BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Average Rating 4
( 4507 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2181)

4 Star

(1302)

3 Star

(612)

2 Star

(218)

1 Star

(194)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

265 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!

A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them hav...
A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them have an even more bizarre meaning. It's a wonderfully dark fantasy, and I am looking forward to seeing more from this author.

posted by Scott_Steele on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

162 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free From Here goo.gl/T9ltl

posted by 9791092 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Abrupt and Dissapointing Ending

    This book started off interesting and the incorporation of snapshots was a nice touch. However, the story built up and built up to what became a momentous undertaking for the cast of characters only to abruptly end leaving the reader with no idea concerning the outcome of the impending adventure or the livlihood of the characters.

    13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    I am a 14 year old girl who absolutely LOVES reading. When I lik

    I am a 14 year old girl who absolutely LOVES reading. When I like a book, nothing else in my life is going to get done until I finish the book. However, this is one of the few books that I dreaded reading. I had to read this for school this summer, and if it wasn't required, I would not have finished it. The concept of this book is pretty brilliant actually. A young boy moving between two worlds in a novel filled with creepy photographs sounds perfect, right? I thought so, at least. However, the writing was SO POOR that I found myself questioning why this book was a New York Times bestseller, and why John Green, my favorite author, had written a review on how great it was. There were parts of the book that were very good ideas, but with a weak main character and pages on pages without dialog, I highly suggest you don't purchase this book.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Don't be scared, just read it!

    It was a fascinating book, I didn't want to put it down. It was a great story, full of weird and creepy stuff. Very cool.

    3 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Nightmare material

    Zero stars it gave me nightmares

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    ?

    Is it scary?

    2 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Im twelve

    Hello everyone!! Im twelve and was wondering if this book was scary?? Because i truly despise horror books, sorry to people who absoutely love them. But anyways.....is this book scary?????.

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Waste of my life!!

    A piece of my life is gone and I can't get it back!!! My 7yr old nephew could think up a better one than this garbage! Make up the details and develop the characters, plot, and storyline as you go along. Wow! Rather encouraging considering this is all the talent and knowledge it takes to become an ebook. Maybe my goals are not so difficult to obtain.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    To be honest I found this book quite boring.  I had high expecta

    To be honest I found this book quite boring.  I had high expectations based on all these wonderful reviews about it.   The main character is just not  or likable in any sense in my opinion.  I found the photographs to be quite interesting and creepy but the text did not do it for me.  Sure there are a lot of original ideas in this story but a lot of the themes thrown in are very cliche and for having cliche themes I would like the author to put a unique twist on them but Riggs doesn't.  I was looking for a good mystery / horror themed book but the text is just not scary and its very predictable.   .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Nothing

    I dowmloaded the book and there is nothing there !

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Anyone else tired of the three book deal?

    I really enjoyed the quick read of this book. While it is ment for young adults, I liked the stories behind the pictures. I was totally involved in the story and looking forward to the ending when I suddenly realized I had too much conflict left and too few pages left to resolve it. Does every story have to be told in a three book deal? Are all authors only looking for a movie deal? I am tired of unresolved book number one making me purchase let down book number two only to force me to read book number three for some sort of closure. I refuse to read these trilogies anymore. I think I will stick to the classics from now on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Boring

    Hard to read and stay interested.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    Extremely creepy.....but maybe thats what some like...slowish st

    Extremely creepy.....but maybe thats what some like...slowish start

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Like a movie preview

    This novel was like a movie that you watch and then realize that the only good parts were shown in the previews. Once you sit down in the theater you feel a little cheated. The photo on the cover was the best part. I thought it would be a little more mysterious and peculiar but it wasn't. With pictures as bizarre and creepy as the ones shared in the story I just thought the story would follow along.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    alot of you are saying ir Hhhhhh LOT ALOT of you people are saying its amazing and great

    Is it scary?????????????:)THX

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    I ned to knowif its something to buy?

    How ar the pictures on the nook are they good, easy to see or are they like crap? I need to know so then i can buy it on the nook or if i have to go out and actually buy a hard copy of the book, please let me know ASAP!!!!!!!

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Not Impressive.

    Liked the pictures, made it different. Started out looking like it might be pretty good. Kept waiting, waiting and then it just got silly, Pass.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Eh. Don't bother.

    It seemed like a cute idea, but didn't really execute. Nowhere near the league of other young adult fantasies, like Harry Potter or even the lesser known "Fablehaven" series.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    so so

    I don't think I would recommend this book. I did not like the ending. Really can't say much. It was so so.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    A big let down

    The ending completely ruined this book. It's interesting at first, but once you finish, and look back at what you read. Complete waste of money and time.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pictures are not worth a thousand words

    This book did not live up to the hype. Amazing photographs with a completly disapointing story to go with it. How can it end "we rowed faster"?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10