Customer Reviews for

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Average Rating 4
( 4472 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2158)

4 Star

(1298)

3 Star

(609)

2 Star

(215)

1 Star

(192)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

260 out of 273 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!

A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them hav...
A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them have an even more bizarre meaning. It's a wonderfully dark fantasy, and I am looking forward to seeing more from this author.

posted by Scott_Steele on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

162 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free

Download Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children For Free From Here goo.gl/T9ltl

posted by 9791092 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 108
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Outstanding!

    A great first book. The story is based on a collection of vintage photographs. The pictures are scattered throughout the book and make it more of a multimedia experience. Each of the already creepy photographs have been worked into the story in a way that makes them have an even more bizarre meaning. It's a wonderfully dark fantasy, and I am looking forward to seeing more from this author.

    260 out of 273 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Riveting

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    196 out of 227 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Perfect Read for the Clever, and Creative minded! A Must-Have read for Pool, or Beach!!!

    LOVED!!! Enjoyed, and giggled through out the book, as this was like a piece of paradise that kept me glued to my Nook.

    Initially was going to purchase this book for a road trip, to read with my 9 year old. BUT, after reading the sample for the Nook Color, (thank you bunches, B&N!) realized two things: 1) this is NOT something I feel age appropriate for a 9 year old (the critics were right on for 12+), and 2)immediately, knew it is absolutely perfect for me. I could not purchase "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children" fast enough as the sample hooked me quickly, and left me wanting more of the adventure!!

    I could not put this down (read every moment I could, including ignoring house hold chores) and am now looking forward to the next book I believe is intended, in the series.

    A creative, interesting, and fun book. Now...to find another book just as delightful to take on our vacation....

    162 out of 177 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!

    If you like harry potter, the humger games, or divergent you will LLLLOOOVVVEEEEE this book!!!!!!!! Its filled with mystery, monsters, and incredible twists!!!!! WHEN DOES THIS SEQUEL COME OUT??????!!!!!!!!!!!! I CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK!!!!!!!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!!

    104 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spooky and Fun!

    I was in a reading slump and needed a new book to get excited about! Author Riggs took odd spooky photos and built a story around them. What a great concept! A young man finds out he has an interesting birthright when his grandpa dies and leaves him a mysterious message. Chills and thrills, but no spoilers! You wont regret trying this one out!

    62 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    Its not often that I open a book, read the 1st paragraph then say :Wow!" I said it before and I will say it again, this book has the best opening paragraphs that I have read in along time. It is a phenomenal read.

    The flow of the writing is superb and smooth, kind of like a fine wine .The story line is imaginative and unique, and the photos just drew me in to the story.

    This would be a great book for a high school reading list. In fact I gave to my 16 year old son to read and he is enjoying it as much as I did.

    50 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    A lovely tale that I didn't want to end

    Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is well written and conjures up splendid visual imagery. The book contains rather unusual vintage photographs of some very peculiar children indeed. The characters are well developed and very likeable. I hope this is the first in a long series about the continuing adventures of these fascinating children. Packed with action, romance, horror, and suspense, this story would also make a great movie.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Extraordinarily Enjoyable

    I loved reading this gem of a book; and, I loved looking at the collection of strange vintage photographs that enhanced the narrative throughout. The editorial reviews explain the opening scenario of this book, what they don't explain is the enchanting originality and wonderful reading experience this book delivers. Part coming-of-age novel, part mystery and part fantasy with historical overtones and some touches of sci-fi horror, this book is one-of-a-kind that will hopefully be followed by others in an ongoing series by this author. The plot is eminently satisfying; the protagonist is funny and completely sympathetic; and, the main characters are extremely well-drawn. This is a unique and entertaining read that I recommend to anyone who likes to read fiction.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    New and interesting!

    Great book full of new ideas and likeable characters. If you're looking for a fantastic adventure with some scares and a little romance, look no further. One of the best books I've read in a long time.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Good

    It was a great book i couldent put it down
















    :( seriously i needed to go to a hospital to pry it out of my hands ... painful


    Anywho it is kinda creepy but that doest mean dont buy it!!!








    Also click yes if you want minecraft PE version on nook's

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    I Couldn't put it down!!

