Customer Reviews for

Miss Julia Stirs up Trouble (Miss Julia Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    This is the 14th book in Ann B. Ross┬┐ delightful Miss Julia Seri

    This is the 14th book in Ann B. Ross’ delightful Miss Julia Series. Just as Miss Julia is taking a moment to pause and count her blessings, all manner of chaos breaks loose in the Pickens’ household. James, housekeeper and cook, falls breaking his arm and spraining his ankle. Hazel Marie’s Uncle Vern shows up, claiming poor health and begging a place to stay from his only relatives; and J. D. is spotted around town with different women in his car. Hazel Marie, already busy with twin baby girls, is struggling with the full household. Of course, Miss Julia takes it upon herself to remedy the situation in her usual comic manner. With James unable to cook, Miss Julia worries that the Pickens family will starve, so she gathers recipes from friends to share with struggling cook Hazel Marie. Recipes are shared at the end of each chapter.
    I enjoyed this installment in Ross’ humorous Southern fiction series, set in North Carolina. I read the first 13 books straight through, finishing late last year, and this reading this book was like a chance to sit back down with good friends I haven’t seen in a while. I laughed out loud while reading! Personally, I would have enjoyed more Miss Julia & Co. and fewer recipes, but the story was great, and Miss Julia’s comments at the end of each recipe are quite entertaining. While this would be a good story and good cookbook read alone, reading this series in order (Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind is first) would be my recommendation, as the characters develop and change so much throughout.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Good book! Can't wait for next year's book

    Ann Ross writes a great story of Miss Julia. It always holds your interest. I like a continued series of the same characters and what happens next in their lives.

    Waiting for next year's edition

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    The Girl

    The young vi<_>rgin sits, nu<_>de, by a triangular rock with a dulled upper point. St<_>raddling it, she shakily imagined it was a thick, pumping co<_>ck. She then fiercely brought her hips down, plunging the tip inside of her. When she raised her as<_>s again the rock was completely lubricated with her va<_>gina juices, allowing it to pump in harder and faster. She moaned softly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    A cookbook and a story all in one. It kept me busy writing off

    A cookbook and a story all in one. It kept me busy writing off recipes and putting in a self-stick photo album. I plan to try some of the recipes. I plan to share book with someone else.
    Julia means well. But her concern for Hazel Marie keeps her busy and almost got her in trouble. Once someone thought she was a witch (not going to give it away) and another she almost got kidnapped by a criminal. She ended up in middle of a sting operation.
    Hazel Marie has her hands full when her housekeeper falls down the stairs, plus two babies, and then to top it all her Uncle shows up.
    I loved the idea of the cookbook. It is a page turner all the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Boring

    I love Ann B. Ross books, but I'm afraid this one was boring. It seemed she lacked for a story line. If I had wanted a cookbook, I would have ordered one. JP33AL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Have read all of her books but did not finish this one,boring!

    Would not recomnend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A

    I have been a dedicated reader of Miss Julia books since the very first one. Wow was I disappointed in Miss Julia Stirs up Trouble! Had I wanted a recipe book I could have purchased one from my church with the same recipes. LuAnne's kitchen hints was also a wasted page filler in this book.
    Ms. Ross I know you can do better. This one was definitely not up to your previous standards.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    A series I absolutely love; characters feel real

    Things haven’t been the same at Miss Julia’s house since Hazel Marie (Miss Julia’s late husband’s paramour) and Little Lloyd (her son) showed up on her doorstep. Little Lloyd has grown a lot since then – and he has acquired two infant half-sisters, twin daughters of his mother and her new husband J.D. Pickens, a private investigator. When James, who helps Hazel Marie keep house, falls and injures himself enough that he’s incapacitated, things in the Pickens home are up for grabs. As usual, Miss Julia decides to jump in and help. One of her ideas is to help Hazel Marie learn to cook for the family. She enlists the help of her friends to create a cookbook and demonstrate one of the main dish recipes for Hazel Marie. (Recipes are included in this book.) And, worried that J.D., who has always had a roving eye, will stray for the path of marital fidelity if Hazel Marie doesn’t get a complete makeover, Miss Julia figures out a way to get that done. As usual Miss Julia, well-intentioned and big-hearted as she is, gets herself into trouble in any number of ways, with hilarious results. And her new second husband Sam is there to bail her out if need be. This is a series I absolutely love, and think of the characters as real people that I care about. I hope Ms. Ross continues this wonderful series for a very long time, at least until “Little” Lloyd is married with children of his own. This is a series I collect in hard cover and one which I plan to read over and over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Protagonist with Southern Charm

    Miss Julia…a prime, proper southern lady with a strong well, a stern exterior and a force to be reckoned with. But underneath, a heart of gold who would do anything (and has) for the people she loves. What starts out as a seemingly calm autumn day in Abbottsville, NC, with Miss Julia enjoying her yard and newly remodeled house (well, three rooms at least), quickly turns to chaos. Her friend Hazel Marie’s housekeeper falls down the stairs and winds up bedridden. This leaves Hazel Marie to tend to him, care for her newborn twin daughters, manage the household, and cook (when she can barely boil water) all while her husband, Mr. Pickens, is away on private investigation business. Miss Julia steps in with a plan. She recruits the ladies of Abbottsville to not only share their recipes and a covered dish (as any southern lady would do during illness), but also teach Hazel Marie how to prepare the recipe. All is going according to plan until Hazel Marie’s greedy uncle, Brother Vern, an itinerant preacher shows up claiming sickness and needing his family (Hazel Marie) near. To make matters worse, Mr. Pickens has been seen driving different women around town while he was suppose to be working. Miss Julia has her hands full as she tries to bring calm and order back to the lives of her friends and her family. This time around Miss Julia’s adventure is more of a home-bound type without some of the crazy antics she has pulled in the past. However, author Ann B. Ross gives a fun look at how quickly everyday life can turn upside down and become a snowball-effect of trouble. Miss Julia continues to give advice with a sharp-tongue, but more of her tender spirit comes through this time. Ross has created a fun protagonist in Miss Julia readers can’t help but love. She may be prime and proper, but she’s had difficult times and overcame them with dignity giving readers laugh-out-loud moments along the way. All of the characters are well-developed and realistic with their flaws and emotions. Ross continues to evolve her characters with each installment keeping fans of the series anticipating the next development. MISS JULIA STIRS UP TROUBLE moves at a swift pace with the story flowing smoothly. Readers are also treated to the delicious recipes the ladies of Abbottsville provide Hazel Marie as Miss Julia receives them. The notations included with each are a cute reminder that Miss Julia is in charge. This is the 14th installment in the Miss Julia series and can be read on its own. However, I would recommend reading the series in order to fully appreciate Miss Julia and how the various characters have grown throughout the series. If you can’t read the series in order, at least try to read the first installment first to completely understand where Miss Julia began and what makes her who she is. The residents of Abbottsville are entertaining characters you will want to visit time and time again. Miss Julia is someone you’d like to live next door to as long as you had a book of proper etiquette handy at all times. MISS JULIA STIRS UP TROUBLE is a delightful read that will have you smiling from the opening page to the last paragraph. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    I am a big fan of Miss Julia and lately have been buying the Noo

    I am a big fan of Miss Julia and lately have been buying the Nook editions so I was sorely disappointed to get to the end of the book
    and find that page numbers have been left off the the list of recipes. The author states at the beginning of the  that both are listed in 
    the back of the book. I think i deserve a refund!!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1