BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Miss Buncle's Book

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Written in the 1930¿s when neighborhood gossip was the social me

Written in the 1930’s when neighborhood gossip was the social media, Miss Buncle’s Book tells the story of the village of Silverstream after spinster Barbara Buncle writes a novel about the town and its residents. Though, she uses a pen name and different names for the ...
Written in the 1930’s when neighborhood gossip was the social media, Miss Buncle’s Book tells the story of the village of Silverstream after spinster Barbara Buncle writes a novel about the town and its residents. Though, she uses a pen name and different names for the village and its residents, her neighbors are able to see themselves in her work, and for the most part they don’t like what they see. This is a witty, old-fashioned story about human nature.

Reviews of this book described it as “cozy” so I was hoping for something in the vein of Alexander McCall Smith or Miss Read. It wasn’t cozy in that way – it didn’t make me want to stop and smell flowers or enjoy a sunset the way their works do, but Miss Buncle’s Book was a good story told simply. I enjoyed reading about the clothing and manners of the time, though am glad I don’t live in a village like Silverstream where my every action is a source of gossip and judgment. I am glad I met Miss Buncle and do plan to read this story’s sequel. Recommended for fans of Jane Austen and Persophone Classics.

posted by An_Arkansas_Reader on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Not free

Check always, even on "free friday"

posted by kat6364 on December 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Juvenile

    The writing meanders in a boring sort of way and seems to serve the sole purpose of being a space filler. I did not get very far.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Not free

    Check always, even on "free friday"

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Minus stars

    Cant understand all the glowing reviews. This was the worst so called book i have ever attempted to read. I could only get to page 21 before i gave up from sheer boredom. It was awful. This was what was offered to us for free friday? Another loser. It does not even deserve the one star i was forced to give it to give this review. I would not recommend this loser of a book to line my cats litter box.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    Fun Read

    This is a book purchased for my Mom, who said it was different from other books she has read and she enjoyed it. I have not yet read it myself.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    I wouldn't recommend this book...

    I wouldn't recommend this book unless you want go to to sleep without the aid of sleeping pills. I had been looking forward to reading this book when I got it and soon was finished my present book and settled down to read "Miss Buncle's Book". Well,I kept waiting for it to get interesting, after reading half the book I deleted it and started a new book. I thought that it was like something written by or certainly for youth and not adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    No Real Plot

    The book was very elementary and extremely repetitive. It's a fast read because you can skip all that repetition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Do check this one out!

    What a fun read! I need money, there is none to be had, so I write a book. Not just an ordinary book, but one about the folks around me and their foibles. I change the names, and just enough of the circumstances to throw them off the scent, but they're there, all right. The book is a howling success, and then--the subjects start identifying themselves. What will be the outcome of all this? Read MISS BUNCLE'S BOOK and find out for yourself!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    I dont recommed it

    I didnt like thet read,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1