BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Miss Buncle's Book

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Written in the 1930¿s when neighborhood gossip was the social me

Written in the 1930’s when neighborhood gossip was the social media, Miss Buncle’s Book tells the story of the village of Silverstream after spinster Barbara Buncle writes a novel about the town and its residents. Though, she uses a pen name and different names for the ...
Written in the 1930’s when neighborhood gossip was the social media, Miss Buncle’s Book tells the story of the village of Silverstream after spinster Barbara Buncle writes a novel about the town and its residents. Though, she uses a pen name and different names for the village and its residents, her neighbors are able to see themselves in her work, and for the most part they don’t like what they see. This is a witty, old-fashioned story about human nature.

Reviews of this book described it as “cozy” so I was hoping for something in the vein of Alexander McCall Smith or Miss Read. It wasn’t cozy in that way – it didn’t make me want to stop and smell flowers or enjoy a sunset the way their works do, but Miss Buncle’s Book was a good story told simply. I enjoyed reading about the clothing and manners of the time, though am glad I don’t live in a village like Silverstream where my every action is a source of gossip and judgment. I am glad I met Miss Buncle and do plan to read this story’s sequel. Recommended for fans of Jane Austen and Persophone Classics.

posted by An_Arkansas_Reader on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Not free

Check always, even on "free friday"

posted by kat6364 on December 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    Written in the 1930¿s when neighborhood gossip was the social me

    Written in the 1930’s when neighborhood gossip was the social media, Miss Buncle’s Book tells the story of the village of Silverstream after spinster Barbara Buncle writes a novel about the town and its residents. Though, she uses a pen name and different names for the village and its residents, her neighbors are able to see themselves in her work, and for the most part they don’t like what they see. This is a witty, old-fashioned story about human nature.

    Reviews of this book described it as “cozy” so I was hoping for something in the vein of Alexander McCall Smith or Miss Read. It wasn’t cozy in that way – it didn’t make me want to stop and smell flowers or enjoy a sunset the way their works do, but Miss Buncle’s Book was a good story told simply. I enjoyed reading about the clothing and manners of the time, though am glad I don’t live in a village like Silverstream where my every action is a source of gossip and judgment. I am glad I met Miss Buncle and do plan to read this story’s sequel. Recommended for fans of Jane Austen and Persophone Classics.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    What a truly entertaining book!

    I truly enjoyed reading this book; in fact, I've stayed up reading way into the "wee hours" because I couldn't sleep until I found out how it turned out. Now to read the other book in the series.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I have loved D E Stevenson’s books for decades. I love Miss Buncle’s book, it is a gentle read that grabs

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    the cover caught my attention so when i read the back, i decided

    the cover caught my attention so when i read the back, i decided i had to buy this book! a later found out it was written in the 1930s and i am so happy it has recently been reissued for its a simply charming book!! i have lost sleep because i couldnt put it down

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Charming and intriguing

    This wonderful book was a pleasure to read and I have a new author to add to my library. Beautifully written, charming, and funny, Miss Buncle and her village are perfect company.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    charming

    charming story, quick read

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    Have enjoyed Ms Stevens books for years, but have never heard of the Miss Buncle series. I love the first one and looking forward to the next one soon. If you like gentle English genre stories, this one is for your library.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    242 pages

    I do not usually like books which were published a long time ago. This free Friday offering was published in 1934. It is 242 pages long. It starts off a little slow and is very tame by today's standards. Reading this book was like entering a whole other world. It was a time more innocent then the one we now experience. Yet it was also a time when money was scarce and everyone is caught up in themselves, just like today. I did not think I would enjoy this book at all, but I liked it very much. It was perfectly edited. The characters were a real hoot. It was funny and charming. In some places it was laugh out loud funny. There was no violence, cursing, or adult themes. There was a mention of Religion. It is set in England and the author has the servants speaking in English brogue. This is chick lit. I would recommend it for readers 16 and up, but I really think only the older generations will enjoy this book.

    AD

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Juvenile

    The writing meanders in a boring sort of way and seems to serve the sole purpose of being a space filler. I did not get very far.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Not free

    Check always, even on "free friday"

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Wonderful period piece

    Written in the 1930's, this delightful book is full of fun and laughter. It can transport the reader to a different time and place, and if you have never before read the works of D. E. Stevenson, introduce you to an author to love. I have read Stevenson's works for many years, and Miss Buncle's Book is one of her best and funniest.

    Miss Buncle, living in the small village of Silverstream, is short of money. Gentlewomen in that time and place didn't work outside the home, so to raise money she writes a book. And, she uses her neighbors and village as inspiration. When the book is published and becomes a best seller, the villagers recognize themselves and are determined to find and punish the author. Much laughter ensues as complications abound, and all is resolved in the final chapter.

    Once you have read this book, you will want to move on to the next two in the series, Miss Buncle Married and The Two Mrs. Abbotts. I am so delighted that this series is now available in eBook format and the delightful paperbacks from Sourcebooks. May they publish many more books by D. E. Stevenson.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    This is gold

    The way that the charachters imitate themselves makes you want to scream for the irony. Love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Minus stars

    Cant understand all the glowing reviews. This was the worst so called book i have ever attempted to read. I could only get to page 21 before i gave up from sheer boredom. It was awful. This was what was offered to us for free friday? Another loser. It does not even deserve the one star i was forced to give it to give this review. I would not recommend this loser of a book to line my cats litter box.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Cute and Timeless

    I didn't know anything about Stevenson and as I read couldn't place it in history. Just as Miss Buncle writes stories about the people in her village, Stevenson may have been used real people as his stereotypes for this novel. The dialogues is witty and the stories invite you in. Two things kept it from being a 5. One, Miss Buncle's character was not as drawn out as I would have liked. I wanted to know more about her. Second, sometimes the author repeated dialogue. Perhaps that is how people spoke in Great Britain during that era and I don't have enough background knowledge. However, I truly enjoyed the story and looked forward to each reading session to see what would happen next. I'll read more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Dear Miss Buncle

    i did enjoy this book. bought the next one and enjoyed it too. Like a period piece but human nature remains the same. glad i read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Charming and enjoyable!

    I highly recommend this book. It is charming, sweet and gentle and a joy to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    If you like watching Downton Abbey, you will enjoy this book! I

    If you like watching Downton Abbey, you will enjoy this book! I admit, it was a little hard to get into the book in the first few chapter. The author took some time establishing the characters who later intertwine and all play out well in the end. However, once I got everyone's name/role straight, the book was quite charming, enjoyable and smartly written. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Very very good story jmm44

    Wonderful book about an author who writes her first book under a pseudonym --BUT---the whole town is incensed to find the characters drawn from her own friends & neighbors but they aren't "quite"?? CERTAIN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Entertaining

    There are a few flaws that are easily overlooked as you read. It is a reminder that while the era this was written in was different, it is very much the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    A story within a story!

    This was a fun light-hearted read. Barbara Buncle decides that she can write a book, so she starts righting about her sleepy English village & its residents. This is from 1934, but I originally thought it was more current. The character development is rich and the characters are brought to life. It has some funny points, but as a whole, it's more amusing than laugh-out-loud. I knew of one sequel (Miss Buncle Married), but there are actually two (The Two Mrs. Abbotts)!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11