BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Average Rating 4
( 4524 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2190)

4 Star

(1308)

3 Star

(613)

2 Star

(219)

1 Star

(194)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

266 out of 279 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!

A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them hav...
A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them have an even more bizarre meaning. It's a wonderfully dark fantasy, and I am looking forward to seeing more from this author.

posted by Scott_Steele on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

162 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free From Here goo.gl/T9ltl

posted by 9791092 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4542 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 228
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Outstanding!

    A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them have an even more bizarre meaning. It's a wonderfully dark fantasy, and I am looking forward to seeing more from this author.

    266 out of 279 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Riveting

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    199 out of 230 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Perfect Read for the Clever, and Creative minded! A Must-Have read for Pool, or Beach!!!

    LOVED!!! Enjoyed, and giggled through out the book, as this was like a piece of paradise that kept me glued to my Nook.

    Initially was going to purchase this book for a road trip, to read with my 9 year old. BUT, after reading the sample for the Nook Color, (thank you bunches, B&N!) realized two things: 1) this is NOT something I feel age appropriate for a 9 year old (the critics were right on for 12+), and 2)immediately, knew it is absolutely perfect for me. I could not purchase "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children" fast enough as the sample hooked me quickly, and left me wanting more of the adventure!!

    I could not put this down (read every moment I could, including ignoring house hold chores) and am now looking forward to the next book I believe is intended, in the series.

    A creative, interesting, and fun book. Now...to find another book just as delightful to take on our vacation....

    168 out of 183 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!

    If you like harry potter, the humger games, or divergent you will LLLLOOOVVVEEEEE this book!!!!!!!! Its filled with mystery, monsters, and incredible twists!!!!! WHEN DOES THIS SEQUEL COME OUT??????!!!!!!!!!!!! I CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK!!!!!!!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!!

    106 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spooky and Fun!

    I was in a reading slump and needed a new book to get excited about! Author Riggs took odd spooky photos and built a story around them. What a great concept! A young man finds out he has an interesting birthright when his grandpa dies and leaves him a mysterious message. Chills and thrills, but no spoilers! You wont regret trying this one out!

    63 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    Its not often that I open a book, read the 1st paragraph then say :Wow!" I said it before and I will say it again, this book has the best opening paragraphs that I have read in along time. It is a phenomenal read.

    The flow of the writing is superb and smooth, kind of like a fine wine .The story line is imaginative and unique, and the photos just drew me in to the story.

    This would be a great book for a high school reading list. In fact I gave to my 16 year old son to read and he is enjoying it as much as I did.

    52 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Good read

    I enjoyed the storyline and appreciated the author's attempt at keeping the dialogue and writing fresh and modern. At times it was very humourous and the characters were believable, though their emotionality and complexity was somewhat underdeveloped. However, the pictures helped the reader start bridging the gap between fantasy and reality, and added to the tone of the novel. The plot was exciting although sometimes predicatable. I definitely would agree that this is an excellent book for young adults.

    34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    It probably wasn't the best idea for me to read this late at night, as some of the pictures were truly terrifying in a sleep deprived state. However, it was a very engrossing book, and I couldn't put it down! The photographs made the story even more involving. What's really cool is that evey one of the pictures are real, vintage photographs. It makes you wonder, how did the photographer come up with these things?

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good until the last chapter

    I hate a book with NO ENDING!

    I loved reading this until the last chapter. It had a well thought out story line, but one of the worst endings I've ever read. I was prepared to give this a much higher rating and recommend to others, but it was almost like the author suddenly got bored with his own story telling and threw in a few last minute thoughts and ended it.

    Oh well, scratching Ransom Riggs off of my list of authors to read.

