BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Missing Max

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Missing Max

    After Katrina Mardi Gras is a beautiful spectacle. Jane Madison, her young son Max, her teenage stepdaughter Melanie and her friend Christine attend the event. Jane goes off to get refreshments while Christine watches Max. Melanie calls her stepmother to say Max is missing as Christine went to help somebody. Melanie flirted with some boys while, Max and his stroller vanished. Six months later, no trace of Max has surfaced though the police still follow any lead. The family fails to receive strength from each other; instead they drift apart. Melanie blames herself and deliberately gets pregnant so that she can give the newborn to her step-mom and dad Kyle. Blaming Jane for leaving their baby for a moment, Kylie moves out of their bedroom. Jane feels guilt not just for the loss of her child, but to what is happening to her family; however, she cannot pull herself together to prevent the collapse.
    The kidnapper calls to inform them Max is alive. It is also apparent that the kidnapper hates Jane, not Kyle who thought his legal work might be the motive.. Obsessed, Jane considers who might hate her enough to abduct Max.
    Karen Young writes a thrilling inspirational chiller that grips the audience from the opening abduction and never loosens its hold on readers need to know who and why. Missing Max focuses on how the kidnapped toddler's family cope with their loss; as each reacts differently to the big hole in their heart yet share in common a deep rooted need for separation and blame. Although a seemingly implausible finale, fans will root for determined Jane to rescue her kids from the monster.

    Thanks to Rebeca Seitz at Glass Road Publication for this wonderful book to review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Missing Max is the story of six month old baby Max who is kidnap

    Missing Max is the story of six month old baby Max who is kidnapped during Mardi Gras while in the care of his older sister Melanie. The only thing left behind were his stroller and one shoe. Panic ensues, the police are called and everyone searches frantically for Max. The investigation continues and life goes on for Jane and Kyle Madison their relationship becomes strained to the point of breaking. They are brought to the brink of hope when they are called several different times when a child is found that has similar features of Max only to realize that each child is not theirs. Melanie deals with the loss of her baby brother and the strain of her parents seemingly broken relationship with some explosive, jaw dropping news of her own. Things soon take a downward spiral and everything starts to go wrong.

    This is the first book I have read by Karen Young and I enjoyed her writing style. Laural Merlington does an excellent job of narrating this story and the different voices she used for all the characters were excellent.

    I thought this book had a very real feel to it. Kidnappings can and do happen everyday. Parents go through the horrors of loosing a child. I cannot imagine a nightmare such as not knowing where your child is. Ms. Young does a great job of relating what the characters are feeling. Their loss, their ability (or inability) to cope with such loss. Their struggle with trying to live as normally as possible and getting through each day. The strain such a traumatic event causes within a marriage and a family. I liked the way this book did not just focus on the mother Jane but gave you a clear understanding of how each family member was effected by the loss of Max. How the choices we make effect others very deeply. How we can be so wrapped up in our pain that we cannot at times see what another family member is going that they are struggling with guilt and asking those if only questions.

    You see Jane as she struggles with God and why something like this can occur. And yet as she asks these questions she becomes closer to God and ultimately leans on Him.

    I found this book an enjoyable and good read. The suspense keeps you reading. The characters and events are believable. You see that the choices you make have lasting and sometimes irreversible consequences.

    I was given this book from Christian Review Of Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Riveting story about the impact of a child's kidnapping

    Missing Max by Karen Young is the story of every mother's worst nightmare. While watching the parade at Mardi Gras, Jane Madison asked stepdaughter, sixteen-year-old Melanie, to watch Max, her six-month-old son, for just a few moments. The boy disappeared while Mellie was talking to some of her friends. Police eventually find his stroller with only one shoe left behind. Seven months later, the family is falling apart in the wake of Max's disappearance. Jane has been spending all of her time at a missing child center, leaving husband Kyle and Melanie feeling abandoned and angry. When Jane starts receiving strange phone calls with a baby crying in the background, she at first dismisses them as crank calls, but she is soon being stalked by someone deranged who just may know what happened to Max. Young has crafted a taut and frightening story. When I first started reading the book, I only intended to read a few pages before bed, but the next thing I knew it was 2 am. I just couldn't put it down. Young takes care for the reader to empathize with all of the major characters and includes a faith element without shoving it down the reader's throat. It's a haunting story that will linger with readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    When their son Max is kidnapped, Jane and Kyle soon find their marriage is being held hostage as well.

