Customer Reviews for

Misguided Angel (Blue Bloods Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 750 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(415)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Captivating!

I started reading Blue Bloods last May and was instantly starstruck! Melissa De La Cruz has officially re-fashioned, No - Re-Molded the vampire myth, infusing it with drama,hope, scandal,tons of action and a streak of religion,enhancing the ordinary lives of her vampire...
I started reading Blue Bloods last May and was instantly starstruck! Melissa De La Cruz has officially re-fashioned, No - Re-Molded the vampire myth, infusing it with drama,hope, scandal,tons of action and a streak of religion,enhancing the ordinary lives of her vampires with her witty humor and captivating writing style. Blue Bloods series is a love story for people sick of romance,fitting in with standards and morales of todays culture (Well, it does take place in Manhattan....)complete with dreamy guys,popularity issues,social outcasts,new kids,money, and to top it all off, a killer diva in six-inch Christian Louboutin pumps.

posted by 3650628 on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Decent - Can Wait To Read

This book was written superbly. Alas, to me it felt like a filler book. You know the tv series show when they need an episode to just have. Thats what this book felt like to me. On the other hand. It was set up for the next book. :) To me the Blue Bloos Series has also ...
This book was written superbly. Alas, to me it felt like a filler book. You know the tv series show when they need an episode to just have. Thats what this book felt like to me. On the other hand. It was set up for the next book. :) To me the Blue Bloos Series has also been about Jack && Schyler. Only. This book didnt do them jusitce. At all. Mimi was a complete shock to me how she was developed in this book. && This New Character Deming... I still cant say but I Like Her! All I'm saying is that it didnt have enough romance for me.

posted by weasel66 on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sign of What is to Come

    This book was filled with interesting plot and character development. Although the general consensus was that the book was only okay, everything that took place in this one furthered the plot for the following book.
    I used to despise Mimi, but she is slowly changing my mind. I feel bad for Mimi at times. She is going through a terrible time and is handling it the best way she knows how and I admire her for that. My only wish for Mimi is that Kingsley emerges from hell relatively unharmed and she gives up on her obsession with killing Jack.
    I think everyone will agree with me when I say that we missed Sky & Jack moments in this book. My favorite moment for the couple was *SPOILER* when Sky was washing her clothes and Jack watched her and then that whole little scene afterwards was absolutely adorable.
    I could go on about these books forever but I will save you the agony. In short, I really enjoyed Misguided Angel. The mystery aspect was fantastic, the discovery of the demons: chilling, and the romance up & coming...We have a bonding to look forward to!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    I am starting with #5!

    I will go back and re-read the others. I love a good cliff and while at sit at the edge of this one waiting for the next novel, at least I have the preceding four to enjoy. This one was good and I recommend...

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    When I started reading this book it didn't really suck me in at first like all the others did. I couldn't really picture the scenes, but later when the action started to set in I could picture myself in the story, seeing what was happening first hand. Schuylar and Jack were amazing as always. When I got to Mimi's part I could really tell how much she has changed since the first book. She and Oliver were a great team. I don't like how Mimi wanted to get Jack back; she should have just let him and Schuylar be together. Then when the new character, Deming Chen, part came in I didn't get at first who was talking, It sort of confused me. I just love Deming. Her whole part was just awesome. I liked her character, she was smart and she analyzed every little thing that happened. I can't wait to read her part in the next book. Melissa De La Cruz has created some of the best characters and personality possible. One of the few things that I really didn't like about this book was the ending. Like all books it leaves you wanting to know more. I would recommend this book to people because it just changes the way you think of vampires. This book shows how a modern teen has to go through the life of a vampire. This book has a lot of gossip, scandals, action, and romance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the Series

    Big fan of the series, happy to see it all continue, I could not believe the cliffhanger, I can't wait for bloody valentine.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    What Will Happen????

    Young Schuyler Van Alen and Jack Force are running from Mimi and her wrath because (supposedly) Jack left her and ran off with Sky. But is that the real reason? Back in NY, Mimi- who has been promoted in the coven- faces the challenge of vampires being exposed. She has to team up with an unlikely force, no matter how much she doesn't like it, and maybe even they can't corner the source of the rumor. I would totally recommend it for ANY vamp fan. Hope u enjoy. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    A bit short, but action-packed!

    MISGUIDED ANGEL, by Melissa de la Cruz, is the fifth novel in the Blue Bloods series. This book is much shorter than the rest but still contains the same action and romance that makes this series one of my favorites.

    The setup of this book was three different sections (equaling three different point of views). The point of views highlighted were Schuyler, Mimi, and a new Venator vampire Deming. My favorite part of the story was Mimi. In The Van Alen Legacy I was beginning to warm up to Mimi after Kingsley and her started canoodling. In this book, an unlikely friendship starts between Mimi and the heart-broken Oliver. It was nice to still read about Oliver even though Schuyler was not present.

    An aspect of these books that I enjoy each time I read a new one is the different point of views. I really like getting into the heads of these dynamic characters and Melissa's writing always keeps me coming back for more.

