Customer Reviews for

Missing

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    This book grabs you right from the start with plenty of action a

    This book grabs you right from the start with plenty of action and suspense. It is about dealing with pain and anguish of life's trials whether physical disabilities or emotional ones. The characters are well developed, strong and likable (or not). The villain is pure evil in his designs to make a buck and eradicate a group of people he deemed unworthy to live.
    I was disappointed that the first ½ of chapter 18 is a detailed sex scene. It is does not add to the story and is unneeded and easily skipped. The relationship is well established before this point without this scene. I loved everything else in the book. I wanted to recommend it to everyone until this chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Best book ever

    I finished this book i 2 days i didn't want to put it down the book the first day i wanted to stop but sleep tock it's toll so i had to but the next day came amd i started to read right away i love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Interesting!

    A really touching and exciting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    For Colonel John Wesley Holden, a soldier in the Special Operations division of the Army, risking his life fighting terrorism in a desert thousands of miles away is part of his job. In the back of his mind, however, he's always wondered how safe he and his family are back in the United States. His wife, Margie, and his son, Mikey, are the only things that kept him sane during his months spent as a prisoner of war. When a man manages to infiltrate an Army base commissary and blows it to bits, causing the death of the only two people he's been able to love, Wes knows the truth-the enemy has followed him home. <BR/><BR/>Wes becomes lost in a near-comatose state; visions of past wars flicker constantly through his mind, his hold on reality is fragile at best, and is slipping away fast. It will take more than a miracle for this man to become anything like who he was in the past. It's not a miracle that forces him out of the hospital on a medical discharge, but it's nothing short of one, when he wanders aimlessly into Ally Monroe's backyard. <BR/><BR/>Ally is a late-twenties woman in a mid-forties body. She's tired, lonely, and fed-up with spending every minute of her day taking care of her widowed father and two middle-aged brothers. She dreams of a handsome, mysterious stranger walking out of the woods behind her house-he'd ask her for a drink of water, they'd fall madly in love, and her Prince Charming would rescue her from a life of catering to others. <BR/><BR/>When Wes Holden stumbles into her yard, asking for that drink of water, Ally is scared to death. How can this be? And how is it that the man she thought would rescue her seems to be the one needing rescuing? With an old woman giving her psychic cryptic messages, Wes ensconced in her dead dwarf uncle's cabin, and her brothers becoming odder and odder after working in the fields of a neighbor, life as Ally knows it is suddenly anything but ordinary. <BR/><BR/>MISSING is Ms. Sala's romantic suspense at its best. Strong emotions, vivid characters, and the underlying sense that all is not right make this a great book. I highly recommend it to all lovers of the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    For Colonel John Wesley Holden, a soldier in the Special Operations division of the Army, risking his life fighting terrorism in a desert thousands of miles away is part of his job. In the back of his mind, however, he's always wondered how safe he and his family are back in the United States. His wife, Margie, and his son, Mikey, are the only things that kept him sane during his months spent as a prisoner of war. When a man manages to infiltrate an Army base commissary and blows it to bits, causing the death of the only two people he's been able to love, Wes knows the truth-the enemy has followed him home. Wes becomes lost in a near-comatose state visions of past wars flicker constantly through his mind, his hold on reality is fragile at best, and is slipping away fast. It will take more than a miracle for this man to become anything like who he was in the past. It's not a miracle that forces him out of the hospital on a medical discharge, but it's nothing short of one, when he wanders aimlessly into Ally Monroe's backyard. Ally is a late-twenties woman in a mid-forties body. She's tired, lonely, and fed-up with spending every minute of her day taking care of her widowed father and two middle-aged brothers. She dreams of a handsome, mysterious stranger walking out of the woods behind her house-he'd ask her for a drink of water, they'd fall madly in love, and her Prince Charming would rescue her from a life of catering to others. When Wes Holden stumbles into her yard, asking for that drink of water, Ally is scared to death. How can this be? And how is it that the man she thought would rescue her seems to be the one needing rescuing? With an old woman giving her psychic cryptic messages, Wes ensconced in her dead dwarf uncle's cabin, and her brothers becoming odder and odder after working in the fields of a neighbor, life as Ally knows it is suddenly anything but ordinary. MISSING is Ms. Sala's romantic suspense at its best. Strong emotions, vivid characters, and the underlying sense that all is not right make this a great book. I highly recommend it to all lovers of the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    By Far One of the BEST