    When baby Max is kidnapped during Mardi Gras, Jane and Kyle Madison's life falls apart.

    What their daughter Melanie, does next is unthinkable.

    Max vanished into thin air while in the care of his teenage sister, Melanie. Six months later, the family is a shadow of its former self: Melanie blames herself and is acting out and rebellious; Jane is obsessed with finding Max; and Kyle, a lawyer, struggles to cope with his own grief - and a persistent suspicion that one of his cases is connected to Max's disappearance.

    With her family in turmoil and her marriage on the rocks, Jane thinks things can't get any worse. Then when an affair and an unexpected pregnancy threaten to tear the Madison's lives apart, an anonymous caller leads to a break in the case. Can a second kidnapping bring their family back together? (excerpt from back cover).

    My Review:

    Being a mom, I thought I would find reading this book, Missing Max by Karen Young, to be a challenge based on the content of a child being kidnapped. However upon reading this story I gained insight I had never realized before. You get to see what happens in the lives of this family that is forced to move forward with each day and what the results are in their marriage.

    Melanie was supposed to be watching Max while he slept in his stroller and when a Mardi Gras float stops in front of her and her friends, she realizes she knows the people on the float. She is only distracted for a few minutes but it's enough time to realize that her baby brother has been taken.

    She frantically calls her mom who has left to get them something to eat and can't believe it when Melanie tells her what has happened. How on earth will they find Max in the middle of a Mardi Gras parade?

    Jane feels responsible for leaving Max while she went to get them all something to eat. Melanie feels she is responsible for not keeping her attention on her brother, and Jane's husband Kyle, is upset with them both.

    All they find after searching for an hour is a tennis shoe left behind in Max's stroller by the river's edge.

    Trust me when I tell you this, the book is amazing. I love how the faith of God is revealed in the families crisis when they at first blame God for taking their son. Yet it's through that same faith that will slowly over time bring the family back to Him. See what amazing details God does throughout this book. I would highly recommend it and give it a 10 out of 10!

    I received this book compliments from Glass Road Public Relations for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Missing Max

    Jane and Kyle Madison are both successful lawyers. Busy, too busy often. It is Mardi Gras and Kyle promised to take Melanie their sixteen year old daughter, but finds himself tied up at the office, so Jane agrees to take Melanie, even though baby Max is fussy and teething. Her best friend and neighbor Christine joins them. While gone to buy food for the teens, someone snatches Max. A nightmare that most parents pray never happen to them begins.

    The kidnapping of Max, stretches the Madison family to the point of breaking. Melanie is defiant, rude and hateful to Jane, Kyle blames Jane and Jane is blaming herself and perhaps subconsciously blaming Melanie. This family is on the verge of breaking apart. A stalker, who keeps trying to get to Jane brings Kyle and Jane together, but will they ever find baby Max?

    This book is a attention grabber, it was hard to put it down, even though I was nodding off from exhaustion, I still wanted to read on and see what would happen. I loved the writing style and this author is very good at word pictures and helping you to see the absolute despair this family faced. I really don't have the space or the words to truly describe how much I loved this book!! 319 pages US $14.99 5 stars!!!




    This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment of any type was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    MISSING MAX

    First let me say that this book was a good read but it bothers me when I hear about a child being kidnapped, there are so many preverts out there that when I hear this I can't help but think what if it was one of my grandbabies. God have mercy on this sorry sinful world.

    Jane and Kyle Madison are riding high. They have a six-month old son Max, a sixteen year old daughter Melanie. Both Jane and Kyle have successful law careers. Things couldn't be better on that beautiful sunny day when Jane, Melanie, Max went to Mardi Gras. In a matter of moments their lives quickly spiral downward as Max, is kidnapped. All that is left is a tiny shoe and an empty stroller. The next six months become a nightmare as the family turns on each other, each trying in their own way to find Max and bring him back home. Jane turns to Child Search, an agency searching for missing children. Kyle begins his own search unknown to Jane. Even Melanie tries by making a major change in her life. None can predict the destruction as each tries to heal. But a chance sighting sets Jane on the right path to finding Max. But will they get there in time.
    Six months later, no trace of Max has surfaced though the police still follow any lead. The family fails to receive strength from each other; instead they drift apart. Melanie blames herself and deliberately gets pregnant so that she can give the newborn to her step-mom and her dad Kyle.
    Blaming Jane for leaving their baby for a moment, Kyle moves out of their bedroom. Jane feels guilty for the loss of her child, but to what is happening to her family; however, she cannot pull herself together to prevent the collapse. MISSING MAX is a brilliant depiction of perhaps the toughest issue a mother could ever face.
    This audio book was received for review by Oasis Audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    UNRELENTING EMOTIONAL JOURNEY

