Customer Reviews for

Missing You

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I know when I pick up a book written by Harlan Coben I will not

I know when I pick up a book written by Harlan Coben I will not be putting it down anytime soon. Missing You kept me up late into the night and the pages were flying. The John Waite song is still playing in my head. You see it was Kat and Jeff’s special song and a very...
I know when I pick up a book written by Harlan Coben I will not be putting it down anytime soon. Missing You kept me up late into the night and the pages were flying. The John Waite song is still playing in my head. You see it was Kat and Jeff’s special song and a very important clue.

Kat’s friend set her up with an online dating profile and it sets off a multitude of unexpected and unimaginable events. You will rethink you whole online life after reading this book.

The best thing about a Coben thriller in that his characters are so real and believable and the reader becomes invested in them very quickly. I love that our main character is female. Within minutes we knew Kat was a strong woman but we also saw her vulnerable side. The fact the Kat is NYPD Detective with an analytical mind used to tracking down facts grips the reader as we follow the clues right along with her. The fact that is her life that is danger had my heart racing during this whole adventure.

The supporting cast is just as fully developed as the main character. From Kat’s friend Stacy, to the homeless man, Aqua, and even the psychopath and his henchman, these characters jump right off the pages.

There are many layers in this story and the clues are expertly interwoven throughout. Coben is one of those writers that sets his chapter breaks like a master, each a mini cliffhanger so you can’t stop reading even if you want to, leading to a very fast pace.

I believe I have read all of Harlan Coben’s books. I started with his Myron Bolitar series, books I picked up because I thought my husband would like them. Since then I anxiously await each new story. And each time I reach the end the first word out my mouth is WOW!!! He is a fantastic writer and anyone would loves mystery/suspense/ thriller books with love his stories. Just be prepared, fix yourself a snack and a big glass of your favorite beverage, turn off the television and your phone, don’t plan anything because once you start reading you are not going to stop.

posted by Dollycas on March 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This book did not live up to my expectations. Tell No One remain

This book did not live up to my expectations. Tell No One remains one of my all time favorite thrillers so I always anticipate a new book from Coben. This one was....meh. I need a new Myron Bolitar and since there were hints of Win in this one, maybe that's next?

posted by Yodachacha on March 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Very good story!

    Harlan Coben has not disappointed! Good story with plenty of action. Will pass the book on to others who like a good mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    Good read

    Suspense filled and the easy-to-read style is classic Harlan Coben. I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Better than the last few. Worth reading

    Better than the last few. Worth reading

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    This was a great book!  I loved the character Kat. 

    This was a great book!  I loved the character Kat. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Of course, he's one of the best! What I like about his books is

    Of course, he's one of the best! What I like about his books is you know anything he writes could happen, nothing is outside reality.
    This book started out slow, but picked up speed. By the second night, I was hooked and stayed up all night to finish it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A riveting crime thriller

    MISSING YOU by Harlan Coben is a riveting crime thriller involving an online dating website, and a world of conspiracy and murder. You will need a score card to keep up with all the players, in order to solve this mystery!

    Eighteen years ago, NYPD detective Kat Donovan was dumped by her fiance’, Jeff Raynes. She has never married, and her friend Stacy gives her a one year subscription to an online dating site. She is shocked when she sees Jeff’s profile- He seems to be widowed with a daughter.

    The intrigue is killing her and she makes contact with Jeff. His initial reaction is quite puzzling, as at first he does not remember her, then he greets her warmly, to saying they better not continue the banter.

    Entering the scene, Brandon Phelps, a 19-yr old college student from Connecticut comes to New York to ask for Kat’s help in finding his missing mother, Dana. Why did he seek her out? What is he hiding? Brandon’s widowed mother, Dana, has also met someone from the same dating website, and is now missing. Who is Titus Monroe, the man pulling the strings on the dating site?

    What is the real story behind the murder of Kat’s cop father, Henry Donovan, years before? A murder which has never been solved in the line of duty. She has cherished memories of her father, yet her father’s ex-partner, Captain Thomas Stagger, seems to withholding information, and her defensive mother Hazel, is determined to protect Donovan's reputation? Are any of these crimes connected?

    When Kat goes to visit Monte, the dying contract killer who was convicted years ago of shooting her father, another NYPD detective, and the prison nurse puts Monte into twilight sedation—he denies killing Henry Donovan. Kate thinks he was set up to take the rap for her father’s murder.

