BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Missing May

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can feel warmth in one sitting

This short novel, Missing May, has its positive sides and negative sides. The book starts with the death of Summer¿s foster mother, May. As the story goes on, we can see and feel the hardships of Summer and Ob¿his foster father. Missing May was beyond my expectations, w...
This short novel, Missing May, has its positive sides and negative sides. The book starts with the death of Summer¿s foster mother, May. As the story goes on, we can see and feel the hardships of Summer and Ob¿his foster father. Missing May was beyond my expectations, with its simple yet delicate touch. This book is worth a try, especially to people who have never experienced such an abrupt opening in a book. The resolution and the warmth it brings will not leave my memories for a long time.

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

missing may

This book was very interesting to read.It is about a girl who was taken away from her mom.Then moves with her aunt and uncle.The next day her aunt dies. Now she is stuck with her uncle. This book takes place in West Virgina. They went other places like West Virgina's s...
This book was very interesting to read.It is about a girl who was taken away from her mom.Then moves with her aunt and uncle.The next day her aunt dies. Now she is stuck with her uncle. This book takes place in West Virgina. They went other places like West Virgina's state capital. In the hot spectacular weather.
I liked this book because the author put a lot of details into it. She gave it a lot of enthusiasm. It also was like a text to self for me. The way she described it also helps me picture the book in my mind.

posted by 2912226 on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    missing may

    This book was very interesting to read.It is about a girl who was taken away from her mom.Then moves with her aunt and uncle.The next day her aunt dies. Now she is stuck with her uncle. This book takes place in West Virgina. They went other places like West Virgina's state capital. In the hot spectacular weather.
    I liked this book because the author put a lot of details into it. She gave it a lot of enthusiasm. It also was like a text to self for me. The way she described it also helps me picture the book in my mind.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Can feel warmth in one sitting

    This short novel, Missing May, has its positive sides and negative sides. The book starts with the death of Summer¿s foster mother, May. As the story goes on, we can see and feel the hardships of Summer and Ob¿his foster father. Missing May was beyond my expectations, with its simple yet delicate touch. This book is worth a try, especially to people who have never experienced such an abrupt opening in a book. The resolution and the warmth it brings will not leave my memories for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Cursing is NOT exceptable...

    Whoever wrote this book shouldbe ashamed!!!!!!!!!! I am a Christian, and books for KIDS( well in fact all ages) that have cursing in them should not be outbthere for children to read. I didnt read te book but I read the reviews, and that was enough. Books about communicating with the dead-- well, i you give them to the right kids who know that that definitely isnt real-- maybe. Probably NOT. Did I mention that I am ten? I had tobgive it a star because it wouldnt let me post without giving thebook a stae.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    As I would see the title of this book on lists of award winners,

    As I would see the title of this book on lists of award winners, I always guessed that it was probably about a little girl named May who went missing. Boy, was I wrong! When twelve-year-old Summer was six, her mother died, and after being passed from house to house by her mother’s brothers and sisters in Ohio, she came to live with her Aunt May and Uncle Ob in a rusty old trailer at Deep Water in Fayette County, WV. Now Aunt May has died while out working in her garden, and both Summer and Uncle Ob miss her terribly. Then one day Ob claims that May has sent him a sign from the spirit world, but when he fails to hear any more, he seems to be losing the will to go on living, and Summer just doesn’t know what to do about it because she’s feeling sad and forlorn herself.

    However, their neighbor and Summer’s odd seventh-grade classmate Cletus Underwood, who has collected a suitcase full of newspaper clippings, has a suggestion on how Uncle Ob, whom he has befriended, can find some comfort. What is it? Will it work? And what will happen to Ob? This book, which won the Newbery Medal in 1993, probably because someone thought that it was a good book to explain death and how kids deal with it, is a strange story. Certainly, mourning over the loss of a loved one is something that we’ve all felt. Of course, Christians learn to handle such situations by turning to the “…God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulations…” (2 Corinthians 1:3-4). While there are a few Biblical references scattered here and there, it is plain that Aunt May and Uncle Ob are not very religious. So where do Cletus, Summer, and Ob turn to find help? They set off in search of the Reverend Miriam B. Young, Small Medium at Large and “pastor” of The Spiritualist Church of Glen Meadows, who claims to communicate with the dead. For Bible believers, the theology behind this book is just plain poor.

    I realize that various people grieve differently and seek comfort in their own way, and in the end things seem to turn out all right in the book, but many parents will likely be concerned about the themes of “spiritualism,” seeking answers with mediums, and communicating with the dead. As others have noted, if people do not wish their children to be exposed to these issues in a positive light or would prefer to discuss them with their children in view of their own values, they would not have a clue about the content from the book summary. As to language, in addition to several common euphemisms (blamed, holy crap, heck, bejeezus, and even “swear to God” as an interjection), both Ob and Summer use the “h” word, Ob uses the “d” word, and after using “a few choice swear words” he once said that cussing was like taking a strong drink of whiskey because both thawed him out and got his engine running again. In And the Winner Is…A Guide to Newbery Medal Winners from a Christian Perspective, Barb Brandeis and Deb Ekstrand, wrote, “Uses bad language. If this is the best literature of the year, 1992 was a BAD year.” I don’t really recommend Missing May.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another book about grief

    After the death of her aunt May, Summer must deal with her own grief as well as the ensuing depression of her bereaved uncle. Short, cute book about dealing with death. Nothing amazing. I think Newbery judges just really like books about grief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Great book!

