BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Miss Buncle Married

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okay story

Although I liked the first book in the series more, this was a cute little story.

posted by 3401470 on March 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous 4/15/13

I really enjoyed Miss Buncle's Book and was looking forward to another great read by D. E. Stevenson. However, Miss Buncle Married was slow-paced, contrived and lacked the characterization of Stevenson's first story. Sorry to say, it never came up to the same level as...
I really enjoyed Miss Buncle's Book and was looking forward to another great read by D. E. Stevenson. However, Miss Buncle Married was slow-paced, contrived and lacked the characterization of Stevenson's first story. Sorry to say, it never came up to the same level as the first book.

posted by 10109367 on April 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Just as good as the first

    This wonderful book is just as good as the first in the series. Delightful characters, charming English village life, vivid descriptions and even a mystery. Perfect.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Anonymous 4/15/13

    I really enjoyed Miss Buncle's Book and was looking forward to another great read by D. E. Stevenson. However, Miss Buncle Married was slow-paced, contrived and lacked the characterization of Stevenson's first story. Sorry to say, it never came up to the same level as the first book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Okay story

    Although I liked the first book in the series more, this was a cute little story.


    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    I have to agree with the reviewer of November 16, 2013, this book is just as good as the first one.

    I have to agree with the reviewer of November 13, 2013, this book was just as good as the first one. It was published in 1934, yet it does not seem dated, perhaps because it is set in England. How extrardinary to have each house or building named. I find this delightful. This book cost $1.99, is 260 pages long, perfectly edited, funny and contains no violence, murder, drugs, cursing, sex or other adult themes. There is an iota of church attendence. I loved the introduction of the woderfully obnoxious Marvell children, they reminded me of my two brothers and myself, we were a bit of the wild ones and took great delight in being so. It was our way of surviving in a very dysfunctional family situation, just like it is for the Marvells. The next book is "THE TWO MRS. MARVELS", I am looking forward to reading this novel, stepping back into a time, more innocent and fresh, then what I see everyday. I would have rated this book five stars, but some events were just a little too sappy and unbelievable. For readers 16 and up, more chick lit then anything else, not a mystery, romance, paranormal, suspense or thriller. This is just a nice clean, friendly, humourous read. It is a breath of fresh air.

    AD

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Better Than Miss Buncle's Book

    While I found Miss Buncle's Book charming, Miss Buncle Married is better.

    Stevenson develops Barbara Buncle in this book. There were times during the first book when I wondered if I really liked Barabara Buncle. I wanted to like her and knew that I was supposed to but her character wasn't developed enough to know much about her. Was she more than a simple creature, thought of as rather vanilla, by her friends and neighbors? I hoped so. Her character blossoms in this book and it's a pleasure to read.

    I gave it four stars because a chapter or two became tedious at times, but overall a great read.

    I pre-ordered The Two Mrs. Abbotts (due out on Nook on Jan. 7) but I may take a short break from Miss Buncle and read something else first. I'm starting to say things like "I think it's frightfully decent" and "that's rot" and people are starting to look at me funny so I'd better come back to 2014 with my next read...:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Not as good as the first

    I liked this book, but it kind of showed its age, and felt like she was forced to write this because of the sucess of the first book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    I thought this book was a great sequel to Miss Buncle's Book. Li

    I thought this book was a great sequel to Miss Buncle's Book. Like another reviewer I was happy to see the character of Miss Buncle/Mrs. Abbott developed more because while I enjoyed the first book I walked away not entirely sure that I actually like the main character. On the other hand I was a little disappointed that Miss Buncle did not develop more as a writer this time around, I was really hoping that she would use her new found imagination to write a book that was more fiction than fact. When I finished reading this book I found myself a little disappointed that it had ended without wholly resolving some minor issues. While the plot was very different from what I thought it would be overall this novel was enjoyable and I would recommend it to those who enjoyed the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Charming, if not particularly gripping

    A charming read, like its predecessor, although not very memorable. The characters are sweetly amusing and everything falls neatly into place. While it wasn't particularly gripping a read, I'd like to read the final book in the Miss Buncle series when I'm in need of something light, amusing, and bubbly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Marvelous

    Such a sweet, darling story.

    Even better than Miss Buncle's Book, which I adored.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Interesting, but not as good as the first book

    Some interesting moments, but the story line is pretty weak and the characters are not as well-defined as in Miss Buncle's Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Excellent!

    This is just as well written as the first book. The characters are even more lovable and Barbara is smashing as a wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    Another great read from this author. So nice to see church ment

    Another great read from this author. So nice to see church mentioned again. Loved the dialogue and the great characters. Again, the cover art was a treat. On the the "Two Mrs Abbotts"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Perfect

    Fun characters cute story that keeps you hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Sequels are never as good

    Pleasant but a bit saccarine and overtly sexist even in the context of the time it was written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Excellent Read

    First read Miss Buncle's Book and loved it. Didn't realize it was written in the 1930's. Was a delightful read and couldn't wait to read more about Miss Buncle Married. Another fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Recommended Reading

    This book is as delightful as the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    enjoyable

    the way of writing is done in a different era and different style that is quite fun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Oh

    Mkk......idk who they r so....byw

    0 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Decative

    Could u ask people?

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2