Customer Reviews for

Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind (Miss Julia Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

LAUGH OUT LOUD!!!

This book is the first book in the AWESOME Miss Julia Series. It is a series everyone can enjoy. As the "prim and proper" Miss Julia and Lillian get themselves into trouble time after time, I find myself literally laughing out loud; while people around me look at me fun...
This book is the first book in the AWESOME Miss Julia Series. It is a series everyone can enjoy. As the "prim and proper" Miss Julia and Lillian get themselves into trouble time after time, I find myself literally laughing out loud; while people around me look at me funny because I am laughing out loud. Ann B. Rice really makes you smile and warms your heart with these delightful characters. While waiting for the next book to come out, I tend to miss the characters as the long months pass without them, as I'm sure you will too. So, if your are thinking of picking up this book, don't wait any longer. You won't be disappointed!

posted by ashoubre on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Miss Julia is a unique character.

I enjoyed the older main character. I wouldn't call her a Mrs. Polifax but the age is about the same. I look forward to reading more about this character's adventures.

posted by Casidk on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LAUGH OUT LOUD!!!

    This book is the first book in the AWESOME Miss Julia Series. It is a series everyone can enjoy. As the "prim and proper" Miss Julia and Lillian get themselves into trouble time after time, I find myself literally laughing out loud; while people around me look at me funny because I am laughing out loud. Ann B. Rice really makes you smile and warms your heart with these delightful characters. While waiting for the next book to come out, I tend to miss the characters as the long months pass without them, as I'm sure you will too. So, if your are thinking of picking up this book, don't wait any longer. You won't be disappointed!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    Hurray for Miss Julia

    I bought this book on the spur of the moment, and I'm glad I did. Miss Julia is a hoot! She says things that I would love to say. Ann B. Ross has a writing style that is quick and witty. We learn about the characters through the eyes of Miss Julia. Miss Julia faces life's challenges head on with no excuses and few regrets. Surrounded by people who love and care about her, she manages to meet each challenge with her sense of humor-and opinions-intact.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Miss Julia Characters Make For Odd, But Perfect, Family

    The entire Miss Julia series, including this book, is a delight. Although somewhat conservative and old-fashioned in nature, it is just the sort of book that makes you feel comfortable and at-home with the characters.

    As a matter of fact, you probably "know" some of these characters in your own life experiences. I know I do and have.

    Especially encouraging is how Ann B. Ross defines the title character. It is refreshing, indeed, to see an "older" female lead as anything but a helpless and "done-with-life" individual.

    All characters are brought to life in a realistic fashion and you feel they are friends, or not.

    Perhaps the books are not for everyone and not especially deep in subject matter, but they are, somewhat, a flight from the world of today and that is enough for me, at this particular time.

    Ann B. Ross and her Miss Julia characters and series have been an enjoyment from the first to the lastest installment. Looking forward to the next.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    Miss Julia is so funny at times, so real at times and can get herself in the most unusual situations! Love it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    LAUGHtabulous!

    There have not been very many books that make me laugh out loud, but I roared with this one! (I recomnend not reading it during church services.) Oh, Miss Julia, you are a hoot! You act so proper and prim, but girlfriend, you are a firecracker!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    So much fun to read

    The Miss Julia series is one I could read over and over again. The tale is of an older woman's resolve to not let any circumstance get her down, no matter how embarrassing or distressing. I love her spunk and how she says things. Lots of fun.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Miss Julia Steals the Show

    The first book in the Miss Julia series stole my heart. Ann Ross has created a world peopled with lively, off- beat characters and situations that kept me turning pages. This book made me laugh and moved me to tears on a few occasions. Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind puts a twist on the traditional coming-of-age novels with this feisty southern lady. Great summer read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Cutie Mark Gone Wrong - Pt Two

    "Twilight! Twilight!" Screeched Sweetie Belle. "Its Apple Bloom!" She thrust open the door and ran inside, not noticing the pile of books there. She tripped and the books scattered. By now my flank was aching like the time I hit my hoof with a hammer when we rebuilt the barn. I swiveled my head around towards my flank and gasped. A red, bruised welt was staring back at me. It was hard to walk and I felt dizzy and sick. I could barely hear the conversation in front of me. "..hurts........she said so....well......no..l..we need your....help." Scoots droned. My ears flopped and buzzed. I could barely keep my heavy head up. Then, everything went black.