    The book Missing May is about a young girl named Summer. She was only six years when she was adopted by a couple with names of May and Ob. They adopted her because both of her parents died. When she moved in, May and Ob loved her very much. They fed her and took very good care of her. Six years later May died and Summer and Ob were devastated. Ob felt as if he could just quit breathing and die. Then a boy that Summer knows came along. He collected many things. He collected old pictures the most. Ob and Summer found him looking through their old car for pictures. Ob invited him in and they became really good friends later on. He made Ob feel as if he had a purpose of living still. They hang out almost every day. Ob believes that May is on her way back. He says she has been sending signs to him from the spirit world. Ob, Summer, and Cletus Underwood. Go on a trip. They go to search for a bat lady that supposedly can connect with spirits. Ob says after they talk to the bat lady they all can go have fun and go visit historic places. They go to see the bat lady and they knock on the door. A boy answers and said the lady passed away not too long ago. Ob suddenly becomes filled with sorrow. They still go and have fun though. This book interested me very much. I suggest that all children my age should read it. I usually don’t read a lot of books but this one is really good. The characters turn from happy to sad throughout the book. I could picture the book in my mind. The author put really good details in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Meaningful short read for students

    This is a sweet story that I use with my students in reading groups. There are elements of humor and mysteriousness that children latch onto and keep them entertained while reading this book. There are many things to discuss and think about while reading this text concerning loss of a loved one and coping with tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Can feel warmth

    This short novel, Missing May, has its positive sides and negative sides. The book starts with the death of Summer's foster mother, May. As the story goes on, we can see and feel the hardships of Summer and Ob_his foster father. Missing May was beyond my expectations, with its simple yet delicate touch. This book is worth a try, especially to people who have never experienced such an abrupt opening in a book. The resolution and the warmth it brings will not leave my memories for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Letting go..

    This is such a wonderful story about learning to cope with the loss of a loved one. This is something that everyone will experience in his or her lifetime. The hardest thing I can imagine is losing ones mother, and that is exactly what the main character Summer loses. May was the wife of Ob and mother to Summer. When she passed away Ob and May were highly affected by her death. It was as if their worlds had stopped. May was always on their minds and they did nothing but miss her. Ob would say that he could still feel her and needed to contact her one last time in order to get closure. With the help of Summer's classmate Cletus, they went on search of contacting May to finally say goodbye and to be able to move on with their lives and be able to stop missing May.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    its not the best

    I did not like the book very much. I thought it was very slow moving and that it was hard to understand what was going on. I did think the book was very touching.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Missing May

    This book would be good for 4th graders and 5th graders! IT deals with death and students could really relate to that subject!IT falls under the realistic Genre! I love this book because it is sweet. ' What is the true mission of Spirit messages? To bring Consolation in the sorrows of life!Rylant, Cynthia. Missing May. New York, NY: Orchard Book, 1992.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    Read this book Missing May

    In this book the girls name is summer. summer is going to be sad because something is going to happen to May .Enjoy this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Honestly, How'd it Win an Award?

    This book was touching and descriptive. It had me near tears at some points, but it was a little boring and rushed. And the whole idea was a little boring. It was an okay book, but in my opinion, not an award winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Newberry Medal: Missing May

    This Newberry Medal book is written by Cynthia Rylant. Rylant is known for her picture book texts. Her words make the book become alive, and they allow the reader to get to know Summer, the main character. This is a book of dark quality, and I'm not sure I would recommend this book. Summer gets passed around for six years. Finally, May and Ob became Summer's foster parents. May dies and Ob becomes full of grief. 'I never saw two people love each other so much.' In order to make Ob feel better, Summer tries to come up with an idea to help him. Summer, her classmate, and Ob set out in search for May's spirit, and they learn how good their friendship is. Rylant, Cynthia. Missing May. New York: Orchard, 1992. Reading level: 5th-8th Grade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Missing May

    Missing May is a book based on lady named May that dies, leaving behind a husband and a foster daughter. They are shockingly sad and miss her terribly. Summer is worried about Ob that he is grieving himself to death. She feels that she is not enough to keep him thriving so she has to do something or she will lose him too. With the help from her school friend Cletus Underwood they try to help Ob connect with May¿s spirit. This setting and moral of this book deemed dragged out, not every really getting to a point. I think this would be ok for fifth grade and up, some would have a hard time staying interested being that the concept overall was depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Missing May

    This wonderful book revolves around a few delightfully named characters: Summer, Uncle Ob, Aunt May and Cletus Underwood. After being passed among relatives, Summer joins her aunt and uncle and marvels at the couple's deep love for one another. But after Aunt May dies, Summer and Uncle Ob are brought together in their struggles to come to terms with the death. Cletus, a neighbor and mysticism. boy, comes along to help provide an answer. This simple and sweet story, which won the Newbery Medal in 1993, is injected with just the right touches of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    Missing May

    This simple and sweet story revolves around a few delightfully named characters: Summer, Uncle Ob, Aunt May and Cletus Underwood. Cletus, a neighbor boy, comes along to help solve the situation. Summer and Uncle Ob are brought together to bring to terms about the death. This book has won a medal in 1993. I would recommend this book for grades 5 through 7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    We all have someone we're missing...

    I thought this was a good book. The author¿s description made the story come alive. I really felt bad for Summer and Ob. They loved May and wanted to believe she was coming back. Anyone who has lost a loved one knows how hard this can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    A bit weak but not entirely disappointing

    Missing May is a story of how a young girl copes with the death of her beloved aunt. I expected more from this newbery book. The story was descriptive but weak. The writing, to me, was not that good. I was searching for the ending after I finished reading the book. I could not find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    confusing

    this book is weird. it is terribly boring.it made no sense.it was really confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2