Customer Reviews for

Missing Piece

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Don't Go Looking for the Negative

    This book is an absolutely amazing book. It is always easier to find the beauty in something and yet critics continue to dig for the ugly! Perhaps if those who give this book a poor rating were happy in their own lives they could see the beauty in this book. Look beyoind relationships - just look at yourself - this fits on SO many levels and I applaud the author. Bravo Bravo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    Harsh reviews are missing the point.

    It's not about the need to separate from the other to be happy. It's about becoming a complete person BEFORE you go looking for the other. If you don't find the missing piece in yourself, you're dependent on exploiting another person. Silverstein's character was fortunate enough to encounter a whole person who inspired this transformation. You CAN complete yourself through a growth experience (which is what a relationship is supposed to be), but you still have to do the work (like a triangle that rounds off the rough edges of itself).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    Almost one year later

    I read this to my ten year old grandson who was having a very difficult time with the recent death of his Grandfather. As we sat on the floor together I explained that just like the circle, my grandson would have a missing piece in his life too. And that after a while he would still feel that piece missing, but it wouldn't hurt quite so much. The book was the key to unlocking the tears he had tried so hard to hold back those three days. It started a process of healing and understanding with the knowledge that death is a part of life. Almost a year later he finds it easier to talk about his beloved Grandpa.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Many hours of happy reading...

    Highly recommend this book! Both of my children enjoyed this book growing up and now they both want to own their own copies...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    fun for all --

    unique and brilliant writing - check out all his work - great for all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Wonderful Shel

    My granddaughter was an avid book lover and reader at a very young age. Always on the lookout for the best of the best during those early years, I became very familiar with Shel Silverstein's writings. She loved his works and I loved them too. Most wonderful of all, before she was reading on her own, it never became boring or monotonous reading his books TO her. As I finish this review, from an academic perspective I'd have to say these are excellent choices for thought and language development, especially his books of poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love It!

    This book is wonderful...for children and adults! I read it to my kindergartners, and they LOVE it, I also gave it to a very special adult for Christmas, and it even made him cry! Lovely story for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    The Missing Piece...

    Has every piece necessary to be an all time favorite. My friend and I read it in class one day (even making our own little toon for the song) and instantly fell in love with it. Everytime I see this book I always crack a grin, even though a chunk of the plot isn't much to be smiling about. This book is something I hope to read to my children one day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    This Book Is A Paean To Divorce/Splits.

    Written by the author and divorcee, Shel Silverstein, this book trys to instill, via allegory, the idea that a permanent split or divorce is unquestionably good. Although this story can be read as a lamentable opinion of the author on the union of couples, it can be also read as a story of an abusive relationship wherein one of the partners in the union is controlling to the point that the other partner cannot stop to talk to friends, smell the flowers or act in any independent manner. Whatever the author meant to convey when he wrote this book, 'The Missing Piece,' it is at best a gloomy read, if not an outright pessimistic one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    Shel's poem on finding...and losing your soulmate (Missing Piece indeed!)

    Don't let the book title fool you. This book/poem is about FINDING the missing piece which you can pretty much figure out means finding one's soulmate (i.e. 'you complete me'). Clever no? Give me a break!! After a long a painful process of searching (going thru life, meeting the wrong pieces), the er..., subject of our story (which it turns out looks a bit like Pac-Man or 5/8 of a pizza) finds a perfect fit. WOW! Now being complete it can move faster up and down the hills but, darn the luck, it just can't seem to slow down and enjoy life like it used to. It also can't even have a voice of it's own as the two pieces have their own mouths (like a couple in a relationship anyone?). So what to do? Gently separate from each other and continue to roll on through life. The book ends with Pac-Man singing for his missing piece. La, la, la. WHAT?!? This is a great book to give your partner or someone you know if they are on the verge of splitting up. It is also a wonderful tale for people in the process of a divorce. Don't let your emotion cloud your comprehension of this story. Silverstein is very direct here...and I just don't agree with his story and views ('cause that's what he's giving here) and I don't believe in soulmates...I believe in love. Two stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    a perfect going away gift

    A perfect tale for someone in your life about to take the next step in life. The book shows us how life should be a journey not so much a quest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2001

    The best book not just for the little ones but, the big ones too.

    During my first date with my boyfriend he read me this book it was so true and romantic all at the same time.He even bought me the book for my birthday. This will be a book that my future children will read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    great book for everyone

    Some of the best peoms are in this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    Outstanding!

    I love this book. Shel Silverstein has been one of my favorite poem writers. I have even used one of his poems for an oral report in Speech class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1