    This book is by far one of the best books you will ever read. It isn't one of your everyone and everything is perfect book and it will shock you, but isn't that what we want. I was crying in the first chapter (so did my mom). You must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    Very dark and depressing

    I love Sharon Sala as a writer but this book was a huge disappointment. It starts out extremely disturbing and never stops. There are some glimmers of hope but they really can't save this book. All in all both main characters lives are very depressing and you wonder how they could possibly find love, especially in such a short time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    Must Read1

    This book will make you cry but by the end will make you stand up and cheer. Sharon Sala does an excellent job with making you feel you know the characters. Look forward to reading more of her novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. When I first started reading it I wasn't sure if I would like it but I quickly got caught up into it and I read it in two days. This novel was suspenseful and emotional. This is the third book I have read by Sharon Sala and her books are very emotional but very interesting and it captures you. The only criticism is that I would have liked more romance. I like a even mixture of romance and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2004

    You are not missing much.

    This book was disappointing compared to her Out of the Dark and Dark Water. It was very slow and not suspenseful. It is difficult to see how the two main charaters fall in love. There was not enough romance and at the end of the book, I was just glad I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Missing.

    He survived Iraq, but a disaster at home is enough to send Wes Holden into a living death. When he begins to see the light at the end of his catatonic state, Wes hides that fact, which enables him to escape from a living Hades forced upon him by his so called family. His route takes him to the backwoods, a rustic world that seems to have changed little in the last century. There he will meet a young woman of great courage. Ally Monroe is bright and beautiful, despite having her childhood stolen to take care of her father and brothers and despite being club footed. No man has ever wanted her before, and she's not been interested. However, as her father tries to marry her off to a misogynistic hick, Wes catches her eye. Even as the two lost souls begin to find each other, something sinister is at work, bringing the threat of bioterrorism to West Virginia and forcing Wes to call upon his military skills to save the woman he loves. ................ *** Sharon Sala always captures readers' empathy in her heroes and heroines who turn their scars to stars with the magic of love. Even though at first blush, the situations seem unreal, before long the realism of her story will become apparent. ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An engaging tale

    Special Ops Officer Wes Harden is spending time with his wife and son after an extended tour in a Middle East hot spot until a bomb explodes at the Fort Benning commissary, killing his family members. Wes breaks down suffering from post traumatic stress disorder. His stepbrother Aaron Clancy sees a chance to use Wes¿ military entitlement so he takes him back to Miami with him. After a few days, Wes leaves ending up in Blue Creek, West Virginia where Ally Monroe provides him food and shelter................... Abby¿s father worries that he done his daughter wrong by having her become the family matriarch for him and her two brothers when her mom died. He tries to hook up with a widower with three young children, but Abby refuses. As she brings Wes out of his shell, her brothers work for a chemist developing a new addictive illegal drug who wants the newcomer dead. Wes, feeling guilty for falling in love with Abby, refuses to allow harm to come to her, but the enemy is nasty and clever............................... This is an engaging tale in which readers will feel the heartbreak and guilt that Wes endures after the deaths of his loved ones especially as he was saving his country at the cost of quality time with them (do not procrastinate when it comes to love). His guilt accentuates when he falls in love again. Ally is a terrific lead female who has no hope for her future until Wes arrives. The drug confrontation adds unneeded suspense though that helps Wes return to the living, but what moves MISSING is a character driven story in which love is the fabulous real healer.............................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2