    The only thing I disliked about this book was the length. The other books are usually upwards of 400 pages where this one did not reach 300. I wished it was longer! I sped through the pages and was left wanting more. But fans of this series will definitely like the continuation of their favorite characters lives in the midst of a war against the Silver Bloods.

    I am excited to read the next installment of the series, Lost in Time. And in February the novella, Bloody Valentine, is released for more (hot) Blue Bloods romance.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Good read

    I could not help but notice prior to writing my review that a lot reviewers are really obsessed with book length. I actually thought it wad sure I wanted more and yes a couple more chapters would be cool but it is what is and I thought it was actually really cool.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable but not as exciting

    Although I did enjoy Misguided Angel and the new characters it introduced, I thought there would be more to the story involving Schyler and Jack. I look forward to Bloody Valentine and the promise of their bonding. I hope to see Deming and her sister and the twin male Venators involved in alot of action catching these demons and maybe a little romance since true twins aren't bonded!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Certainly not the best of the series.

    I can't say that I didn't enjoy this book, it was defiantly worth reading, but this book felt incomplete. There weren't enough Schuyler and Jack moments and the book really didn't lead to any new events. The characters are still looking for the same thing and they are just as lost as they were in the ending of the last book. Even thought the book did have it's good moments, it could defiantly be worth reading. Don't be discouraged because it's still a nice read.:)

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I like all so far

    Another great read just 200 pages. I will buy more just making me wonder why such short stories by the time I read all will make one good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Am i the only one who finds the series slow at times?

    I just skim at parts when i feel that the author goes on and on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nice Series

    After inheriting the dark Van Alen Legacy, Schuyler fled to Florence with her forbidden love, Jack. Now the two of them must embark on the mission Schuyler was destined to complete: to find and protect the five remaining gates that guard the earth from Lucifer, lord of the Silver Bloods.

    Back in New York, Mimi has been elected Regent of a crumbling coven. Struggling with her heartache over the loss of Kingsley and with her overwhelming desire to destroy Jack, she must focus all of her energy on a perilous new threat. Vampires are being abducted and their captors are planning to burn them alive online…for all the world to see. Help arrives in the form of Deming Chen, a Venator from Shanghai, who must untangle the web of deceptions before the killers strike again.

    As the young vampires struggle for the survival of the coven, they uncover a deadly secret, a truth first discovered by Schuyler’s mother during the Renaissance but kept buried for centuries. And as the Blue Blood enclave weakens yet further, fate leads Schuyler to a terrible choice that will ultimately map the destiny of her heart.

    I had another long ride home last week for Thanksgiving and listened to the audio-book version of Misguided Angel during the drive. I was excited to catch up with Schuyler & Jack, but I was surprised to enjoy the interactions between Oliver and Mimi even more. Mimi came out of her glamor shell to step up into her new role of elected Regent quite well (even though her vamp society is crumbling around her; it was nice to see the inter-workings of her group) and it was bitter-sweet to see her and Oliver lean on each other while in their heart-broken state. Almost foreshadowing to something "more" in the future of the series . . . IF she doesn't find a way to bring Kingsley back.

    I was a little lost about 1/3 into the story since the reader is closely following Jack & Schuyler's mission in pursuing her Grandfather Lawrence's study of the guards & gates of Hell . . . and then the story cuts to Mimi, back in New York, with new characters joining in to discover the truth behind the missing vampires. It was like two major stories going on at the same time, which did eventually intertwine in the end, but threw me out of the loop for a bit. Overall, I highly enjoyed getting back into the Upper East-Side richy high school scene again after the last couple of books had us traveling the world and dealing with family deaths & disappearances.

    Likes: I cracked up listening to the audio book voice actor doing a human conduit's voice (Jemma) . . . since it sounds IDENTICAL to a friend of mine! Too Fun!

    Dislikes: I just wish we would have gotten more of one story instead of having it split into two.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    great series

    Very different and exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Awesome continuation of the series!

    I love this series, and this book definitely keeps you on your toes. There are some surprising things revealed, and it just makes you want to read #6 as fast as you can. If you loved the previous books, you'll love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Must read!!!

    Love, love, love this series!!! Once I start I can't stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great read

    what can i say about this definitely not my favorite but it did have some great twist in it. Ont thing I didn't like was that it did not have BLiss in it Bliss was one of my favorite characters. I also love the fact how I hated Mimi the first three books and coming to this book and the previous one I actually enjoy about reading about her and enjoy her story more then the rest. I also loved the part of the story with Deming in it she is a interesting new character and i hope to hear from her more and the next book as well as the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    I aabsoulutly love these books if your a vampire fan you should there addictive once you start you can stop. You feel as if your a part of it as if you know the characters reand how they feel cause its so detailed. If you havent read them you must but start from the begining or youll be lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Love it

    However i missed bliss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Wondering

    How many pages does this book have??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Misguide+angel

    Love+it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9