    MISSING MAX is an unrelenting emotional journey that grips you by the throat on the first page and does not let you breath easy again until the end. This book wasn't just hard to put down, it was impossible.

    The chaos of Mardi Gras, a moment of inattention and baby Max disappears into thin air. A family tragedy. No one is at fault, but everyone is to blame. MISSING MAX is an insightful exploration of the dynamics of a family as they confront the reality of moving forward after Max's kidnapping.

    Six months later Jane's job is in jeopardy, her marriage has fallen apart and her step-daughter has become withdrawn and rebellious. Jane devotes her energy to the search for her baby; Kyle buries himself with work; sixteen year old Melanie announces she is pregnant.

    Just as Jane believes her life can't get any worse, someone starts taunting her with clues meant to make her believe Max is alive. And then the unthinkable happens, and it seems impossible that this story will reach a satisfying ending .

    Karen Young has never shied away from confronting the complex issues of modern life. MISSING MAX is a brilliant depiction of perhaps the toughest issue a mother could ever face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Max pulls the heart strings

    MISSING MAX
    By Karen Young
    PAL Review by Jan Crow
    Jane and Kyle Madison are riding high. They have a six-month old son Max, a sixteen year old daughter Melanie. Both Jane and Kyle have successful law careers. Things couldn't be better on that beautiful sunny day when Jane, Melanie, Max went to Mardi Gras. In a matter of moments their lives quickly spiral downward as Max, is kidnapped. All that is left is a tiny shoe and an empty stroller. The next six months become a nightmare as the family turns on each other, each trying in their own way to find Max and bring him back to the fold. Jane turns to Child Search, an agency searching for missing children such as Max. Kyle begins his own search unbeknownst to Jane. Even Melanie tries by making a major change in her life. None can predict the destruction as each tries to heal. But a chance sighting sets Jane on the right path to finding Max..but will they get there in time.
    Karen Young has always promised a good story and this book does not veer from that vow. I was immediately pulled in, heart and mind as I quickly turned the pages. Emotions ran higher and higher with each trail that was a wrong turn. The war waged between mother and daughter had me hurting inside. And each step towards the healing of the family had me cheering.
    This is Karen Young's finest yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    thrilling inspirational chiller

    Post Katrina Mardi Gras is a beautiful spectacle. Jane Madison, her young son Max, her teenage stepdaughter Melanie and her friend Christine attend the event. Jane goes off to get refreshments while Christine watches Max. Melanie calls her stepmother to say Max is missing as Christine went to help somebody. Melanie flirted with some boys while, Max and his stroller vanished.

    Six months later, no trace of Max has surfaced though the police still follow any lead. The family fails to receive strength from each other; instead they drift apart. Melanie blames herself and deliberately gets pregnant so that she can give the newborn to her stepmom and her dad Kyle. Blaming Jane for leaving their baby for a moment, Kylie moves out of their bedroom. Jane feels guilt not just for the loss of her child, but to what is happening to her family; however, she cannot pull herself together to prevent the collapse. Finally the kidnapper calls to inform them Max is alive. It is also apparent that the perp hates Jane, not Kyle who thought his legal work might be the motive.. Obsessed Jane considers who might detest her enough to abduct Max.

    Karen Young writes a thrilling inspirational chiller that grips the audience from the opening abduction and never loosens its hold on readers need to know who and why. Missing Max focuses on how the kidnapped toddler's family cope with their loss; as each reacts differently to the big hole in their heart yet share in common a deep rooted need for separation and blame. Although a seemingly implausible finale, fans will root for determined Jane to rescue her kids from the monster.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1