BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Miss Julia Delivers the Goods

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    terrific Miss Julia

    As always a delightful adventure with Miss Julia. This book seemed to have more depth to it than previous books in series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    May be her best

    This was an enjoyable, easy read. While I have enjoyed all of the Miss Julia books, some were getting too far out. This one stayed within the "reasonable to believe" range without losing the charm of its characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book

    This is Anne Ross's 10th book and every one of them are good. I love Miss Julia Delivers the Goods. Hazel Marie, Miss Julia, Private eye J.D. Pickens and Hazels wayward love all keep us in a mystery when the town has suffered a heist. Once again Miss Julia as they say will deliver the goods and get to the bottom of this mystery. If you love Murder She Wrote then you will love Ann Ross series of Miss Julia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Miss Julia Delivers!!!!!

    Couldn't put down. Miss Julia and Ms. Ross kept it coming. Mystery, babies, Hazel Marie, Mr. Pickens, marriage. You need to read it if really are an avid Miss Julia fan, the goods are really delivered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Highly Recommend this book.

    This is a good book. This was the first Miss Julia book that I had read and once I had started reading the book I couldn't stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Fun Reading

    Miss Julia is her usual self in this novel. She still has a hard time keeping a secret. Enjoyable reading with a predictable outcome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Miss Julia Does Deliver--again

    A thoroughly enjoying read. Fans of Miss Julia and the gang will have a great time. Everyone is back and boy is it a mess. But don't worry, you can rely on Miss Julia to get everything back on track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Miss Julia Delivers The Goods

    This is another cute story following the antics of an older woman named Miss Julia. Miss Julia has recently remarried. Her husband has been working on the history of their town. He has kept his home as a place to work from during the day. All of his files are stolen and a little mystery continues for a while until Miss Julia helps get to the bottom of what is really going on. While this is going on, she's also trying to help Hazel (who was the mistress of Miss julia's first husband) . Actually Hazel and her son live with Miss Julia and are like close family to her. Miss Hazel was going with JD Pickens, a private investigator, and just recently left him because he would not commit to marriage with her. Now she finds out her mysterious illness is really morning sickness, due to her pregnancy, which JD knows nothing about. She is pregnant with twins . There are a lot of funny things which always happen when Miss Julia is trying to help out. This is a typical Miss Julia story. It's cute, often has you laughing at the things that happen to her. While they are often simple stories, they are always uplifting, for she's always trying to help others stay positive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Miss Julie books

    These are the best books! May be for the 40 and over crowd. Miss Julia is so gusty. I can't wait to see what she is up to in every adventure.I can't wait to buy the next one to see what happens to Hazel Marie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    I love Miss Julia!

    This was my first book in the Miss Julia series by Ann Ross. I have throughly enjoyed the read and plan to read all in the series. Ms. Ross keeps you entertained and wondering "what will happen next". Being from the South,(North Carolina), I feel like I know Miss Julia personally. She is the embodiment of a Southern lady. Her particular concern for Hazel Marie and Lloyd are touching given the way their relationship started, and speaks to Miss Julia's character. She wants what's best for the people she loves and will do almost anything to make it happen! A good summer time read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Love this series

    Read all her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Too Predictable

    Having read all of the Miss Julia series, when I saw the title of this one, I instinctively knew what the plot was going to be and, of course, I was correct. Clearly, we all know what the 11th book will be about. While I enjoy this series, I felt like the story dragged on in this one. This plot could have been handled well in half the number of pages. Since "delivered" is in the title, I felt short-changed as the plot did not "deliver".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Miss Julia Delivers the Goods

    I enjoy Miss Ross style. I have not found a writer were I could laugh out loud with her wit and manners of speaking. I am from the North I enjoy Miss Julia's prim and proper lady mannerism of a Southern lady. Once I started reading one of Miss Ross " Miss Julia Series" I just had to read the entire collection of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Another great one by Ann B. Ross

    Couldn't put it down...loved every second of it! Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    Good job!

    I love to read about Miss Julia's adventures, and this one has an unexpected highlight--a baby!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Miss Julia Delivers the Goods; What a good title! This is definitely going to keep me on my toes because I read every one of the other Miss Julia books in the entire series, and I was constantly on my toes not knowing what was going to happen next-wa

    At this time, it would be difficult for me to make any opinions on this latest book, but based on the prologue, I feel it is also a book which will keep me always wondering what will happen from when Hazel Marie brings this new child into the world, and how Lloyd will feel about looking after a younger sibling. I've read every book in her series, and I am so excited about being able to read it. I'm just wondering about one thing though: Is a new book in the works where she writes about a story where J.D. Pickens and Hazel Marie get married and Miss Julia would host the joyous occasion in her home as she did when Binkie Enloe Bates, and Coleman Bates got married and she hosted the joyous occasion in her home. I'll always wonder though if J.D. will marry Hazel Marie? or will all of us readers will left wondering how long them two will drag out an engagement. I really would love to know whether or not them two will get married, because let's face it-them two were meant for each other. J.D. has always been in love with Hazel Marie for as long as I can remember, and I am certain he would'nt mind fathering a new baby, but can't you imagine him being the fatherly type, considering his wild past? I am looking forward to there being new adventures of Abbottsville and the adventures of Miss Julia Murdoch, Hazel Marie, Lloyd, J.D.Pickens, Mr.Sam Murdoch, Miss Lillian, and the others who make up the church, and her neighbors. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves small town life, and who loves the gossip which accompanies any small town USA.

    An Avid Reader, Carla Morris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2