BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Average Rating 4
( 4504 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2179)

4 Star

(1301)

3 Star

(612)

2 Star

(218)

1 Star

(194)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

264 out of 277 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!

A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them hav...
A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them have an even more bizarre meaning. It's a wonderfully dark fantasy, and I am looking forward to seeing more from this author.

posted by Scott_Steele on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

162 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free From Here goo.gl/T9ltl

posted by 9791092 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1301 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 66
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    It probably wasn't the best idea for me to read this late at night, as some of the pictures were truly terrifying in a sleep deprived state. However, it was a very engrossing book, and I couldn't put it down! The photographs made the story even more involving. What's really cool is that evey one of the pictures are real, vintage photographs. It makes you wonder, how did the photographer come up with these things?

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    A Surprising Hit!!!!!

    I will admit that I passed up this book several times due to the cover. I was on goodreads with a friend and we saw a book trailer for it. If it would not have been for the trailer I would of never given it the time a day.

    What a fantastic story. What I liked most about it is that its not your typical story. Who would of ever thought to write a story based on different photographs. The characters bring the story alive and you can actually see yourself on the island. I found myself not wanting to put the book down. In fact I have passed it around my work and everyone is enjoying. Put it up you wont be disappointed.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    More please

    I got to the end and said... I don't like the ending. My husband knew why: I didn't want it to be over!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Fun read...with a sequel soon!

    Just read online there will be a second book coming out in 2013...the date isn't set yet. So happy the story will continue. Im in my 20's and i loved this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Great story and pacing overall. A bit slow at the beginning, and

    Great story and pacing overall. A bit slow at the beginning, and I found the romance...disgusting. Great read, though. The pros weigh out the cons. Really interesting idea and entertaining characters.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Enjoyed by mom and kid

    Mom read it first, then the kid. My 8 year old son really enjoyed it, except for the kissing and cussing. Kissing was probably needed in the story, but I think the cussing was used just to show that Jacob was a teenage boy, otherwise not really needed. The story has a unique premise. Jacob is a believable ordinary teenager, swept into an extraordinary world when he discovers that he is peculiar. The pictures are great, the story is adventurous. We are both ready for the next in the series, as the ending makes us assume that this will be series. We both really liked it!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    I have been so excited to read this book.  I had been eyeing it

    I have been so excited to read this book.  I had been eyeing it for a while, and one day I decided I needed it for Mothers Day.  I love it when I get what I want for Mothers Day ;).    I had seen it on some blogs and the cover drew me in right away.  I mean, it's a little creepy.  I am in the mood for creepy.  




    This book has some fabulous characters in it.  I cannot tell you how much I love the pictures that linger between the pages of this book.  Some of them creep me out beyond reason.  I absolutely hate clowns.  HATE THEM...I am terrified of them.....TERRIFIED!  Jesters are just the same.  CREEPY characters.  There is a picture of two kids with their faces painted like a Jesters, and I almost couldn't touch the page it was so creepy to me.  Yes, I am being a little dramatic...but it's true.  That is how much they scare me.  But DANG, it was awesome.




    I think the beginning of the book is creepy and fabulous.  When Abraham Portman finds himself in trouble his grandson Jake finally thinks that the stories his grandfather told him growing up might actually be true.  After Abraham Portmans murder, Jake is determined to find out what his grandfather was trying to tell him when he died.  Well, lets just say the awesomeness begins :).  I was reading the part about Portman dying while I was laying in bed very late one night, and when Jake says he saw something in the shadows, and explained it....I was creeped out, then I turned the page and the picture was there, and I jumped.  I know...kind of silly, but it was creepy.   (I seriously love creepy).




    Jake travels to an island with his father and while there Jake is determined to find Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.  What he finds is a run down old mansion with the insides coming apart.  It's only a little later that he finds himself in the past.  He sees people he has seen in photographs and finally realizes what his grandfather had been telling him was true.




    This book kept me interested from the beginning to the very end.  It kind of got a little slow for me a bit in the middle, but it picked up again pretty quick.  The end of this book is fantastic.  It's exciting, and thrilling.  I totally did NOT call the bad guy in this one, so when it came about I was very surprised.  




    I loved some of the characters that Jacob comes to be friends with when he is in the past.  Emma, who can shoot fire, and Millard the invisible boy.  I love Millard.  I don't know why he just was a funny character.  There a time in the book when they are eating dinner, and Miss Peregrine makes Millard leave the dinner table to put some clothes on..."you don't come to the table in the nude".  It cracked me up.  I probably would not have thought two shakes about it until Miss Peregrine points it out.  




    I am so excited for the second book.  This one definitely left me wanting more.  I hope the second one is as good as this one.  I know I already said this, but the pictures that go along with this book are so fantastic.  I think they make the story more "realistic" and  so much more interesting.  It made it easier to visualize the "peculiar" children in my head after seeing the photos.  




