Customer Reviews for

Missing Persons

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Julianna

    Julianna walks back to the ship. "Where to next Capitan? Nothin' good here. But I got a nice dagger from one of the death traps." She says, smiling rougishly. "Fun."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Captain

    Hmm... Silver you don't like rum? I can only have one gallon or the bak of my throat starts to burn and I get a nasty hangover... Well, Julianna. Excellent question. Next to captain res twenty, you know the procedure, if thar isn't a twenty go to the last res. Oh and uh, Silver! Make sure we get lots of that rum. Normally I spend at least two days at a place but you guys are verrrry impatient. Its a stop by the way...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Heart-pounding Tale!

    First-rate thriller. I dare you to try and put this books down.

    Lotsabks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Not The Usual Stephen White Page Turner

    I am what is probably one of Stephen White's biggest fans. A fellow MS patient, I feel a certain kinship to the many issues sequallae to his [Lauren's] disorder. I have spent many an hour curled up with the adventures of Dr. Alan Gregory; however, this book, Missing Persons, was a bit slow. I found myself actually nodding off while reading it. A bit to much detail at times. Normally his books are fast page turners but this was a bit like reading Michener or Tolstoy. No worries, this is one of Dr. White's books that took me a while to find to complete my Stephen White collection which makes me proud to say I have now read every book he has written, including some transcripts. This fan will be among the first in line when The Siege hits the book store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    To much about nothing

    The book would have been so much better if the author didn't bore us every other page about confidential matters. What he can and cannot say and to whom he can say and not say it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    Missing Believability

    I am usually a great fan of Stephen White, both for his story-telling ability and his character development. Not in this far-fetched and over the top psychological 'study'. White tried to do too much with this one. For example, Raoul's meeting with Canada was contrived and unnecessary. Please, Dr. White, go back to your usual taut and believable stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    10 Stars

    Another outstanding, gripping story. I feel closer as well since Boulder is my home town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    Very Solid Psychological Thriller

    Stephen White has always been a favorite author of mine. Being a student of Psychology, I really enjoy his novels. I will admit I was a bit dissapointed with this novel. The story was great, the characters remained interesting, and the quality was very good. My only complaints are that, compared to his previous novels, the pace was very slow and the ending was very lackluster. However, if you want to read a very solid novel this is perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    A HIGHLY LISTENABLE VOICE PERFORMANCE

    He's back again, that golden voiced enthraller, Dick Hill. Yes, he's been named one of the industry's golden voices by AudioFile magazine. That's quite an honor, but also impressive is the number who look for his name on an audio book (Count me among those). His tapings are consistently fine, as is his voice performance of Missing Persons. Give a listen, and discover for yourself what all the raves are about. Of course, accolades are no stranger to Stephen White either. This, his 13th Alan Gregory thriller, will probably climb the charts just as the others have done. It's not as if psychologist Gregory doesn't already have enough on his mind - his wife is in ill health and his patient load is staggering. Nonetheless, a death demands his immediate attention. A colleague and friend, Hannah Grant, is found dead at the office they shared. Police in Boulder, Colorado, are stymied by this sudden inexplicable death. Will Hannah be just one more statistic? Not if Gregory can do anything about it. His attempts to unravel the paltry clues he has to go on take him far afield - to Las Vegas. The secret he's seeking may lie with one of Hannah's patients, a young girl, who has disappeared. Was she snatched or did she simply run away? One more compelling thriller from Stephen White, and one more highly listenable voice performance from Dick Hill. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A great thriller

    Psychologist Alan Gregory does not want to get involved in the missing persons case of Mallory Miller, who lives in the same neighborhood as JoBenet Ramsey. The two used to play together as children and now Mallory vanished on the eighth anniversary of JoBenet¿s death. Circumstances draw a reluctant Alan into the case because his colleague Diane Estevez consulted with her now deceased friend Hannah Grant about a girl who fit Mallory¿s description coming into the office for a session. The patient was worried about her mother, a schizophrenic living in Vegas apart from her husband and children..................... Alan¿s schizoid patient Bob implies that he knows something about Mallory¿s disappearance, but patient privilege prevents Alan from saying anything to anyone. Bob disappears and when Diane goes to Vegas to meet with Mallory¿s mother, she also vanishes. Alan might have to risk losing his license to practice psychology, but he knows he must reveal what Bob and Diane told him to the police to rescue the missing people.................... MISSING PERSONS graphically describes how medical privilege can be a two edge sword when it protects the rights of a patient bit impedes a police investigation. Alan is realistically portrayed as a doctor filled with doubts on what is the morally right thing to do. His dilemma on top of a fast-paced, action filled story line grips the audience. Though Stephen White enables his protagonist to wiggle somewhat free of his quandary, he remains concerned that he played loose with acceptable medical ethics. Mr. White delivers a pulse pounder that cleverly combines a tense medical thriller with a police procedural amateur sleuth tale........................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1