Customer Reviews for

Miss Julia Takes Over (Miss Julia Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    practically laughed on every page...

    I just finished reading 'Miss Julia Takes Over' which I managed to finish in 2 days' time with 3 kids underfoot and a house to clean (not much cleanin' was goin' on though. I assure you). LOL! I don't know whenever I have laughed so hard in my life! I read the first Miss Julia book about a year ago and loved it. Just when I didn't think it was possible to laugh any harder, Ann B. Ross proved me wrong. I now rank her up there with Jan Karon as my all-time favorite Southern Comedic author. Having grown up in Mississippi I can so totally relate to these characters. Ann Ross has an unprecedented talent for making her characters literally jump off the page at you. I can hear their voices in my head which makes for some very interestin' reading. LOL! I would love to see this on the big-screen with Dixie Carter (aka Julia Sugarbaker of 'Designing Women' fame) in the role of Miss Julia, (only about 20 yrs. older) and Whoopi Goldberg would make a wonderful Lillian. I would be the first in line to buy a ticket. I will definitely be going out tomorrow to find no. 3 in this series. That is one wedding I don't wanna miss.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Miss Julia Takes Over

    Loved!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    Best mad cap adventure yet!

    Miss Julia is at it again. This time Hazel Marie went out on a date and never returned. It is up to Miss Julia to find her, and fast! Because Brother Vern is up to his old tricks again. He is still trying to prove that Hazel Marie is an unfit mother so he can get his hands on Little Lloyd's trust fund. ...................... Miss Julia hires Mr. J. D. Pickens to locate the missing lady. Well, we all know that Miss Julia is NOT the type to sit back and do nothing. Oh, no! She insists on going everywhere with Mr. Pickens. That way she not only makes sure he does not slack off, but it also keeps her and Lloyd away from home where the Law is waiting to take Lloyd away to 'protective custody'. ...................... The chase for Hazel Marie is on, with Hazel Marie leaving clues along the way in hopes of someone rescuing her from the bad guys. ....................... ***** By the way, the bad guys are mixed up with NASCAR, so if you like racing this story will be even more of a blast for you! This mad cap adventure is the best yet. *****

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    Another Great Book From Ann B. Ross

    I loved this follow-up to Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind! Again, a light, entertaining read. Miss Julia has become one of my favorite zany, outspoken fictional 'friends'. Loveable characters that the reader can relate to and enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    This would make a hilarious movie!

    Miss Julia is one of the best characters I've "seen" in a long time. Each scene is described so well I could just imagine it on a movie screen. I could hardly wait to read the next book when I realized there was a sequel. The situation Julia faced was one she handled with humor, dignity, and grace. My husband enjoyed the book as much as I did. It's a great one for everyone. And it's no more than PG rated, if that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Ann B. Ross Takes Over

    This is the second book that I've read by Ann B. Ross and I anxiously await the next book: Miss Julia Throws a Wedding. I'm surprised that more people haven't discovered Miss Ross as I am the first to review this book, which I read some time ago. I cannot say enough about Miss Ross' writing. I am an avid reader and it is SO difficult to find a well-written book. I am not particularly interested in plot-driven books, so the JULIA series are perfect for me. Too bad Oprah never caught on to Miss Julia and Ann B. Ross.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2002

    A Laugh-out-Loud Treasure You Don'tWant to End

    An avid reader of many types of fiction, but seldom have found a series of books that I have found such a joy to read as the 3 about Miss Julia and her exciting life( Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind,Miss Julia Takes Charge and Miss Julia Plans a Wedding). As someone about her age, and being from the south, I found characters all through the books that could have been people I know or knew. But Ann Ross made them come alive again and put them in situations that had me laughing out loud over and over. She develops her characters in such a manner you feel they are in the room with you. Miss Julia is the kind of take charge woman that women of any age hope to become. My sixteen year old granddaughter enjoyed her just as much as my daughters and I did. A real treat and break from some of the dark dramas we find in much of todays fictio

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoy Fannie Flagg's books and agree with her asse


    I thoroughly enjoy Fannie Flagg's books and agree with her assessment of Ann B. Ross' Miss Julia series.  Miss Julia is a charming and determined Southern woman who works her way through situations without being the passive-dependent stereotype of Southern women.  She is a fun fictional role model.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Hurray Miss Julia!

    Miss Julia just keeps it coming. If you don't enjoy a good read, this isn't for you. Ann B. Ross gives a good relaxing and a barrelful of laughs comig. As always looking forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2