Customer Reviews for

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Average Rating 4
( 4435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2132)

4 Star

(1295)

3 Star

(605)

2 Star

(213)

1 Star

(190)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

252 out of 265 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!

A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them hav...
A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them have an even more bizarre meaning. It's a wonderfully dark fantasy, and I am looking forward to seeing more from this author.

posted by Scott_Steele on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

162 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free From Here goo.gl/T9ltl

posted by 9791092 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 605 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Good read

    I enjoyed the storyline and appreciated the author's attempt at keeping the dialogue and writing fresh and modern. At times it was very humourous and the characters were believable, though their emotionality and complexity was somewhat underdeveloped. However, the pictures helped the reader start bridging the gap between fantasy and reality, and added to the tone of the novel. The plot was exciting although sometimes predicatable. I definitely would agree that this is an excellent book for young adults.

    32 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good until the last chapter

    I hate a book with NO ENDING!

    I loved reading this until the last chapter. It had a well thought out story line, but one of the worst endings I've ever read. I was prepared to give this a much higher rating and recommend to others, but it was almost like the author suddenly got bored with his own story telling and threw in a few last minute thoughts and ended it.

    Oh well, scratching Ransom Riggs off of my list of authors to read.

    28 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read

    I liked the book, but I didn't love it. The first half of the book pulled me in, and kept me riveted to the screen of my Nook. About halfway through, however, the magic, for me, began to wear off. I found many parts predictable, other parts lacking in substance. When I finished this book, I was disappointed by the fact that this story would be a continuance. All in all, it is a book which varies from typical fiction. I did enjoy the characters and their unique characteristics, as well as the comradeship that develops throughout the tale.
    I would recommend this book to a younger audience, likely between the ages of 11 - 17, who have enjoyed books such as The Olympians series with Percy Jackson.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Decent Book- Worth Reading

    When I first purchased this book I had really high hopes for it. It seemed like it would have a very strong plot line and a mysterious vibe to it. But honestly, once I started reading it, I thought the book was a little amateur. It was really predictable and didn't have very many twists to it. The thing that bothered me the most was the way the author described the monsters. He explained them as having tentacles coming out of their mouths, and it just seemed extremely cheesy.I could have seen me enjoying this book a lot more when I was younger, but now I couldn't get past how unrealistic it felt. The book was certainly not the thrilling mystery I though it would be. That being said, I still really enjoyed reading it. It is a relatively easy read, and it was a nice break from all of the romance novels. The pictures added a really nice element to the story. Overall I would recommend this book, but be aware that it is not as much of a mystery as it sounds.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This was a great, light read, and I'm so excited to learn that a

    This was a great, light read, and I'm so excited to learn that a sequel in progress so that we can see where this story goes.

    I would not describe this book as "scary" (except for audiences far younger than the target). Just a bit spooky and mythical.  No, it is not in the same league as Harry Potter or Hunger Games series, but it still a worthwhile read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Nice

    I enjoyed this book a lot, though it was slow in some parts. The pictures are insanely creepy though!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Ok, but seems too familiar a story line...

    I won't give the story line away by saying what series this sounds a lot like, but I was a bit disappointed based on that issue alone. The story tries hard to be for teens, but is still too easy avread to be considered a teen read. I have a 13 year old who read this in roughly 2 nites . He too noted the similarities to another popular series. The photos really made the book and gave it more focus . The story seems to drag in spots, but if you weather along, it isnt all that bad. I think most teens will enjoy the theme given the current teen trend for gore and the creepies.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun

    In general, I liked this book. It was entertaining and the photos were really interesting.

    You must go into this realizing that it is not a horror story, not "spine-tingling" as the product descriptions would have you believe, or even all that creepy. You must also go into this understanding that it is written for young adults - the younger end of "young adult" in my opinion.

    Knowing those things allows you to enjoy it for what it is. It's a story about some unusual children (any more would be spoiling it for you). It has some fun elements and has some components of mystery and adventure. At it's deepest level it's a story about family - family relationships, loss, how you define family. It also explores (a little bit) the nature of time and it's effect on us.

    There were a couple of things that took away from the story. First, as others have mentioned, the relationship between Jacob and Emma is a little creepy (and not in a scary way). Second, I did not particularly care for the villains in this book. I didn't think the parts of the story pertaining to their origin were explained well and were a little confusing. In general, they were not believable monsters to me. I understand that this is fantastical fiction but even fantasy creatures should have some ring of truth to them and I just didn't feel that here. It seemed a little cheesy to me rather than scary.

    All in all, this book was entertaining enough for me to ignore the faults and I would be interested in reading more if this turns into a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Amazing...until the last 20 pages.

    The book was FLAWLESS, in my opnion, until the last 20 pages were introduced. I won't say how it ends, but I was very disappointed. The ending is confusing and doesn't tie up any loose ends, but just leaves more questions.

    After finishing the book, I put it down and flipped through the last 20 pages, let down at how silly the ending was. The book was beautifully written and had a fantastic plot, but what is a story without a good ending?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    B

    Its good book so far but it creeped.me out so much i had to stop reading. Hey, but dont worry mrs.peragines home for troubled kids lovers, i will give it another try!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not worth the hype.  After being recommended this boo

    Good, but not worth the hype. 

    After being recommended this book by many co-workers and friends, I was excited to begin. The plot was interesting, characters were 
    well rounded, and the plot moved quickly. However, at the end, I found this to be just a good book, nothing spectacular. It was pretty entertaining
    at times and it does thrill, but overall, a young adult novel written from a teenage boy does not interest me very much. But if you like abnormal plots paired with intriguing photos, then by all means, do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Creepy but cool

    The end is thrilling!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    J

    Ghh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    May i help

    Look for the missin?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Okay

    I was not a big fan. I liked the beginning but it started to get really boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Interesting

    Didn't know what to expect. Well this book is interesting, unusual and weird. With that being said it was quite good. Once it all came together and you connected the dots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Held my interest

    While i wouldn't say I loved it, it held my attention. It kind of reminded me of xmen and percy jackson rolled into one. It was an interesting story just a little slow moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    didn't need the adult content

    i found this a good read but was disappointed with the strong cussing in about 5 scenes and a few scenes had some questionably adult content. otherwise, i enjoyed and look forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    This worked for me. Peculiar, yes. Ending too over the top, an

    This worked for me. Peculiar, yes. Ending too over the top, and the dad groveling in his failures got old. Pictures were interesting but not a necessary plot builder. I will read the next to see if the children get to live, as they are, within their own freedom-something lacking in the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Just Meh.

    The writing is fairly good, and I'm sure it would be a good read for young teens, but it couldn't capture my attention. It quite regularly put me to sleep, something that I seldom have an issue with.

    It's not a bad book, so give the trial a go, but don't be surprised if you find yourself in the same sleepy boat as me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 605 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31