Customer Reviews for

Missing Links

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    The best golf book ever

    This book was so funny that my wife would come in to check on me. She'd find me laughing so hard that tears were streaming down my cheeks. This is not something that happens often.

    You don't have to play golf to enjoy this book.

    I live near Cape Cod but felt compelled drive over an hour to play "Ponky" myself after reading this book. It's awful. Thanks Rick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    Great Golf Fiction - you should check it out!!

    I had some unexpected flight delays and was in search of a new book to pass the time. Missing Links was the perfect answer. I nearly finished it before arriving at my final destination - I just couldn't put it down. I plan to also buy and read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Strong Enough- Part 8

    Strong Enough- Part 8•|<p>The word 'labrynth' tugged at a feeling in my core but I couldbt put a finger on what it was. I shurged my bag off my shoulder and opened it up. I was talking as I pulled out the blank book and ice pen. "How long are we going to be here?"<br>"Not long." Came another simple and short reply. I gave a small shake of my head before speaking again.<br>"If you dont mindIm just going to... write a journal entry." The lie slipped easily onto my tounge with only a moments hesitation. Jade didnt need to more about me than she had to. She just shrugged in acknolegedment.<br>I opened the journal to the first page. I had to talk to my parent about my dream, i just didnt know where to start. Lamely I wrote the simplest thing possible: hi. No pen marks appeared on the page, and I took a starange comfort in the fact that it hadnt changed.<br>A simple word took form on the page but it wasnt mine.<br>No<br>No what? I wrote back.<br>I know what you are thinking Zia. Its not the right choice<br>The dissadvatages of having a parent with imense power. I let out a silent sigh and began to write back. I have to, its only right. I sat for a minute waiting for answer but none came so I wrote again. I cant risk killing another.<br>At a painfully slow rate the nest set of icey blue letters apeared.<br>Believe me Zia, it is for the best<br>The words faded faster than they appered. I got the feeling that was the en of the conversation and so I sat there, slupmed against the wall watching a girl who was more than likely at risk to fall victims to my uncontroabke curse.<br>My life is just a mess of blood.<p>|•Its good to be back. Next part nest res. And some SE news: parts 1-5 have been posted on my website. Comments are aperciated•|<p>••

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    To Ana

    Yay! What is your website called?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    First hee for SE

    Yah!!!!!! I hope you will use the character I gave to you!! I posted her at strong result one and her name is Cammie Stash!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    A fun read

    Loved this book as well as the sequel, "Shanks for Nothing". A very fun and funny story suitable for anyone who loves the game of golf. This is one of those stories you wish you were apart of. Reilly's writing style keeps you entertained at all times. I read most of this book while on an airplane during my travels for work. Great book for travelers! Helps time go by fast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Fun book from cover to cover

    Best fictional sports book I have ever read. Enjoyed the characters, the plot, the bets and the love affairs, which go from mundane to truly bizzare. I also appreciated the diagram layout of the course up front in the book. I have played the real Ponky on a few occasions and this is only slightly an exaggeration. Sadly, the real Ponky, really is a Donald Ross designed course (actually 2 courses)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2001

    DON'T GET STARTED READING THIS BOOK. IT WILL TAKE THREE BURLY MEN TO PULL YOU AWAT FROM IT

    this book is one of my personal favorites. I am only 14 years old and i loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    Great Book for Real Golfers (not Pro's)

    This is a great book for all golfers that play their game on the public courses of the world! I smiled all the way through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    I Don't Like being called'Hoover'

    It happens nearly every time we play Golf. One or more really 'suck' that day. Reilly's nicknames add more depth to this book than non-golfers can imagine. We all have nicknames stemming from our adolescent days. Thank God that most of us have not inherited any of these. These names are earned after many years of toil and Reilly blends them beautifully throughout his novel. Any true golfer, Country Club or Public, will read this book in no more than three sessions and most will read it non-stop if time allows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    Thoroughly Entertaining!

    In the end, Mr. Reilly makes us realize the true nature of the sport. No matter where you play it, golf is about comraderie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    OUTSTANDING!!!

    I borrowed this book from a friend who claimed it to be the best book he has ever read. I was expecting something great and that's what I got! Missing Links is a revealing story about social class and human behavior.....also, very funny. I'm telling everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    Very good book

    This was possibly the best book I've ever read. I would recomend it to everyone with a sense of humor. I lent it to a friend and he loved it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    Absolutely!!!!!

    One of the most entertaining books, whether you're into golf or not! This is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Every Hacker Should Own This Book

    This is a truly awesome read. It is hilarious, irreverant and true about the thousands of golf courses around the country. If you can't find some personifications of the people at your course you must not be playing the right courses. This book is a must read every winter/sprng as I begin to dream of summer and all the things that make golf synonomous with life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2000

    Perfect Gift for any golfer

    Hilarious. Award winning quality. Frequently found myself laughing out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2000

    'Outstanding!!!'

    'Absoulutely the funniest book I have ever read...it should be required reading for all hackers.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2000

    Hysterical.

    Very funny. I could not put the book down and finished it in 3 days. Am looking forward to another book as good as 'Missing Links'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2