Customer Reviews for

Miss New York Has Everything

Average Rating 5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    George Orwell Meets Charlie Chaplin

    What a great, literary, funny, sad book about growing up in working class Pittsburgh. Not since Sedaris ME TALK PRETTY ONE DAY have I laughed outloud like this. That said, her chapter/essay 'You're Looking At A Miracle' is one of the most heartbreaking pieces I've ever read. I literally had to put down the book to keep from crying. Her working class portraits are nothing less than perfect,and her father is one of the best characters in recent literature. Add in a pill-popping nun, a job interview with a porno mag, and a couple rough years as a flight attendant, and you have one of the best, arcing narratives since Thurber's MY LIFE AND HARD TIMES. If I could give it more stars, I would. Buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Miss New York Has Everything

    I bought this book for one reason: I read the excellent blurb from Johnathan Ames. Ames is a writer I admire, and now, after reading MISS NEW YORK HAS EVERYTHING, so is Lori Jakiela. The cover of the book, obviously trying to cash in on the chick-lit craze, has nothing to do with the actual material inside the book which is equal parts David Sedaris comedy and and working-class Pittsburgh grit. Simply put: this is an awesome read. It was funny, tender, and full of great stories. The people she writes about are amazingly well-drawn and believable--my favorite character was the pill-popping nun, though the father who thinks people are cockroaches takes a close second. Her language is just spot-on. Everything here just feels right and true. Fans of Sarah Vowell, Chuck Klosterman, and Lori Moore will love this book. Even Ramones fans will love this book (see the chapter: I'm Into Leather). Overall, this is the best memoir I've read in a long time, and the realness of the story, at a time when memoir is getting its butt kicked (see: James Frey)stands out. Just a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Miss New York Has Everything

    In short chapters with subjects ranging from movie zombies and suburban poodles to life flying the anything-but-friendly skies, Jakiela gives readers a hilarious, poignant, and moving memoir. This is a book to read and read again, then pass on to everyone you know who ever wanted something more out of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Airborne!

    A great read. Moves effortlessly between moments of sharp humor and quiet pathos. Jakiela's narrative voice, her characters, her journey will remain with you. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1