Customer Reviews for

The Mission

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    amazing.

    this book just had me keep turning pages i couldn't put it down nor stop reading it. this book was amazing and was a new adventure every page you turned the only down side about it is the ending, i wish he would of wrote an extra chapter or something about when he got home.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    One hell of a book

    This book was freaking nuts, man. It was a blast to read and it was crazy as f***. This is the first book of Myers that I've read, and I'm about to read Exit Here with really high expectations. By the looks of the previous reviews, I will not be let down. I was surprised to see not too many reviews on here since i have the paperback of this book. I came to see other peoples reactions and there were so few. Anyways, it was a great ass book and I enjoyed the hell out of reading it.
    Go in readers looking at this awesome review.
    Go destroy it, man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    I thought it was neat...

    Thought it was cool that jason myers used some of the characters from exit here. Lamborgini dreams; FTW.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Pretty good.

    Pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    it was...ok

    i couldnt help but to compare the mission to exit here and i didnt recieve the same rush as i did with exit here! it did take me a little bit longer to read this one because it was a little slow for me but i mean i liked it but i didnt love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alright stil must read I love Jason Meyers.

    There are things I love and dislike about this book. I just love Exit Here more. But without comparison the book is good. I loved the difference in main character from Jason Meyers' first book. It's a very good coming of age story. It has a small time frame so you get to really get inside what is going on every day in Kaden's mind. I liked the focus on a few charcters and not all over the place. Jason Meyers' description of the city of San Fransisco is dead on great detail, and as always he has great music referances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pales in comparison to Myers' other brilliant novel "Exit Here"

    As soon as I finished "Exit Here" and heard Myers had another, I was at the bookstore the very next day to pick it up. But I was disheartened to find that it falls short (very short) in comparison. Even if I hadn't had high hopes, it falls short as an amazing book altogether.

    The main character is Kaden, a teenager following out his dead brother's last request to go see his favorite do a public reading. To do so, he's going down to "The Mission" and staying with his cousin, who introduces him to a life of sex, drugs, and eventually, trouble.

    I won't get too much into the nitty gritty, but this book takes forever to get moving and when it does, it's a sudden, short burst of "shock" and then the novel comes to a screeching halt, as if Myers just lost interest and didn't want to wrap up the loose ends that were left hanging.
    Kaden's character is impossible to feel bad for. From the beginning, he's painted as a good kid and as the novel goes, it just becomes easier to hate him, and there's no way to feel pity for him. Everything bad that happens is his own fault, though the way his character is written, he seems to scream to be pitied by the reader.

    Myer's writing is the same as it was in "Exit Here" (his first novel), which is great except that it doesn't work quite as well. There would be a difference between how a 14 year old acts and talks versus a 19 year old, but in Myers writing, there doesn't seem to be. That was my only complaint with the writing, really. Otherwise, his style is just as nice to read as always.

    Overall, "The Mission" is a book that should be read after "Exit Here," if you're determined to read it at all. It's so dull compared to Myers' previous novel, and it's just not a very good book on its own. I was sorely disappointed. Hoping for better from you next time, Myers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    This was a pretty good book

    So, when I picked out this book I wasn't really sure what to expect from it, but it was a good read and the story was pretty interesting. I like the way that Myers describes his characters, especially his details with clothing, and I also really liked all the music and San Francisco culture in the book; it really immerses you in the crazy lifestyles of the characters and is a very believable read. It does have a lot of drug content and sexual content, but I don't mind that personally. Throughout the book, you can see the main character Kaden develop a lot, and it's interesting to see how he changes. Overall I'd recommend it as a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    i loved this book

    this book was amazing.i read it 4 months ago and i still think about it all the time. i loved it so much that i gave it to my two best friends to read as well as my teacher. at the time i was in 8th grade though, and my teacher was quite shocked that three 14 year olds would read a book with so much sexual content and drug use, but in my personal opinion i think that it should be for ages 13 and up. but the 13 year old needs to be mature

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Amazing

    Just finished reading this book and had to write a review saying how good it was. Hands down a great story. Felt this book had more of a story too it than exit here. Anyone who liked exit here should check this out because it is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2