BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Miss Fortune

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

This book was quite a fast read, but I enjoyed it. it has likeable characters, a heartwarming story and good romance.

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

okay...predictable.

This is the last one and I found it a little slow. The kooky friend added some amusement, but the old boyfriend was obvious. The whole family aspect was somewhat lacking.

posted by mjlVT on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    This book was quite a fast read, but I enjoyed it. it has likeable characters, a heartwarming story and good romance.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    okay...predictable.

    This is the last one and I found it a little slow. The kooky friend added some amusement, but the old boyfriend was obvious. The whole family aspect was somewhat lacking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No need for details

    I put it on my wish list, but prefer not to have the book told to me on a review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    Highly recommended book to curl up with!

    In two previous titles, 'Material Girl' and 'Beauty Queen', we read the stories of Rebecca and Robin Lear. Now it is time for the youngest sister's story. ............................... Rachel Lear lives in Providence, R.I. is the youngest of Aaron Lear, multi billionaire. Aaron has told all three of his daughters that he is going to cut them off unless they make their own way. Bonnie, Aaron's ex-wife, has Aaron going to marriage counseling by 'Daniel the (censored)'. Aaron hates it, but will do anything to win Bonnie back and smooth out the mess he has made with his daughters. Rachel is the only one left for Aaron to worry about. And she is the one he has hurt worst of all. ................................. Rachel is too soft hearted. She teaches weaving class, but most of her students cannot afford it so she lets them attend for free. Rachel also pays for the supplies for them. Problem is, Rachel is flat broke herself! Rachel has a broken upstairs window, a tree that has fallen down on her neighbor's fence and he is taking her to court, she had loaned out money to a friend, Myron, who keeps stealing her T-Mobile phone and claims he cannot pay her back yet, and her best friend, Dagne, keeps popping over and convincing her to practice white magic. Rachel wishes for a true love with a British accent and sure enough, there he is in the form of Flynn Oliver. Flynn is a computer programmer, temporarily in America and he has his eyes on Rachel. But lately, a series of art crimes have swept the area and the truth surprises everyone! ..................................... ***** Okay, it is easy to figure out what is going on and who the bad guy is. But that is such a minor part of this wonderful tale that I could care less about because watching Rachel and Flynn together is astounding! The secondary character named Dagne needs her own story. She is totally into white magic, but is very bad at it. She never has the needed ingredients and keeps substituting items. It seldom works the way expected either. Dagne's story would be just as fascinating as Rachel and her sisters'. Anyhow, back on track. This novel is unputdownable! I had an awful time pulling my nose out of the book long enough to deal with my own everyday life. I could not get enough. The characters are easy to love and believable, the plot is very good, the story is filled with wit, and a sub-plot or two keeps things hot. Highly recommended reading! *****

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    3rd time is not a charm

    I enjoyed the other two books in this series way more...very slow starting and the silly hocus pocus was just dumb....I did like the story but it took too long to get to it....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Ok but not great

    This is the last one and i was expecting to be as good as the others but it wasnt. The magic part was weird and it set an unusual tone for the rest of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read

    I really enjoyed this book. It's definitely predictable and we all know what's really going on with the supposed, "gifts" but it's still a fun read. The romance was sweet and Flynn is your typical dashing, charming Brit and he compliments Rachel very well. Her kooky friend and the whole "witchcraft" thing added some laughs and silly moments. Rachel's battle with the gym, brownies and the numerous temp agency jobs makes her seem real and helps make this book a delightful read. It's totally obvious in spots, but still very fun. I would recommend the entire Lear Sisters Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Very enjoyable!

    I enjoyed the book! I read the other two books in this series, Lear Sisters Trilogy, and would recommend reading them in order. Miss Fortune is a light, entertaining read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Great Series

    This trilogy about sibling sisters is a great read, would highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Glad I read it, liked the other two better but it was a cute story.

    My favorite parts were her temporary jobs! Totally funny. I could relate to it from my experiences with temp agency's. LOL. It was a good book and I am glad I read it. Read the other two as well they made me laugh and wish I could find the men they did...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Not as good as first two of series

    Too much witchcraft/new age garbage and not enough development of relationship. Romance part of story was minimal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fun contemporary romance

    Disgusted with how soft a mark his youngest daughter is and her role as a ¿perpetual student¿, ailing billionaire Aaron Lear cuts off her hefty allowance that she seems to always give away to others like her sponge ex boyfriend Myron. In Providence, Rachel decides she needs to find a way to make money, lose weight as she dubs herself ¿Tubby¿, and obtain a new lover.--- Her best friend, practicing witch Dagne casts a spell for Rachel to meet a lover with a James Bond looks and accent. Not long afterward Rachel meets and keeps running into Flynn Oliver. As they begin to see one another and fall in love, he wonders how she will react to him when he reveals the truth about his identity.--- The third Lear daughter tale (see MATERIAL GIRL and BEAUTY QUEEN) is a fun contemporary romance that ties up the loose ends of the previous stories. Rachel is a terrific protagonist as a caring chump who is unconcerned with material things and believes she too overweight to be a beauty. Jake is an intriguing male lead as he shows up wherever Rachel is making the weird Dagne believe her spell is causing this to happen. Fans of the series will appreciate this lighthearted romp and want to see one more sequel starring the good witch of Providence.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5