    Kat cannot figure out the mystery and whom she can trust. Things are going nuts with all sorts of questions, enough to make your head do a 360. Where is Jeff, what about Brandon, what is the deal with Charles? In addition, there are so many other players--- her judo instructor, Aqua, a schizophrenic, a homeless transvestite, a set up--- with twists and turns for an intense thriller.

    As the body count mounts and Kat’s hope for a second chance with Jeff grows more and more elusive, she is consumed by the investigation that challengers her feelings about everyone she’s ever loved (ex-fiance’, her father, and mother). With her life on the line, Kat must venture deeper into the darkness to discover if she has the strength to survive what she uncovers.

    A fast-paced, and suspenseful novel. My first book by Harlan Coben and look forward to reading Six Years.

    The negative, keeping me from rating higher, would be the narrator for the audiobook, January LaVoy (not a fan, as performance was boring). If it would have been Peter Berkrot, from Desperate-then, you would have a winner!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Twisty

    Just finished...another grat read by Mr. Coban. It has an ending you will never see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    I highly recommend, especially if you like mysteries.

    Very good story line with a nice back story included. A very good, enjoyable mystery. Some spots a a little wordy; maybe. I looked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Wasn't disappointed. Coben was up to his usual high standard of writing. This is another of his books that is impossible to put down. Can't wait for his next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    I love Harlan's books.  He writes very interesting stories with

    I love Harlan's books.  He writes very interesting stories with a touch of humor.  Love love love them all!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    It's a good one!

    I don't read a lot of Harlan Coben but might just become a fan. This was a good story ~~ nice mix of love, suspense, action and surprises. I really enjoyed it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    A good read

    Coben has done it again! This story keeps you riveted to the pages wondering at first what is going on and then appalled when you realize what is happening. Holds your attention until the end and leaves you thinking abut it after. Good detective work !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    This one kept me guessing! Another good book from one of my new

    This one kept me guessing! Another good book from one of my newly found favorite authors.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Great for Harlan Coben Fans!

    Great, quick read. Coben fans will not be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    I must be one sentimental bastard. While I¿d like to say, ¿I ain

    I must be one sentimental bastard. While I’d like to say, “I ain’t missing you at all.” I’d be hard-pressed to do it with a straight face. Eighteen years? No problem. But, on the other hand, life’s too short to let that much time pass. Seize the moment. That’s what I always say. Or maybe it was Sigmund or Freud or Siskel or Ebert.

    MISSING YOU did have its sentimental moments. But it also contained a rather prominent criminal element, since this novel falls smack dab in the suspense/thriller category. With detectives and captains and bad dudes galore, and at least one bloodbath soaked its way through the printed pages, you’d be hard-pressed to find a better roller-coaster ride. I even managed to get a little soppy on at least one occasion, but shhhh (holds a finger up to my lips), you can’t tell anyone. And when blood made its metallic appearance, I had one of my woo-hoo moments. Probably one of just many reasons why I’d say I’m not necessarily a normal member of society.

    That’s also why I probably need to find a slightly more populated state for my twilight years. I’d have to say I’m a bit creeped out to live in isolation, so I’m scratching Wyoming and the Dakotas and Montana off my wish list for the sake of my own sanity. The quiet and the possibility of being a mile or so from my nearest neighbor just doesn’t necessarily give me the same warm feeling that an axe to the jugular does. No, wait, a hug around the neck would probably be more appropriate here.

    The plot kept me on the edge of my seat, as the pages flipped with effortless ease, and I ground my teeth to relieve just a bit of the tension. Kat and Dana and Brandon proved a dynamic trio that I could get behind, or in front of, as we headed off into battle, even if I ended up in a rather precarious position. The ending came a bit too soon (although not at the wrong time), but I wanted to continue to dangle on the edge of the plateau staring down at the river below.

    Was I satisfied? Yes, Stagger, I believe I’d say I was.

    I received this book for free through NetGalley.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    Loved it!

    Loved it! Definitely a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    A good read

    This story starts off slow but as in all his stories it has a good ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    I enjoy Harlan Coben's books. This one has twists and turns tha

    I enjoy Harlan Coben's books. This one has twists and turns that Mr Coben is so good at in his writing. I thought the end relationship was a bit rushde, but no other comments. Anyway, it was a good weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Pretty good

    I love Coban's books. This one was up and down in keeping my interest. Just when i was thinking about giving up on it it got interesting again. The big reveal is at the end. Not so big, really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    His books are always recommended by me.

    Starts out slowly but perks up quickly. Loving it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2