    The next thing I knew, Twilight was holding a wet cloth over my head and wiping over my eyes. Her magic she was using felt tingly and warm against my face, but I did not move. She noticed I had woken up and smiled. "I need to do some research on this...." she trailed off. I could hear her mutter 'strange cutie mark issue' but I guess she didnt want to scare me by saying it aloud. She peered at my flank and examined it. She palpated the inside of my leg, rubbed and poked at my injury("ooowww!" I yelped again) and even tapped it with her horn. She sat down, finished with her thorough work. Twilight Sparkle took her quill pen and took notes. Sweetie and Scoots tried to look over her shoulder, but she blocked them. What could be so secret? Was this serious? I was too afraid to ask her!! Twi closed her eyes. "Apple Bloom...." she said solemnly. "I'm afraid this cannot be fixed. This is the result of a minor birth defect." Scoots and Sweetie gasped in horror. "Apple!!! I-I had no idea...." Sweetie Belle said quietly. Twilight wasnt finished. "This means....you will never get your cutie mark." I could not believe this. It all seemed like a terrible string of events in a bad dream. I blinked hard, but I still was sitting in Twi's library, my shocked friends staring at me sadly. "You were born without the DNA to recieve your cutie mark on your flank. With your Crusaders club with missions to try and force a cutie mark to appear, that made it all worse. Then, your brain got exhausted and your flank got this wound." No. No. No!! I could barely breathe. My flank ached and throbbed in sheer pain. I tried to get up, but my leg got limp and I flopped. Scoots raced over. "Will she be like this....forever, Twilight?" She asked. Sweetie's eyes widened. She looked at Twilight expectantly. "I cannot say." Twi replied. "But girls...." she looked down at the two remaining "Cutie Mark Crusaders." "To avoid any more problems happening, we must not do any more cutie mark missions." My friends looked a little sober, but they still seemed to worry about me. "We will not!" announced Scoots. "If it wasnt for her, there would be no CMC. We cannot go on!" Twilight nodded. I looked gratefully up at them. "But I still don't understand. We dont have birth defects like...she does." Sweetie said quietly. "Its to be safe." Twi replied. At hearing the word 'birth', Scootaloo's eyes looked a little watery, but she said nothing. Twi used her magic to lift me up onto her bed. "I will let Apple Jack know, okay?" Her kindness soothed me a little, but I felt a pang in my flank and I felt worse. Goodbye Crusaders. Goodbye cutie mark. Wait - did this mean I didnt have a special talent? I rolled over in the bed and began to sob.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    If you need a nice fund book, this series hits the spot. Start with Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind, the first book in the series where you meet all the players in Miss Julia's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    To nico

    She was at jason res 2 with another guy

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    highly recommended

    A funny and exhilarating read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Love Ann B. Ross & Miss Julia

    Miss Julia is always keeping me in stiches. Never can wait to read next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Loved it!

    So glad i read this. It made me laugh times and kept me interedted. What a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Good Read

    While I enjoyed this book - I don't know that I enjoyed it enough to spend $12 a book for each book in the series. Wonder if others feel that way too?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    A great series

    This is the first book in the series and I cannot wait to get the next one. You wanted to know what happened next, and I did not want to put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Miss Julia is a unique character.

    I enjoyed the older main character. I wouldn't call her a Mrs. Polifax but the age is about the same. I look forward to reading more about this character's adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    What an enjoyable light mystery to read

    This book was hard to put down once I started reading it. Ms. Julia had me 'cracking up' as I read each chapter. I look forward to reading the next book in the series. Many thanks to my friend Julie for sharing this book with me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Silver

    Kk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Abattoir

    Imma be less and less active for awhile. S<_>hit irl, plus a new massive organisation...which im still recruiting for, but i gotta do it one by one so thats slow going...but anyway, thats why im not there much right now. Imma try to be slightly more active in the coming weeks, but idk. So i might actually BE at camp maybe once a week, but i'll look in whenever i've time...just in case

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Shawntarrius

    *Waits*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5