutteridge has a nice style of writing, and can hold the reader's attention. She did a good job of showing that our first impressions of people are not always correct.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    This book kept me guessing. Enjoyed the suspense.

    This book kept me guessing. Enjoyed the suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    The plot of this book was so implausible.  A famous author kidna

    The plot of this book was so implausible.  A famous author kidnapping a widow who he had been blog stalking for the last 2 years? Really?  Now, by the end of the book, I can understand what was going on and why he did that, but still, there seemed to be much better ways of going about this--ways that would have drawn less attention to himself and to Jules, the main character. But it's fiction and you can do anything you want with fiction so why am I fussing?  I would like to read another of Rene's books and see what that is like.  She definitely knows how to create great suspense.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    Great book about a blogger who is kidnapped by an author she has

    Great book about a blogger who is kidnapped by an author she has recently written a very negative review about. He takes her to his secret mountaintop lodge and slowly reveals secrets about himself and also some mysteries involving her. As time passes, it gets very suspenseful. Will he kill her? Will she be found? Can she escape him? What does he know about her?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    Misery Loves Company is slightly creepy and sometimes humorous.

    Misery Loves Company is slightly creepy and sometimes humorous. The book does give me a new perspective on writing book reviews and being more cautious. The concept of the book has got to be fiction, right? An author would not do that, right? The book kind of has the flavor of Stephen King’s Misery. I did enjoy reading it and is definitely an interesting read. I found the plot to be unique and refreshing. 
    Highly recommended. 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    If you liked Stephen King¿s movie/book Misery, then I think you¿

    If you liked Stephen King’s movie/book Misery, then I think you’ll like this.  It has some similarities (thriller, danger, writers, etc.) Quite a page-turner.

    It may seem strange to comment on the appearance and feel of this book, but its uniqueness deserves a mention. The large font is easy to read, I like the picture at the beginning of each chapter, and the cover is interesting and has a smooth texture.

    Don’t let the fact that it’s a faith-based book fool you into thinking it’s a light, feel-good book. It’s not. It’s a wonderfully fast-paced suspense story that deals with corruption, kidnapping, and murder (among other things.) There isn’t any foul language etc., but I feel the targeted reader base is the more mature reader.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy free from the Tyndale blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    I usually loathe modern fiction. This was excellent. I stick wi

    I usually loathe modern fiction. This was excellent.

    I stick with reading the classics - when I do venture out of that zone, I am usually disappointed with the fiction I read. This was wonderful. Not cheesy, not sentimental, not groan-inducing. An excellent story with excellent writing. I rarely give higher than 3 stars to a work, though sometimes books earn 4 stars. 5 stars are very rare in my book. Highly recommend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    What a fast paced, crazy, intriguing book, with twists and turns

    What a fast paced, crazy, intriguing book, with twists and turns all over the place! This book is extremely exciting and quick to read.
    Jules Belleno is a blogger who, since the death of her policeman husband, has rarely left her house. But, one day that she does, she is kidnapped by her favorite author. Unfortunately, she has just written a scathing review on her blog about his most recent book. And he has a lesson to teach her. He also knows some secrets – not only about her but also about the murder of her husband. Of course, in the meantime, her husband’s best friend is searching for her and uncovering secrets as well.
    Although this book is mostly a murder mystery, is also delves into heavier topics such as suicide, assisted suicide, depression, and alcoholism. But the characters are easy to get to know and follow. It does seem a little weird to review it though since that is what the main character did, which lead to a strange chain of events! I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    My initial reaction was "Wow, this has got to be the strang

    My initial reaction was "Wow, this has got to be the strangest book I ever read." But I found that I really enjoyed it. I could not wait to find out what happened next, and was surprised by some of the things that Jules and Chris find out in the course of the book. The ending was nice, but kind of predictable, although the rest of the story wasn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    I love a good mystery.  I don't like when I can figure the story

    I love a good mystery.  I don't like when I can figure the story line out before the story is even developed.  Gutteridge did a great job of developing two story lines that went on simultaneously.  I kept wondering what the purpose was for the characters actions; which was good.  Unpredictable and captivating.  She  was able to tie everything together and make sense of their actions.  Life is unpredictable.  The fictitious life of her characters was certainly unpredictable! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    To me, this book was the opposite scenario of the movie and book

    To me, this book was the opposite scenario of the movie and book by Stephen king called Misery. This time it was a blogger that wrote a bad review about an authors book and the author kidnapped her. While this is the main story, there are several side stories going along at the same time. This is our October book club book, and I am anxious to hear what the others think about it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    As part of the Tyndale Blog Network I got the opportunity to rev

    As part of the Tyndale Blog Network I got the opportunity to review Misery Loves Company by Rene Gutteridge. It is also one of the Tyndale Summer Reading Program books so it was a double whammy. Jules Belleno is mourning the death of her husband by keeping to herself and focusing on her blog. She is a creature of habit and doesn't stray much from it. Also highly organized she is very predictable. But what happens when one of her favorite authors does not take kindly to her recent bad review of his book. Did he just kidnap her because she wrote negative things about his latest novel or does he know something that could change her life forever?




    I had never read Rene Gutteridge before this but I would say she is a master of Christian suspense. She had me wondering what was going on from the very beginning. This book was intense and had so many twists and turns yet they were all believable. If you love suspense and a good mystery I highly recommend this book. Once summer is over I will definitely be getting me some more Rene Gutteridge. She has become one of my favorite authors.




    I received a free copy of this product from Tyndale Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    A Highly Recommended Creepy Read Jules Belleno is a reclusi


    A Highly Recommended Creepy Read




    Jules Belleno is a reclusive young widow who communicates with the world through her blog, primarily crafting book reviews. Occasionally, she walks to a grocery store. On one of these excursions, she disappears, kidnapped by her favorite author, Patrick Reagan. Apparently, Patrick hasn’t been pleased with recent reviews of his books.




    Police Officer Chris Downey was the best friend of Jules husband, a fellow officer murdered in the line of duty. Chris’s efforts to help Jules are rebuffed as she draws deeper into her shell.




    Egged on by Jules’ alcoholic father, Chris begins searching for her after her disappearance. Slowly, he uncovers clues she may have been taken and by equally reclusive author, Patrick Reagan.




    During Chris’ investigation, he uncovers information that there is corruption in his department. Corruption that may have directly contributed to the death of Jules’ husband.




    While Chris continues his search, putting his own career at risk to save the wife of his best friend, Jules is also on a journey and what she discovers about her abductor will change everything she believed about her husband’s death, her life, and her faith.




    This is one of the most exciting, keep-turning-pages books I’ve read in a long time. Rene Gutteridge has written a mystery thriller that sucks you in on page one and doesn’t let you go until the last sentence.




    The twist on Stephen King’s Misery is very clever and maintained throughout the story.




    Ms. Gutteridge does an awesome job of making Patrick Reagan just nice enough for the Stockholm Syndrome to be believable yet creepy enough that we never quite trust him. As the story unfolds, we do develop empathy for him and what drove him to such drastic action.




    Beneath Jules Belleno’s vulnerability is a strength of character I don’t think she knew she had. It is revealed as she battles with her abductor psychologically and emotionally. She grows throughout the story, overcoming the demons that have tormented her since her husband’s death.




    By the end of the story, all the clues the author has so cleverly planted come together in a very satisfactory ending, including final twists that are surprising but believable in the context of the story.




    A definite 5 star read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2