Customer Reviews for

Mission Flats

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Intelligent and non-formulaic

Beautifully constructed thriller, with twists that make sense as opposed to being inserted for the sake of twists, and where expectations are well-confounded. There are few if any consciously virtuoso elements, no weirdness introduced to spice the story up, no over-the-...
Beautifully constructed thriller, with twists that make sense as opposed to being inserted for the sake of twists, and where expectations are well-confounded. There are few if any consciously virtuoso elements, no weirdness introduced to spice the story up, no over-the-top characters - the author lets the story stand on its own merits, allows the characters legitimate ambiguity, and the effect is immensely satisfying.

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

What is up? Struck out again. A cop mystery. Ben is a small town cop who gets dragged into a 20-year-old mystery involving several Boston cops and a drug lord. Lots of violence and bad language. I did figure out who one of the top baddies was, though. This is one of the...
What is up? Struck out again. A cop mystery. Ben is a small town cop who gets dragged into a 20-year-old mystery involving several Boston cops and a drug lord. Lots of violence and bad language. I did figure out who one of the top baddies was, though. This is one of the rare books I wish I had not read. Disturbing. (Side note: as some have complained, the narrator violated the contract with the reader that is, he lies about his involvement in the case. We don't know if he is a reliable narrator, an honest story-teller. ...But this was a minor complaint of mine. Even without this strike against the book, it has plenty of other reasons I didn't enjoy it.)

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    Intelligent and non-formulaic

    Beautifully constructed thriller, with twists that make sense as opposed to being inserted for the sake of twists, and where expectations are well-confounded. There are few if any consciously virtuoso elements, no weirdness introduced to spice the story up, no over-the-top characters - the author lets the story stand on its own merits, allows the characters legitimate ambiguity, and the effect is immensely satisfying.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful and well written police procedural

    In Versailles, Maine, retired Police Chief Claude and his son Ben, the current chief, struggle as roommates since the death two months ago of the family anchor, his wife and Ben¿s mom. To escape the lack of communication between them, Ben inspects the deserted summer cabins near the lake. However, his leisurely stroll down memory lane thinking of his mom ends when he finds the corpse of Sussex County Assistant District Attorney Robert Danzinger in the fourth cabin checked.<P> Soon a horde from Massachusetts descends on the little hamlet. The Bostonian law enforcement Brahmans concentrate on ruthless drug king Harold Braxton in the MISSION FLATS section of the big city while leaving out the country bumpkin who started the investigation. None of these big city geniuses seem interested in answering why the ADA was in Versailles during the off-season? Not comfortable with what he sees, Ben obstinately continues his inquiries receiving assistance from retired cop John Kelly, his attorney daughter Caroline and mentor cop Martin Gittens. However even their ties to the deceased is suspect as a history of revenge begins to surface.<P> MISSION FLATS is a powerful and well written police procedural that proves former DAs can actually write a complete exciting novel that leaves the audience wanting more. The story line is filled with twists and turns and a final spin that will shock readers as few tales ever truly do. Fans will appreciate the deep look at the double helix twists of big city justice and police compromise and concession that places William Landay in his debut at the top of former ADA turn author list.<P> Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    a great read

    I read Defending Jacob first. Love this author. Keep them coming Mr. Landay!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    So great!

    I picked up this story because I truly enjoyed Defending Jacob. I loved the authors style of writing so much I finished it and immediately started Mission Flats. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The characters are portrayed with the right amount of detail and drew me in. Again, the style of writing was great and I thought all along I had this 'figured' out..but I didn't know it all! Loved it! The type of book I don't want to end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Good read

    Well developed story and characters. Kept me riveted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great summer read

    Excellent read. Keeps you guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    MOST EXCELLENT !  this is a wonderful procedural crime mystery..

    MOST EXCELLENT !  this is a wonderful procedural crime mystery...   very clever, non-conventional, with realistic characters; evocative of New England, both rural and urban, in many ways;  worthy of the best Michael Connelly or John Sandford;  BRAVO...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I am a girl

    P.S I am hot

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Hustling

    Everything i do i be hustling hustlimg x4

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Wqe

    Rtyyakl



    ?.
    qqokhjhhhhjnhbjjj
    Ppppppppp.

    Thoojhhh

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Hambone lively

    Great book must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    A tome ties her down with vines.

    The beats her and force mates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Prof. Hazel

    Im hear to* turns into the phoenix then slams into the house and hold all the people except for talon andredator against the wall*

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Predator

    Rescue mission

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2