    If you like, creepy (but not too creepy) and exciting books, I recommend picking this little gem up.  :)




    Source:  I bought this book for myself from Barnes and Noble.  I am not affiliated with B&N in anyway, and was not compensated for this review.  These are my own PERSONAL thoughts on the book.




    Content:  There is a little bit of language in this book, but I never felt like it was "too much".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Don't let the cover scare you :)

    So for the record, this was recommended to me several times and I kept putting off reading it because the cover is kinda freaky if you don't know what it's about and to be completely honest, I am a wuss and can't handle horror books or films. But I finally gave it a shot and I'm glad I did. It's such an engaging story, and it actually turned out to be really sweet. The pictures are cool too, like they weird you out a bit at first but then you kinda start looking forward to them. Anyway, I would certainly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Jacob has always thought his grandfather was a little nuts, but

    Jacob has always thought his grandfather was a little nuts, but when his grandfather is killed and he starts seeing things that don't exist, he's pretty sure he's going off the deep end as well. But as Jacob follows in his grandfather's footsteps, visiting the island where he grew up in a children's home, Jacob learns that his grandfather wasn't crazy after all. He also learns that he is also "peculiar." When he discovers Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, his life changes irrevocably.

    Working in libraries and archives, I have often come across photographs that make you wonder at the stories behind them. Riggs has taken photographs and constructed a story to accompany them--the reverse of the usual process of finding illustrations to accompany a story. I look forward to next volume in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Fun book

    I really enjoyed this book. A few moments felt awkward, but they did not distract from the overall story. Loved all the vintage pictures he based the story on, brought the story to life in a way that could not have been done without the pictures. And the set up for the next bookwas good, ended this book but got me excited to read the next adventure of the peculiar children.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    can't wait for tim burton's movie of this book.. 

    can't wait for tim burton's movie of this book.. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful! A wonderful debut, masterfully built around a collec

    Delightful! A wonderful debut, masterfully built around a collection of vintage photos. You'll be drawn in to this strange and moving tale about being different, leaving ordinary behind in search of extraordinary. Such a pleasure to encounter a truly original "fairytale".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Loved it

    Hard to put down easy reading fun and interesting the story should continue Im glad this author decided to explore new venues for his writing talent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Good book! The photographs allow me to pain a picture in the aut

    Good book! The photographs allow me to pain a picture in the author's perspective. A good story line for his 1st novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great

    Awesome first book. Really looking forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First off I have to say I can¿t believe I waited this long to re

    First off I have to say I can’t believe I waited this long to read Riggs creepy photograph filled story of peculiar children. Finding out the eerie photos were actually taken from personal collections added a disturbing quality to the read.

    Jacob is our main character. He has seen his grandfather’s strange pictures and listened to his stories thinking that they were just that…stories. Stories of levitating children and invisible boys were just fairy tales to him until he discovers his grandfather dead and sees something that changes the course of Jacob’s life.

    Jacob no realizes the “monsters” his grandfather has been fighting are not from his memories of WWII but are actually monsters. Now he must travel to the island where is grandfather stayed and where Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is located. The island is the typical strange island with its quirky residents. After arriving, Jacob goes on the hunt for the orphanage only to find it destroyed and abandoned. What happened to the children? The answer is soon found and leads Jacob on a fantastic journey of discovery and time travel.

    I love every character involved in this haunting tale. Each one stood out on their own and Riggs ties each and every one of them together seamlessly. The story telling is amazing and with the added photos makes it easier for the reader to visualize the children. Riggs also answers all the questions that burn inside the reader from the start yet leaves a few things in the air for maybe another book.

    Wonderful original characters and an inventive plot lead this read to be a good one to pick up. I loved the added historical aspects thrown in to provide a bit of realism to the story and the vintage photographs were just a bonus. If you are looking for a unique tale, this is the one for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    THIS BOOK IS GOOD AND BAD!!!!

    FIRST OF ALL THIS IS A REALLY GOOD BOOK,BUT BAD FOR CHILDREN UNDER FIVE

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Great book

    I had nightmares during my first attempt. Those monsters kept me awake in the wee hours. At least, I didn't bedwet. Haha. I give four stars for the creative interpretation of those scary photographs.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Very pleasantly surprised

    I saw this book at the bookstore and the premise sounded interesting, but knowing it was considered teen fiction put me off a bit from reading it, considering im a 32 year old adult. However im so glad i gave it a chance! Well written with likeable characters, its a unique story i couldnt put down. Creepy,suspenseful and action packed. Im hoping the abrupt ending means it is just one in a series, with a second book to take up where this one left off. I oubt id let a child under the age of 14 read it, just bc of thr language and a bit of gore, but id recommend to both teens and adults both!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Fun

    I live how he use old photos .good read. Starts slow. But once i got into it i really liked it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1301 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 66