    29 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    A lovely tale that I didn't want to end

    Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is well written and conjures up splendid visual imagery. The book contains rather unusual vintage photographs of some very peculiar children indeed. The characters are well developed and very likeable. I hope this is the first in a long series about the continuing adventures of these fascinating children. Packed with action, romance, horror, and suspense, this story would also make a great movie.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Extraordinarily Enjoyable

    I loved reading this gem of a book; and, I loved looking at the collection of strange vintage photographs that enhanced the narrative throughout. The editorial reviews explain the opening scenario of this book, what they don't explain is the enchanting originality and wonderful reading experience this book delivers. Part coming-of-age novel, part mystery and part fantasy with historical overtones and some touches of sci-fi horror, this book is one-of-a-kind that will hopefully be followed by others in an ongoing series by this author. The plot is eminently satisfying; the protagonist is funny and completely sympathetic; and, the main characters are extremely well-drawn. This is a unique and entertaining read that I recommend to anyone who likes to read fiction.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    New and interesting!

    Great book full of new ideas and likeable characters. If you're looking for a fantastic adventure with some scares and a little romance, look no further. One of the best books I've read in a long time.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Abrupt and Dissapointing Ending

    This book started off interesting and the incorporation of snapshots was a nice touch. However, the story built up and built up to what became a momentous undertaking for the cast of characters only to abruptly end leaving the reader with no idea concerning the outcome of the impending adventure or the livlihood of the characters.

    13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Good

    It was a great book i couldent put it down
















    :( seriously i needed to go to a hospital to pry it out of my hands ... painful


    Anywho it is kinda creepy but that doest mean dont buy it!!!








    Also click yes if you want minecraft PE version on nook's

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    I Couldn't put it down!!

    Peculiarly intoxicating! I want more!!! I highly recommend this to all! Tweens and up. I'm in my forties and I couldn't put it down! Jacob searching for truth made this an adventurous mystery... truthful witty family disfunction and even a little love story all rolled up into one ... not to disappoint this book offers it all! I honestly didn't know what to think when I saw the book online.
    The girl on the cover was not just peculiar I thought of her as down right creepy and yet I wanted to read this. I enjoy the tv series The Ghost Hunters and needed something to fill my need for a summer read! Peculiar? Haunting is more like it. The real photographs in the book bring the characters to life. I can't wait to see the movie! Please, please say you are working on another continuation making this into a wonderful series!! I miss the children.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Great page turner!

    I read this entire book in 24 hours - I simply couldn't put it down. It is such a quirky idea that really, really works and the photos were haunting and beautiful. I can't wait for the next book. Well done.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    I am a 14 year old girl who absolutely LOVES reading. When I lik

    I am a 14 year old girl who absolutely LOVES reading. When I like a book, nothing else in my life is going to get done until I finish the book. However, this is one of the few books that I dreaded reading. I had to read this for school this summer, and if it wasn't required, I would not have finished it. The concept of this book is pretty brilliant actually. A young boy moving between two worlds in a novel filled with creepy photographs sounds perfect, right? I thought so, at least. However, the writing was SO POOR that I found myself questioning why this book was a New York Times bestseller, and why John Green, my favorite author, had written a review on how great it was. There were parts of the book that were very good ideas, but with a weak main character and pages on pages without dialog, I highly suggest you don't purchase this book.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Wow.....me and my 13 yr old agree, best bk of the year

    So unexpected.......couldnt put this book down. My 13 yr old also loves it. Maybe the best read of the yr. Will read again one day and def. Will buy next book?...surely a sequel coming. So excited to share with my little girl aftetr reading.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read

    I liked the book, but I didn't love it. The first half of the book pulled me in, and kept me riveted to the screen of my Nook. About halfway through, however, the magic, for me, began to wear off. I found many parts predictable, other parts lacking in substance. When I finished this book, I was disappointed by the fact that this story would be a continuance. All in all, it is a book which varies from typical fiction. I did enjoy the characters and their unique characteristics, as well as the comradeship that develops throughout the tale.
    I would recommend this book to a younger audience, likely between the ages of 11 - 17, who have enjoyed books such as The Olympians series with Percy Jackson.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Unexpected!

    I was expecting a totally different kind of book and was thrilled with it. The old pictures add something unique to the story and there were a few scenes where the included photos made a moment extra creepy or even heartbreaking. I hope there's a sequel in our future.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4542 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 228