    Peculiarly intoxicating! I want more!!! I highly recommend this to all! Tweens and up. I'm in my forties and I couldn't put it down! Jacob searching for truth made this an adventurous mystery... truthful witty family disfunction and even a little love story all rolled up into one ... not to disappoint this book offers it all! I honestly didn't know what to think when I saw the book online.
    The girl on the cover was not just peculiar I thought of her as down right creepy and yet I wanted to read this. I enjoy the tv series The Ghost Hunters and needed something to fill my need for a summer read! Peculiar? Haunting is more like it. The real photographs in the book bring the characters to life. I can't wait to see the movie! Please, please say you are working on another continuation making this into a wonderful series!! I miss the children.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Great page turner!

    I read this entire book in 24 hours - I simply couldn't put it down. It is such a quirky idea that really, really works and the photos were haunting and beautiful. I can't wait for the next book. Well done.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Wow.....me and my 13 yr old agree, best bk of the year

    So unexpected.......couldnt put this book down. My 13 yr old also loves it. Maybe the best read of the yr. Will read again one day and def. Will buy next book?...surely a sequel coming. So excited to share with my little girl aftetr reading.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Unexpected!

    I was expecting a totally different kind of book and was thrilled with it. The old pictures add something unique to the story and there were a few scenes where the included photos made a moment extra creepy or even heartbreaking. I hope there's a sequel in our future.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Ricochet Reviews: "Beautifully peculiar and wonderfully strange..."

    Jacob is in a stalemate with life, financially well-off but bored and lonesome. His best friend is a matter of appearances, and he couldn't get fired from his miserable job to save his life. That is - until his grandfather is killed by something -- something, it seems, only he could see. Thrown into therapy and coping with a detachment from reality, he grieves and isolates himself, going over the mystery spun within his grandfather's last words over and over again - a mystery that seems to repeatedly lead to haunting stories and their accompanying photographs shared with Jacob as a child. When circumstances fall into place, he's finally able to fullfill his grandfather's last wish: find the island, solve my riddle. With a trip across the Atlantic, he finds himself on an island as peculiar as its secret habitants.Wound up in a world he can barely fathom, he becomes encompassed by the ghost of Miss Peregrin's Home - and in his obsession, risks he himself falling amongst the peculiar children. The concept of writing a novel based on a box of estranged photographs is a fantastic idea -- beyond creative. Between the amazing graphic design and fascinating photography, it’s a hardcover must-have. The story is mostly modern-day, but it harbors a faint echo of historical fiction, expecially amongst the culture of a rural-European-village-setting. The writing itself is clever and brilliant, and it reminds me of everything I love about simply bizarre works like A Series of Unfortunate Events and the amusing, and intelligent voice of another one of my favorite authors – John Green (Looking For Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper Towns): complexly simplistic, plainly abstract - speckled with oddly fitting pieces of random information, brilliant wording, and the ability to make even the most mundane things interesting beyond what it has to be. Beyond the writing structure itself, reminiscing what never was is a true talent. Throw in a delightful little mystery (one rather unfortunate in nature), and you have another author’s envy and a new reader’s fascination. Beautifully peculiar and wonderfully strange, the expectations raised by such a new idea are definitely met and the text is perfectly synchronized with the pictures. A new take on everything from time-travel to parallel universes to ghosts to immortality to monsters; this is extraordinary, fascinating, exotic, imaginative, enrapturing, creepy, curious, eerie, unique, and genuinely awesome in one pretty little binding. There’s finally a piece worthy of celebrating oddities. Lost in the middle of the book, in between tense moments, I confess I felt much too “at ease”. When I set the book down in the middle of the night, half-way through, it took me a day and a half to pick it up again. The mysteries of the first half of the novel are generally small, and while clever not overtly engrossing and usually blatantly predictable. For most of the piece, the sub-plot romance between Jacob and Emma lacked a certain level of believability, falling into unconvincing scenes, and clearly lacked the more enamored passion found in YA –but it’s hardly something to criticize, seeing as it’s technically paranormal-fantasy rather than paranormal-romance. I think the positively amazing qualities of this piece outweigh its shortcomings. There were a variety of times when the writing was heart-quickening and spine-tingling, so it definitely has something beyond raw potential. All in all, it's recommended :)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Lovees it!

    This was an amazing book. I loved every page. The photographs were such a unique addition, and to learn theare real!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Mew

    Creepy, thrilling, and outright amazing

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great Book

    Looking forward to the possible second.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    recommended but with regard to age of child

    bought it for my 13 year old granddaughter. she couldn't put it down until finished.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!

    Mrs. Peregrines home for peculuiar children is the best book i have probably ever read. There is alot of language, but otherwise it is amazing and so fasnating. The characters are just magical and wonderful. I love and recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 108